وجد هابل درعًا يمنع المجرات القزمة من مجرة ​​درب التبانة

اكتشف علماء الفيزياء الفلكية "شاشة" واقية عملاقة من الغازات الساخنة تحيط بمركب ماجلان الكبير والصغير

سحاب.تمنع هذه الشرنقة تسرب الغاز من المجرات القزمية وتحتفظ بالقدرة على تكوين نجوم جديدة. على الرغم من أن منطقة الغاز الساخن تمتد لأكثر من 100000 سنة ضوئية من غيوم ماجلان وتغطي جزءًا كبيرًا من السماء الجنوبية ، إلا أنها غير مرئية تقريبًا.

التاج الذي يحمي غيوم ماجلان من مجرتنا. الصورة: STSCI، Leah Hustak

В поисках прямых доказательств существования الهالة المحيطة بالمجرة ، درس الباحثون 30 عامًا من الملاحظات الفلكية من تلسكوب هابل والقمر الصناعي فيوز. كانوا يبحثون عن ملاحظات حول النجوم الزائفة الموجودة خلف سحابة ماجلان عند مشاهدتها من الأرض.

النجوم الزائفة هي نوى شديدة السطوع للمجرات.وهي ثقوب سوداء نشطة ضخمة. افترض الباحثون أنه في حين أن الإكليل يجب أن يكون باهتًا جدًا بحيث لا يمكن رؤيته بمفرده ، فإنه سيضيف "ضبابًا" لصور الكوازارات البعيدة.

بيانات الرصد لغيوم ماجلان الكبيرة والصغيرة. الصورة: Dhanesh Krishnarao et al.، Nature

تحليل الأنماط في الأشعة فوق البنفسجية من 28الكوازارات ، كان الفريق قادرًا على اكتشاف وتوصيف المواد المحيطة بسحابة ماجلان الكبيرة وتأكيد وجود هالة. تحتوي أطياف الكوازارات على إشارات مميزة من الكربون والأكسجين والسيليكون ، والتي تشكل هالة البلازما الساخنة التي تحيط بهذه المجرة القزمة.

لمليارات السنين ، كبيرها وصغيرهايقول علماء الفيزياء الفلكية إن سحابة ماجلان ، أكبر مجرات تابعة لمجرة درب التبانة ، كانت في رحلات خطيرة. كانوا يدورون حول بعضهم البعض وينجذبون تدريجيًا إلى مجرتنا.

كان من المفترض أن تدمر هذه العمليات الهيكلوتحرم المجرات منها من مصادر وقود لتكوين نجوم جديدة لكن هذا لم يحدث. لاحظ مؤلفو الدراسة أن اكتشاف الهالة يجيب أخيرًا على سؤال حول كيفية نجاة المجرات القزمة.

قراءة المزيد:

اتضح ما يحدث للدماغ البشري بعد ساعة في الغابة

أصبح معروفًا أي الشاي يدمر البروتين في الدماغ

تبين أن الكائنات البحرية الغريبة في أعماق المحيط تشبه البشر

Hubble finds a shield blocking dwarf galaxies from the Milky Way

Astrophysicists have found a giant protective "screen" of hot gas surrounding the Large and Small Magellanic

Clouds.This cocoon prevents gas leaks from dwarf galaxies and retains the ability to create new stars. Although the region of hot gas extends over 100,000 light-years from the Magellanic Clouds and covers a vast portion of the southern sky, it is virtually invisible.

The crown protecting the Magellanic Clouds from our galaxy. Image: STSCI, Leah Hustak

In search of direct evidence for the existencecorona surrounding the galaxy, the researchers studied 30 years of astronomical observations from the Hubble telescope and the FUSE satellite. They were looking for observations of quasars that are located behind the Magellanic Clouds when viewed from Earth.

Quasars are extremely bright nuclei of galaxies.which are massive active black holes. The researchers hypothesized that while the corona would have to be too dim to be seen on its own, it would add a "haze" to images of distant quasars.

Observational data for the Large and Small Magellanic Clouds. Image: Dhanesh Krishnarao et al., Nature

Analyzing patterns in ultraviolet light from 28quasars, the team was able to detect and characterize material surrounding the Large Magellanic Cloud and confirm the existence of a corona. The spectra of quasars contain distinct signatures of carbon, oxygen and silicon, which make up the halo of hot plasma that surrounds this dwarf galaxy.

For billions of years, Big and SmallThe Magellanic Clouds, the Milky Way's largest satellite galaxies, have been on dangerous journeys, astrophysicists say. They revolved around each other and gradually attracted to our Galaxy.

These processes were supposed to destroy the structuregalaxies and deprive them of sources of fuel for the formation of new stars, but this did not happen. The authors of the study note that the discovery of the corona finally answers the question of how dwarf galaxies managed to survive.

Read more:

It turned out what happens to the human brain after one hour in the forest

It became known which tea destroys protein in the brain

Strange sea creatures in the depths of the ocean turned out to be similar to humans