دحض العلماء نظرية أصل الماس في النيازك

من المرجح أن يكون الماس الموجود في النيازك الحجرية قد تشكل من تأثير سريع

تحولات الجرافيت أثناء اصطدام واحد أو أكثر مع الكويكب الأصلي أوريليت في النظام الشمسي المبكر.

في السابق ، افترض الباحثون أن الماس فيتشكلت اليوريلايت بنفس الطريقة التي تشكلت على الأرض - في أعماق عباءة الكوكب ، حيث يتم إنشاء الضغط العالي المطلوب لتشكيل الماس (شكل صلب كثيف جدًا من الكربون النقي) بواسطة وزن الطبقات التي تعلوها. إذا ظهر الماس في اليوريليت بنفس الطريقة ، فلا بد أن الجسم الأصلي الذي تشكلوا عليه كان كوكبًا أوليًا كبيرًا - على الأقل بحجم المريخ أو عطارد.

ومع ذلك ، أظهر بحث جديد أنه لا يوجد دليل على أن الماس يتطلب ضغطًا عاليًا ووقتًا للنمو في أعماق أعماق الكوكب.

فحص الفريق الماس في ثلاث عيناتureilitis باستخدام المجهر الإلكتروني والتصوير الشعاعي الدقيق ومطياف رامان (الليزر). وجد العلماء حبيبات كبيرة (تصل إلى 100 ميكرومتر) وصغيرة (بحجم نانومتر) من الماس ، بالإضافة إلى الحديد المعدني والجرافيت في المناطق الغنية بالكربون الموجودة بين حبيبات معادن السيليكات في هذه العينات.

يُظهر الرسم المجهري لـ ureilite NWA 7983 مناطق من الماس والجرافيت محاطة بمعادن السيليكات Mg-Fe-Ca. الائتمان: فابريزيو نيستولا وأوليفر المسيح

"لقد وجدنا أكبر بلورة مفردةتشرح الدكتورة سيرينا جودريتش "الماس الذي لم يسبق له مثيل في اليوريلايت". "من المهم أن نلاحظ أن جميع اليوريلات الذين حققنا معهم قد صُدموا بشدة بناءً على البيانات التي تم الحصول عليها من معادن السيليكات الخاصة بهم. يشير هذا إلى أن الماس الكبير والصغير في هذه الصخور قد تشكل من الجرافيت الأصلي نتيجة لعمليات الصدمة ".

أصل الماس في اليوريليت مهمأهمية لنماذج تكوين الكواكب في النظام الشمسي المبكر. الكويكبات الحديثة ، التي نشأت منها معظم النيازك ، صغيرة جدًا مقارنة بالكواكب. ومع ذلك ، تتنبأ نماذج تكوين الكواكب بأن الكواكب تشكلت من قبل مجموعات من أجنة الكواكب (كواكب أولية) تتراوح في الحجم من القمر إلى المريخ. يجادل مؤيدو فرضية الضغط الساكن العالي التي تشرح أصل الماس اليوريلايت بأن الجسم الأم للكويكب كان أحد هذه الأجنة. ومع ذلك ، يوضح العلماء أن وجود الماس في اليوريلايت لا يتطلب جسمًا رئيسيًا بحجم المريخ.

"نتائجنا مهمة لأنها ليست فقطيشير إلى مصدر الصدمة للماس في اليوريلايت ، ولكنه يدحض أيضًا الحجج المقدمة لصالح فرضية وجود جسم رئيسي كبير. المناقشة العلمية واختبار الفرضيات جزء لا يتجزأ من تقدم العلم ، "يختتم الدكتور جودريتش.

اقرأ أيضا

تبين أن نهر Doomsday الجليدي أكثر خطورة مما اعتقد العلماء. نقول الشيء الرئيسي

دراسة: القطط يمكنها تقليد البشر

في اليوم الثالث من المرض ، يفقد معظم مرضى COVID-19 حاسة الشم لديهم وغالبًا ما يعانون من سيلان الأنف

Scientists have refuted the theory of the origin of diamonds in meteorites

The diamonds found in stone meteorites are most likely formed by a rapid impact

transformations of graphite during one or more major collisions with the parent asteroid-ureilite in the early solar system.

Previously, researchers assumed that diamonds inureilites formed in the same way as on Earth - deep in the mantle of the planet, where the high pressure required to form a diamond (a very dense, solid form of pure carbon) is created by the weight of the overlying strata. If diamonds in ureilites appeared in the same way, then the original parent body on which they formed must have been a large protoplanet - at least the size of Mars or Mercury.

However, new research demonstrates that there is no evidence that diamonds require high pressure and time to grow deep in the depths of the planet.

The team examined diamonds in three samplesureilitis using electron microscopy, microradiography and Raman (laser) spectroscopy. Scientists have found both large (up to 100 micrometres) and small (nanometer-sized) grains of diamond, as well as metallic iron and graphite in carbon-rich regions located among the grains of silicate minerals in these samples.

The micrograph of ureilite NWA 7983 shows areas of diamond and graphite surrounded by silicate minerals Mg-Fe-Ca. Credit: Fabrizio Nestola and Oliver Christ

“We have found the largest single crystalthe diamond ever seen in ureilite, ”explains Dr. Cyrena Goodrich. “It is important to note that all of the ureilites that we examined were severely shocked based on the data obtained from their silicate minerals. This suggests that both large and small diamonds in these rocks were formed from the original graphite as a result of shock processes. "

The origin of diamonds in ureilites is importantsignificance for models of planetary formation in the early solar system. Modern asteroids, from which most meteorites originate, are very small compared to planets. However, planetary formation models predict that the planets were formed by clusters of planetary embryos (protoplanets) ranging in size from the Moon to Mars. Supporters of the high static pressure hypothesis explaining the origin of the ureilite diamonds argue that the asteroid's mother body was one of these embryos. However, scientists are demonstrating that the presence of diamonds in ureilites does not require a Mars-sized parent body.

“Our results are important because they are not onlypoint to the shock origin of diamonds in ureilites, but also refute the arguments put forward in favor of the hypothesis of a large parent body. Scientific debate and hypothesis testing are integral to the progress of science, ”concludes Dr. Goodrich.

Read also

The Doomsday glacier turned out to be more dangerous than scientists thought. We tell the main thing

Study: cats can imitate humans

On day 3 of illness, most COVID-19 patients lose their sense of smell and often suffer from a runny nose