تحقق من النعال القابلة للتحلل والمصنوعة من الطحالب

طور فريق البحث رغوة البولي يوريثان المصنوعة من زيت الطحالب لتتناسب

المواصفات التجارية للنعل الأوسط ونعل الشباشب.

أجريت الدراسة بالتعاون بينجامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو وشركة Algenesis Materials ، وهي شركة ناشئة في مجال علوم وتكنولوجيا المواد. قاد المشروع طالبة الدراسات العليا ناتاشا جوناوان من مختبرات الأستاذين مايكل بوركارت (قسم الفيزياء) وستيفن مايفيلد (قسم العلوم البيولوجية) وماريسا تيسمان من Algenesis. يقول بوركارت إن هذا هو الأحدث في سلسلة من المنشورات البحثية الحديثة التي تقدم بشكل جماعي حلاً كاملاً لمشكلة البلاستيك - على الأقل للبولي يوريثان (PU).

تظهر الوثيقة أن لدينا رغوةالجودة التجارية التي تتحلل في بيئتها الطبيعية. بعد مئات الصيغ ، توصلنا أخيرًا إلى تركيبة تلبي المواصفات التجارية. هذه الرغوات تعتمد على أساس حيوي بنسبة 52٪ - وفي النهاية سنصل إلى 100٪.

ستيفن مايفيلد ، قسم العلوم البيولوجية ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو

بالإضافة إلى تطوير الصيغة الصحيحة للرغوةالجودة التجارية ، عمل الباحثون مع Algenesis ليس فقط لإنشاء الحذاء ، ولكن أيضًا لتحللها. أثبت العلماء أن المنتجات التجارية مثل البوليستر والبلاستيك الحيوي (PLA) وبلاستيك الوقود الأحفوري (PET) يمكن أن تتحلل بيولوجيًا ، ولكن فقط في سياق الاختبارات المعملية أو التسميد الصناعي.

النعال التجارية القابلة للتحلل. الائتمان: ستيفن مايفيلد ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو

في الواقع ، أعاد العلماء تطوير البولي يوريثانمع علماء الأحياء من الصفر لتلبية الطلبات العالية على مواد الأحذية ، مع الحفاظ نظريًا على كيمياء مناسبة للتحلل البيولوجي. تبين أن الطحالب هي واحدة من المونومرات. على أساس هذه المواد ، ابتكر العلماء رغاويًا خاصة قابلة للتحلل كبديل للبولي يوريثين.

اختبار الرغوة بغمرها في السماد التقليديوالتربة ، وجد الفريق أن المواد تتحلل بعد 16 أسبوعًا فقط. خلال فترة التحلل ، لحساب أي سمية ، قام العلماء بقياس كل جزيء يتم إطلاقه من المواد القابلة للتحلل. كما حددوا الكائنات الحية التي أفسدت الرغوة.

مسند للقدمين مصنوع من النعال منزوعة القوالب الائتمان: ستيفن مايفيلد ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغوالتحلل الحيوي لمكعبات البولي يوريثان خلال 12 أسبوعًا. تم تحليل التدهور من خلال أ) تغير المظهر ، ب) كتلة المكعب ، وج) القوة القصوى عند انحراف قوة الضغط بنسبة 50٪ (CFD). تظهر أشرطة الخطأ الانحرافات المعيارية لعينة من ثلاثة قياسات. لفقدان كتلة السماد والتربة p <0.01 ، ولسماد CFD والتربة p <0.01 (الجدول 2 في المقالة المنشورة). الائتمان: ستيفن مايفيلد ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو

قابلة لإعادة التدوير بالكاملالمنتجات التجارية هي الخطوة التالية في مهمة العلماء المستمرة لحل المشاكل الحالية في إنتاج وإدارة النفايات البلاستيكية. إذا لم يتم حلها ، فسيؤدي ذلك بحلول عام 2050 إلى إطلاق 96 مليار طن من البلاستيك في مقالب القمامة أو في البيئة.

اقرأ أيضا

ربما اقترب العلماء من فهم كيف أصبح كوكبنا صالحًا للسكن

شاهد ما يمكن لخليفة هابل رؤيته في الفضاء. نظرة عامة على تلسكوب ويب

يكتشف الباحثون كيف تعلمت الطفيليات العيش بدون أكسجين

إشعار فيسبوك للاتحاد الأوروبي! تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول لعرض ونشر تعليقات الفيسبوك!

Check out biodegradable slippers made from algae

The research team has developed polyurethane foam made from algae oil to match

commercial specifications for the midsole and sole of the flip-flops.

The study was carried out in collaboration betweenUniversity of California, San Diego and Algenesis Materials, a fledgling materials science and technology company. The project was led by graduate student Natasha Gunawan of the laboratories of Professors Michael Burkart (Physics Division) and Stephen Mayfield (Biological Sciences Division) and Marissa Tessman from Algenesis. It is the latest in a series of recent research publications that collectively, Burkart says, offer a complete solution to the plastics problem - at least for polyurethanes (PU).

The document shows that we have foamcommercial quality that decomposes in its natural environment. After hundreds of formulations, we have finally reached a formulation that meets commercial specifications. These foams are 52% bio-based - in the end we will achieve 100%.

Stephen Mayfield, Department of Biological Sciences, University of California, San Diego

In addition to developing the correct foam formulationcommercial quality, the researchers worked with Algenesis not only to create the shoe, but also to decompose it. Scientists have clearly demonstrated that commercial products such as polyesters, bioplastics (PLA) and fossil fuel plastics (PET) can be biodegradable, but only in the context of laboratory testing or industrial composting.

Commercial grade biodegradable slippers. Credit: Stephen Mayfield, University of California, San Diego

In fact, scientists have re-developed polyurethaneswith biomonomers from scratch to meet the high demands on footwear materials, while theoretically maintaining a chemistry suitable for biodegradation. Algae turned out to be one of the monomers. It is on the basis of such materials that scientists have created special biodegradable foams as an alternative to polyurethane.

Testing the foams by dipping them into traditional compostand soil, the team found that the materials had decomposed in just 16 weeks. During the decomposition period, to account for any toxicity, the scientists measured every molecule released from the biodegradable materials. They also identified organisms that degraded the foam.

Footrest made of slippers pulled out of the mold. Credit: Stephen Mayfield, University of California, San DiegoBiodegradation of PU cubes within 12 weeks. Degradation was analyzed by A) appearance change, B) cube mass, and C) maximum force at 50% compression force deviation (CFD). Error bars show standard deviations of a sample of three measurements. For the loss of mass of compost and soil, p <0.01, and for CFD of compost and soil, p <0.01 (Table 2 in the published article). Credit: Stephen Mayfield, University of California, San Diego

Fully recyclablecommercial products are the next step in the scientists' ongoing mission to solve current problems in the production and management of plastic waste. If they are not addressed, then by 2050 this will lead to the release of 96 billion tons of plastic in landfills or into the environment.

Read also

Scientists may have come close to understanding how our planet became habitable

See what Hubble's successor can see in space. Webb telescope overview

Researchers find out how parasites learned to live without oxygen