المركبة الفضائية Osiris-REx نثرت جزءًا من التربة من الكويكب بينو

لامست المركبة الفضائية Osiris-Rex الكويكب بينو لفترة وجيزة هذا الأسبوع. كانت هذه المحاولة الأولى لناسا

أكمل هذه المهمة.

صرح عالم البعثة دانتي لوريتا بذلكجمعت العملية مواد أكثر بكثير مما كان متوقعًا للعودة إلى الأرض. نحن نتحدث عن مئات الجرامات ، على الرغم من أنه كان مخططًا لتوصيل 60 جرامًا فقط. ومع ذلك ، فإن حاوية العينة الموجودة في نهاية ذراع الروبوت التابع لناسا توغلت في عمق الكويكب وبهذه القوة التي أدت إلى تشويش الصخور على حواف الغطاء.

قالت لوريتا في مؤتمر صحفي تم تنظيمه على عجل: "لقد أصبحنا على وشك أن نصبح ضحية لنجاحنا".

فوجئ العلماء - ثم انزعجوا - منيوم الخميس ، عندما رأوا الصور التي التقطها أوزوريس ريكس بعد أن لمس بينو بنجاح قبل يومين. يمكن رؤية سحابة من جزيئات الكويكب تدور حول المركبة الفضائية أثناء انسحابها من بينو. قالت لوريت إن الوضع استقر عندما تم تثبيت ذراع الروبوت في مكانه. لكن كان من المستحيل معرفة عدد الجسيمات المفقودة بالفعل.

قرر الخبراء أن جمع المواد كانينتج من عمق 48 سم. يعتزم الخبراء الآن تسريع عملية نقل التربة إلى كبسولة خاصة لتسليمها إلى الأرض. اعترف كبير علماء البعثة بأنه لا يوجد شيء آخر يمكن لمراقبي الحركة الجوية القيام به لإزالة العقبات ومنع المزيد من جسيمات بينو من الهروب.

قال توماس زوربوشن ، قائد بعثة ناسا العلمية ، "الوقت هو الجوهر".

هذه أول مهمة أخذ عينات تابعة لناساالكويكبات. تم اختيار Bennu لأنه يُعتقد أن مادته الغنية بالكربون تحتوي على لبنات البناء الباقية لنظامنا الشمسي. يمكن أن يساعد الحصول على أجزاء من هذه "الكبسولة الزمنية" في الفضاء العلماء على فهم أفضل لكيفية تشكل الكواكب منذ مليارات السنين وكيف بدأت الحياة على الأرض بشكل عام.

Osiris-REx ، التي تعمل منذ عامينفي مدار بينو ، جمعت ليلة الأربعاء عينات من التربة من الكويكب. لم يكن الهبوط مطلوبًا: بعد الهبوط ، لامس الجهاز السطح للاستيلاء على الصخر باستخدام ذراع مناور بطول 3.35 مترًا مع وحدة جمع العينات. كان من المفترض أن يطلق Osiris-REx تيارًا من النيتروجين الغازي تحت الضغط ويجمع الغبار الذي ارتفع من السطح بمضخة خاصة.

سيغادر Osiris-Rex المنطقة المجاورة للكويكب في مارس- هذه هي أقرب رحلة ممكنة ، بالنظر إلى المواقع النسبية للأرض وبينو. لن تعود العينات حتى عام 2023 ، بعد سبع سنوات من مغادرة المركبة الفضائية لموقع إطلاق كيب كانافيرال.

اقرأ أيضا

انتهت المهمة السنوية في القطب الشمالي والبيانات مخيبة للآمال. ما الذي ينتظر البشرية؟

شاهد سيارة هامر الجديدة تتغلب على العقبات على الطريق وتتحرك مثل السلطعون

في اليوم الثالث من المرض ، يفقد معظم مرضى COVID-19 حاسة الشم لديهم وغالبًا ما يعانون من سيلان الأنف

Osiris-REx spacecraft scattered part of the soil from asteroid Bennu

The Osiris-Rex spacecraft briefly touched the asteroid Bennu this week. This was NASA's first attempt

complete such a mission.

Mission Lead Scientist Dante Lauretta stated thatthe operation collected much more material than was expected to return to Earth. We are talking about hundreds of grams, although it was planned to deliver only 60 grams. However, the sample container at the end of the NASA robot arm penetrated so deep into the asteroid and with such force that rocks jammed the edges of the lid.

“We have almost become a victim of our own success,” Lauretta said at a hastily organized press conference.

Scientists were surprised - and then alarmed - atThursday, when they saw pictures taken by Osiris-Rex after successfully touching Bennu two days earlier. A cloud of asteroid particles could be seen circling the spacecraft as it receded from Bennu. The situation stabilized when the robot's arm was locked in place, Laurette said. But it was impossible to know exactly how many particles had already been lost.

The experts determined that the collection of material wasproduced from a depth of 48 centimeters. Now experts intend to speed up the process of moving the soil into a special capsule for delivery to Earth. The mission's lead scientist acknowledged that there was nothing else air traffic controllers could do to remove obstacles and prevent more Bennu particles from escaping.

“Time is of the essence,” said NASA Science Mission Leader Thomas Zurbuchen.

This is NASA's first sampling missionasteroids. Bennu was chosen because its carbon-rich material is believed to contain the surviving building blocks of our solar system. Getting bits of this space "time capsule" could help scientists better understand how planets formed billions of years ago and how life began on Earth in general.

Osiris-REx, which has been in operation for two yearsin orbit Bennu, on Wednesday night, collected soil samples from the asteroid. Landing was not required: after the descent, the device touched the surface to grab the rock using a 3.35 m long manipulator arm with a sample collection unit. Osiris-REx was supposed to release a stream of gaseous nitrogen under pressure and collect the dust that had risen from the surface with a special pump.

Osiris-Rex will leave the vicinity of the asteroid in March- This is the earliest possible flight, given the relative positions of Earth and Bennu. Samples will not return until 2023, seven years after the spacecraft left the Cape Canaveral launch site.

Read also

The annual mission in the Arctic has ended and the data are disappointing. What awaits humanity?

Watch the new Hummer overcome obstacles on the road, moving like a crab

On day 3 of illness, most COVID-19 patients lose their sense of smell and often suffer from a runny nose