تم العثور على رفات لاجئين سياسيين من العصور الوسطى: كانوا يعتبرون ضحايا الطاعون

أظهر تحليل النظائر أن بعض الناس القدامى عبروا اسكتلندا المنقسمة سياسياً و

ماتوا على بعد مئات الكيلومترات من مسقط رأسهم.كتبت جامعة أبردين: "لعقود من الزمان ، تم العثور على بقايا تسعة بالغين وخمسة أطفال بالقرب من إدنبرة ، مما أثار إعجاب علماء الآثار والجمهور". الآن قام موظفوه بدراستها بمزيد من التفصيل.

تم العثور على الرفات في جزيرة كراموند في عام 1975.وكانوا يعتبرون في الأصل ضحايا الطاعون أو حطام السفينة الذي حدث في القرن الرابع عشر. أظهر تحليل الكربون المشع اللاحق أنهم كانوا أكبر بحوالي 800 عام ، ويعود تاريخهم إلى القرن السادس أو أوائل العصور الوسطى.

كشفت الأعمال الأثرية الحيوية الجديدة التي أجرتها جامعة أبردين عن مزيد من التفاصيل حول حياتهم وتظهر أن بعض المجموعة سافروا في جميع أنحاء اسكتلندا.

أعاد العلماء بناء وجه أحد الأسكتلنديين القدماء. الائتمان: جامعة أبردين.

"بحثهم يغير فهمنا لـليس فقط حول هذا المكان المهم ، ولكن أيضًا حول تنقل الأشخاص واتصالاتهم في جميع أنحاء اسكتلندا خلال أوائل العصور الوسطى ، عندما تم تقسيم البلاد من قبل الاسكتلنديين في الغرب ، البيكتس في معظم شمال اسكتلندا والبريطانيين في الجنوب ، "يكتب العلماء.

الطعام والماء الذي يستهلكه الإنسانعلى مدار الحياة ، اترك آثارًا معينة في الجسم يمكن تتبعها إلى مصدر استلامها. يعمل مينا الأسنان مثل كبسولة زمنية صغيرة ويحتوي على معلومات كيميائية حول المكان الذي نشأ فيه الشخص. باستخدام التحليل النظيري ، فحص العلماء النظام الغذائي وخلفية كل من البالغين في المجموعة.

تفاجأ العلماء عندما وجدوا ذلك بالرغم من ذلكأن جميع الناس دفنوا على مقربة من بعضهم البعض. هذا يعني أنهم كانوا على الأرجح من نفس العائلة. ومع ذلك ، نشأ بعضهم على بعد مئات الكيلومترات.

ربما يكون هؤلاء نوعًا من اللاجئين السياسيين ،الذي نشأ في مكان ما ومات في جزء آخر من البلاد. ويعتقد أن السفر خلال هذه الفترة كان سيكون محدودًا بسبب نقص الطرق والانقسامات السياسية في ذلك الوقت. استنتج العلماء أن تحليل مدافن كراموند ، إلى جانب المدافن الأخرى التي تعود إلى العصور الوسطى في اسكتلندا ، يُظهر أنه لم يكن من غير المعتاد أن تُدفن بعيدًا عن المكان الذي نشأت فيه.

ستساعد دراسات علم الآثار الحيوية مثل هذه في استكشاف تاريخ الهجرة في اسكتلندا في العصور الوسطى وما بعدها.

قراءة المزيد

العنصر الخامس موجود: تجربة جديدة ستؤكد أن المعلومات جوهرية

أصوات مخيفة ومخلوقات غامضة: أغرب ما يتم اكتشافه في خندق ماريانا

انظر إلى أفضل صورة للشمس: إنها تتكون من 83 مليون بكسل

Found the remains of political refugees from the Middle Ages: they were considered victims of the plague

Isotope analysis has shown that some of the ancient people crossed the politically divided Scotland and

died hundreds of kilometers from their birthplace.“For decades, the remains of nine adults and five infants found near Edinburgh have fascinated archaeologists and the public,” write the University of Aberdeen. Now his employees have studied them in more detail.

The remains were found on Cramond Island in 1975.and were originally considered victims of the plague or shipwreck that occurred in the 14th century. Later radiocarbon analysis showed that they were about 800 years older, dating from the 6th century or early medieval period.

New bioarchaeological work by the University of Aberdeen has revealed more details about their lives and shows that some of the group traveled around Scotland.

Scientists have reconstructed the face of one of the ancient Scots. Credit: University of Aberdeen.

“Their research is changing our understanding ofnot only about this important place, but also about the mobility and connections of people throughout Scotland during the early Middle Ages, when the country was divided by the Scots in the west, the Picts in most of northern Scotland and the British in the south, ”the scientists write.

The food and water that a person consumesover the course of life, leave certain traces in the body that can be traced to the source of their receipt. Tooth enamel works like a little time capsule and contains chemical information about where a person grew up. Using isotopic analysis, the scientists examined the diet and background of each of the adults in the group.

Scientists were surprised when they found that despitethat all people were buried in close proximity to each other. This means that, most likely, they were the same family. However, some of them grew up hundreds of kilometers apart.

Perhaps these are some kind of political refugees,who grew up in one place and died in another part of the country. “It is believed that travel during this period would have been limited due to the lack of roads and the political divisions of the time. An analysis of the Cramond burials, along with other early medieval burials in Scotland, shows that it was not unusual for you to be buried far from where you grew up, ”the scientists conclude.

Bioarchaeological studies like this will help to explore the history of migration in early medieval Scotland and beyond.

Read more

The "fifth element" exists: a new experiment will confirm that information is material

Creepy sounds and mysterious creatures: the strangest finds in the Mariana Trench

Look at the best picture of the Sun: it consists of 83 million pixels