في أستراليا ، تم إنشاء مختبر من شأنه إحياء الذئب الجرابي

أنشأ باحثون من جامعة ملبورن مختبرًا لإحياء الذئب التسماني أو الذئب الجرابي

(Thylacinus cynocephalus) ، والتي اختفت حوالي 100مند سنوات. جمع المشروع تمويلًا بقيمة 10 ملايين دولار من Colossal Biosciences ، وهي شركة أمريكية لتعديل الحمض النووي تعمل على إحياء الماموث الصوفي.

يتضمن المشروع عدة مراحل معقدة.أولاً ، يحتاج الباحثون إلى إنشاء جينوم مفصل للحيوان المنقرض ومقارنته بالحمض النووي لأقرب أقربائه على قيد الحياة ، فأر الجرابي ذو الذيل السمني (Sminthopsis crassicaudata). ثم يأخذون الجنس الحي والخلايا الجذعية من ممثلي هذا النوع ويغيرون جميع أجزاء الجينوم التي تختلف عن الذئب الجرابي.

وقائع مشاهدة آخر النمور التسمانية في حديقة الحيوان

بمجرد إجراء التغييرات الجينية ، سيكون من الممكنخلق جنين يمكن أن يحمله فأر جرابي. على الرغم من أنها أصغر بكثير من الذئب البالغ ، إلا أن جميع الجرابيات يولدون بحجم حبة الأرز. وهذا يعني أنه حتى الجرابيات التي في حجم الفأر يمكن أن تكون بمثابة أم بديلة للنمور التسمانية الأكبر بكثير.

هدفنا النهائي مع هذه التكنولوجيا هوإعادة هذه الأنواع إلى البرية ، حيث لعبت دورًا مهمًا للغاية في النظام البيئي. لذلك ، نأمل أن تراهم في يوم من الأيام مرة أخرى في غابة تسمانيا.

أندرو باسك ، رئيس مختبر الأبحاث وقائد المشروع ، في مقابلة مع شبكة سي إن إن

النمور التسمانية هو جرابي بحجم ذئب.اختفت منذ حوالي ألفي عام في كل مكان تقريبًا باستثناء جزيرة تسمانيا الأسترالية. نظرًا لكونه المفترس الوحيد في قمة الجرابيات الذي يعيش في العصر الحديث ، فقد لعب دورًا رئيسيًا في نظامه البيئي. ألقى المستوطنون الأوروبيون في الجزيرة باللوم على الذئاب الجرابية في نفوق الماشية وقاموا بمطاردتها بنشاط. توفي آخر نمر تسماني يعيش في الأسر عام 1936 في حديقة حيوان بوماريس في تسمانيا.

قراءة المزيد:

أرسل "جيمس ويب" صورة لاصطدام مجرتين ضخمتين

ستوفر البكتيريا "عديمة الفائدة" على الأرض الحياة لمستعمري المريخ

على الهرم في الصين وجدت صورة "ملك الأجداد". لقد حكم منذ أكثر من 4000 عام

In Australia, created a laboratory that will revive the marsupial wolf

Researchers from the University of Melbourne have created a laboratory to revive the thylacine or marsupial wolf

(Thylacinus cynocephalus), which disappeared about 100years ago. The project has raised $10 million in funding from Colossal Biosciences, a US DNA-editing company working to revive the woolly mammoth.

The project includes several complex stages.First, the researchers need to create a detailed genome of the extinct animal and compare it with the DNA of its closest living relative, the fat-tailed marsupial mouse (Sminthopsis crassicaudata). Then they will take living sex and stem cells from representatives of this species and change all parts of the genome that are different from the marsupial wolf.

Chronicle of sightings of the last thylacines at the zoo

Once the genetic changes are made, it will be possible tocreate an embryo that a marsupial mouse can carry. Although much smaller than an adult wolf, all marsupials are born the size of a grain of rice. This means that even a mouse-sized marsupial can serve as a surrogate mother for the much larger thylacine.

Our ultimate goal with this technology isto return these species to the wild, where they played an absolutely important role in the ecosystem. Therefore, we hope that one day you will see them again in the Tasmanian thickets.

Andrew Pask, head of research lab and project leader, in an interview with CNN

The thylacine is a marsupial about the size of a coyote.disappeared about 2 thousand years ago almost everywhere except the Australian island of Tasmania. As the only marsupial apex predator living in modern times, it played a key role in its ecosystem. European settlers on the island blamed the marsupial wolves for the death of livestock and actively hunted them. The last thylacine living in captivity died in 1936 at Beaumaris Zoo in Tasmania.

Read more:

"James Webb" sent a photo of the collision of two huge galaxies

"Useless" bacteria on Earth will provide life to the colonists of Mars

On the pyramid in China found a portrait of the "king of ancestors". He ruled over 4,000 years ago