مصدر فريد للطاقة: ما هي المادة المضادة وما هي قادرة على ذلك

ما هي المادة المضادة؟

كائنات الكون - المجرات والنجوم والكوازارات والكواكب والمستعرات الأعظمية والحيوانات والبشر

- مصنوعة من مادة.يتكون من جسيمات أولية مختلفة - الكواركات واللبتونات والبوزونات. ولكن اتضح أن هناك جسيمات يتطابق فيها جزء من الخصائص تمامًا مع معلمات "الأصول الأصلية" ، بينما يحتوي الجزء الآخر على قيم معاكسة. دفعت هذه الخاصية العلماء إلى إعطاء مجموعة هذه الجسيمات الاسم العام "المادة المضادة".

بناءً على البيانات المتوفرة حتى الآن ، لاهناك مضادات المجرات أو النجوم المضادة أو أجسام كبيرة أخرى من المادة المضادة. وهذا غريب جدًا: وفقًا لنظرية الانفجار العظيم ، في لحظة ولادة كوننا ، ظهرت نفس الكمية من المادة والمادة المضادة ، ولا يزال المكان الذي ذهب إليه الأخير غير واضح. يوجد حاليًا تفسيران لهذه الظاهرة: إما أن المادة المضادة اختفت فور الانفجار ، أو أنها موجودة في بعض الأجزاء البعيدة من الكون ، ولم نكتشفها بعد. يعد عدم التناسق هذا أحد أهم المشكلات التي لم يتم حلها في الفيزياء الحديثة.

المادة المضادة - المادة المكونة من الجسيمات المضادة -"انعكاسات انعكاسية" لعدد من الجسيمات الأولية التي لها نفس اللف والكتلة ، ولكنها تختلف عن بعضها البعض في علامات جميع الخصائص الأخرى للتفاعل: الشحنة الكهربائية واللون ، وأرقام الباريون والليبتون الكمومية. بعض الجسيمات ، على سبيل المثال الفوتون ، لا تحتوي على جسيمات مضادة أو ، وهي نفس الشيء ، هي جسيمات مضادة بالنسبة إلى نفسها.

يعتقد اليوم أن الجسيمات المضادة تتفاعل معهاإن القوى الأساسية التي تحدد بنية المادة (التفاعل القوي ، وتشكيل النوى ، والقوى الكهرومغناطيسية ، وتشكيل الذرات والجزيئات) ، هي نفسها تمامًا ، لذلك يجب أن تكون بنية المادة المضادة هي نفسها بنية المادة "العادية".

وماذا تعني البادئة "ضد"؟

عادة ما نستخدم هذه البادئة لـيعين الظاهرة المعاكسة. أما بالنسبة للمادة المضادة - فهي تشمل نظائر الجسيمات الأولية التي لها شحنة معاكسة ، وعزم مغناطيسي وبعض الخصائص الأخرى. بالطبع ، لا يمكن عكس جميع خصائص الجسيم. على سبيل المثال ، يجب أن تظل الكتلة والعمر إيجابيين دائمًا ، مع التركيز عليها ، يمكن أن تُعزى الجسيمات إلى فئة واحدة (على سبيل المثال ، البروتونات أو النيوترونات).

إذا قارنا البروتون والبروتون المضاد ، فحينئذٍ بعضخصائصهما هي نفسها: كتلة كلاهما هي 938.2719 (98) ميغا إلكترون فولت ، تدور ½. لكن الشحنة الكهربائية للبروتون هي 1 ، والبروتون المضاد ناقص 1 ، وعدد الباريون (الذي يحدد عدد الجسيمات شديدة التفاعل المكونة من ثلاثة كواركات) هو 1 وسالب 1 على التوالي.

بعض الجسيمات ، مثل بوزون هيغز والفوتون ، ليس لها نظير مضاد ويطلق عليها محايدة حقيقية.

معظم الجسيمات المضادة مع الجسيماتتظهر في عملية تسمى الاقتران. يتطلب تكوين مثل هذا الزوج طاقة عالية ، أي سرعة هائلة. في الطبيعة ، تنشأ الجسيمات المضادة عندما تصطدم الأشعة الكونية بالغلاف الجوي للأرض ، داخل النجوم الضخمة ، بجانب النجوم النابضة ونواة المجرة النشطة. يستخدم العلماء المسرعات المصادمات لهذا الغرض.

أين يتم "تعدين" المادة المضادة وتخزينها؟

يتم استخراج المادة المضادة في الهادرون الكبيرمصادم ، يجمع سحب البروتونات المضادة بعد اصطدام حزمة بروتون مع هدف معدني ويبطئ بدقة جزيئات التشتت بحيث يمكن استخدامها في التجارب اللاحقة.

بقلم Maximilien Brice، CERN - CERN Document Server، CC BY-SA 3.0، https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php؟curid=29068932

جسيمات المادة المضادة المشحونة مثل البوزيتروناتويمكن تخزين البروتونات المضادة في ما يسمى بمصائد بنينج. إنها مثل مسرعات الجسيمات الصغيرة. داخلها ، تتحرك الجسيمات في شكل حلزوني بينما تمنعها المجالات المغناطيسية والكهربائية من الاصطدام بجدران المصيدة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن مصائد بنينج لا تعمل من أجلهاالجسيمات المحايدة مثل الهيدروجين المضاد. نظرًا لعدم وجود شحنة لهذه الجسيمات ، لا يمكن حصرها في المجالات الكهربائية. إنهم محاصرون في مصائد Ioffe ، والتي تعمل عن طريق إنشاء مساحة من الفضاء حيث يصبح المجال المغناطيسي أكبر في جميع الاتجاهات. تتعطل جزيئات المادة المضادة في المنطقة ذات المجال المغناطيسي الأضعف.

يمكن أن يعمل المجال المغناطيسي للأرض كمصائد للمادة المضادة. تم العثور على البروتونات المضادة في مناطق معينة حول الأرض - أحزمة فان ألين الإشعاعية.

لماذا يصعب الحصول على المادة المضادة؟

كما اتضح أن دراسة هذا الغموضالمادة أصعب بكثير من التسجيل. لم يتم العثور على الجسيمات المضادة في حالة مستقرة في الطبيعة. المشكلة هي أن المادة والمادة المضادة تبيدان (يدمر كل منهما الآخر) عند "الاتصال". من الممكن جدًا الحصول على المادة المضادة في المختبرات ، على الرغم من صعوبة احتوائها. حتى الآن ، تمكن العلماء من القيام بذلك لبضع دقائق فقط.

مشكلة تخزين المادة المضادة هي مشكلة حقيقيةألم للفيزيائيين ، لأن البروتونات المضادة والبوزيترونات تتلاشى فورًا عند الالتقاء بأي جسيمات من مادة عادية. للاحتفاظ بها ، كان على العلماء ابتكار أجهزة ماكرة يمكن أن تمنع وقوع كارثة. يتم تخزين الجسيمات المضادة المشحونة في ما يسمى بمصيدة Penning ، والتي تشبه المسرع المصغر. يمنع مجاله المغناطيسي والكهربائي القوي من اصطدام البوزيترونات والبروتونات المضادة بجدران الجهاز. ومع ذلك ، لا يعمل مثل هذا الجهاز مع الأجسام المحايدة مثل ذرة الهيدروجين المضاد. لهذه الحالة ، تم تطوير مصيدة Ioffe. يحدث الاحتفاظ بالمضادات فيه بسبب المجال المغناطيسي.

ما هي قدرة المادة المضادة؟

فقط حفنة من المادة المضادة يمكن أن تنتجكمية هائلة من الطاقة. وهذا يجعلها وقودًا شائعًا لمركبات الخيال العلمي المستقبلية. بشكل عام ، من الممكن افتراضيًا استخدام محرك صاروخ مضاد للمادة ؛ القيد الرئيسي هو تراكم كمية كافية من المادة المضادة لاستخدامها.

بالمناسبة ، فإن طاقة 1 مليغرام من المادة المضادة تكفي لرحلة إلى المريخ.

لا توجد حاليا أي تقنيات متاحة لالإنتاج الضخم أو جمع المادة المضادة بالقدر المطلوب لهذا التطبيق. ومع ذلك ، فقد أجرى عدد قليل من العلماء أبحاثًا حول محاكاة الحركة والتخزين. ومن بين هؤلاء رونان كين ووي مينج زانج ، الذين عملوا في أكاديمية ويسترن ريزيرف وجامعة ولاية كينت ، على التوالي ، بالإضافة إلى مارك ويبر وزملائه في جامعة ولاية واشنطن. في يوم من الأيام ، إذا تمكنا من إيجاد طريقة لإنشاء أو جمع كميات كبيرة من المادة المضادة ، فإن أبحاثهم يمكن أن تساعد في جعل السفر بين النجوم باستخدام المادة المضادة حقيقة واقعة.

لماذا ما زلنا لا نستخدم مصدر الطاقة هذا؟

يمكن إبادة المادة والمادة المضادةتطلق كمية هائلة من الطاقة. يمكن أن يتسبب جرام من المادة المضادة في حدوث انفجار بحجم القنبلة النووية. ومع ذلك ، فقد أنتج البشر القليل جدًا من المادة المضادة.

عدم كفاءة إنتاج المادة المضادة هائل.مع الأخذ في الاعتبار تكلفة الحصول على المادة المضادة ، يمكنك استعادة عُشر مليار فقط (10-10) من الطاقة المستثمرة. إذا تمكن العلماء من جمع كل المادة المضادة التي أنتجناها في سيرن وقضينا عليها بالمادة ، فلن يكون هناك سوى طاقة كافية لتشغيل مصباح كهربائي واحد لبضع دقائق.

تم إنشاء جميع البروتونات المضادة في مسرع الجسيماتتيفاترون في فيرميلاب هو 15 نانوجرام فقط. تلك المنتجة في CERN حوالي 1 نانوجرام. حتى الآن ، أنتجت DESY في ألمانيا ما يقرب من 2 نانوجرام من البوزيترونات.

إذا تم تدمير كل المادة المضادة التي أنتجها البشر دفعة واحدة ، فلن تكون الطاقة المنتجة كافية حتى لغلي كوب من الشاي.

المشكلة هي الكفاءة والتكلفةإنتاج وتخزين المادة المضادة. سيتطلب إنتاج جرام واحد من المادة المضادة ما يقرب من 25 مليون كيلوواط / ساعة من الطاقة وأكثر من مليون مليار دولار.

قراءة المزيد

طائرة هليكوبتر بارعة تقلع بنجاح على المريخ

تم إنشاء أول خريطة دقيقة للعالم. ما هو الخطأ مع أي شخص آخر؟

أخبرت ناسا كيف سيتم تسليم عينات من المريخ إلى الأرض

الدوران هو الزخم الزاوي المناسب للجسيمات الأولية ، والتي لها طبيعة كمومية ولا ترتبط بحركة الجسيم ككل.

A unique source of energy: what is antimatter and what it is capable of

What is antimatter?

Objects of the Universe - galaxies, stars, quasars, planets, supernovae, animals and people

- are made of matter.It is formed by various elementary particles - quarks, leptons, bosons. But it turned out that there are particles in which one part of the characteristics completely coincides with the parameters of the "originals", and the other has the opposite values. This property prompted scientists to give the aggregate of such particles the general name "antimatter".

Based on the data available to date, nothere are antigalaxies, anti-stars or other large antimatter objects. And this is very strange: according to the Big Bang theory, at the moment of the birth of our Universe, the same amount of matter and antimatter appeared, and where the latter went is not clear. Currently, there are two explanations for this phenomenon: either antimatter disappeared immediately after the explosion, or it exists in some distant parts of the universe, and we simply have not yet discovered it. This asymmetry is one of the most important unsolved problems in modern physics.

Antimatter - matter made up of antiparticles -"Mirror reflections" of a number of elementary particles that have the same spin and mass, but differ from each other in signs of all other characteristics of interaction: electric and color charge, baryon and lepton quantum numbers. Some particles, for example a photon, do not have antiparticles or, which is the same thing, are antiparticles in relation to themselves.

It is believed today that antiparticles react tothe fundamental forces that determine the structure of matter (strong interaction, forming nuclei, and electromagnetic, forming atoms and molecules), are exactly the same, therefore the structure of antimatter should be the same as the structure of "normal" matter.

And what does the prefix "anti" mean?

We usually use this prefix todesignate the opposite phenomenon. As for antimatter - it includes analogs of elementary particles that have opposite charge, magnetic moment and some other characteristics. Of course, all the properties of a particle cannot be reversed. For example, mass and lifetime must always remain positive, focusing on them, particles can be attributed to one category (for example, protons or neutrons).

If we compare a proton and an antiproton, then sometheir characteristics are the same: the mass of both is 938.2719 (98) megaelectronvolt, spin ½. But the electric charge of the proton is 1, and the antiproton has minus 1, the baryon number (which determines the number of strongly interacting particles consisting of three quarks) is 1 and minus 1, respectively.

Some particles, such as the Higgs boson and the photon, have no anti-analogs and are called true neutral.

Most antiparticles along with particlesappear in a process called pairing. The formation of such a pair requires high energy, that is, tremendous speed. In nature, antiparticles arise when cosmic rays collide with the Earth's atmosphere, inside massive stars, next to pulsars and active galactic nuclei. Scientists use colliders-accelerators for this.

Where is antimatter "mined" and stored?

Antimatter is mined in the Large Hadroncollider, collecting clouds of antiprotons after the collision of a proton beam with a metal target and neatly slowing down the scattering particles so that they can be used in subsequent experiments.

By Maximilien Brice, CERN - CERN Document Server, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=29068932

Charged antimatter particles like positronsand antiprotons can be stored in so-called Penning traps. They are like tiny particle accelerators. Inside them, particles move in a spiral while magnetic and electric fields keep them from colliding with the walls of the trap.

However, Penning's traps don't work forneutral particles like antihydrogen. Since they have no charge, these particles cannot be confined to electric fields. They are trapped in Ioffe's traps, which work by creating an area of ​​space where the magnetic field becomes larger in all directions. Particles of antimatter get stuck in the area with the weakest magnetic field.

The Earth's magnetic field can act as traps for antimatter. Antiprotons were found in certain zones around the Earth - the Van Allen radiation belts.

Why is antimatter so hard to get?

It also became clear that to study this mysteriousthe substance is much more difficult than registering. Antiparticles in a stable state have not yet been encountered in nature. The problem is that matter and antimatter annihilate (mutually destroy each other) upon "contact". It is quite possible to obtain antimatter in laboratories, although it is quite difficult to contain it. So far, scientists have been able to do this only for a few minutes.

The antimatter storage issue is a real headachepain for physicists, because antiprotons and positrons instantly annihilate when meeting with any particles of ordinary matter. To keep them, scientists had to come up with cunning devices that could prevent a catastrophe. The charged antiparticles are stored in the so-called Penning trap, which resembles a miniature accelerator. Its powerful magnetic and electric field prevents positrons and antiprotons from colliding with the walls of the device. However, such a device does not work with neutral objects like the antihydrogen atom. For this case, the Ioffe trap was developed. The retention of antiatoms in it occurs due to the magnetic field.

What is antimatter capable of?

Just a handful of antimatter can producea huge amount of energy. This makes it a popular fuel for futuristic science fiction vehicles. In general, an antimatter rocket engine is hypothetically possible; the main limitation is the accumulation of enough antimatter to use it.

By the way, the energy of 1 milligram of antimatter is enough for a flight to Mars.

There are currently no technologies available formass production or collection of antimatter to the extent required for this application. However, a small number of scientists have conducted research on motion and storage simulation. These include Ronan Keen and Wei-Ming Zhang, who worked at Western Reserve Academy and Kent State University, respectively, as well as Mark Weber and his colleagues at Washington State University. Someday, if we can find a way to create or collect large amounts of antimatter, their research could help make interstellar travel using antimatter a reality.

Why are we still not using this energy source?

The annihilation of antimatter and matter canrelease a huge amount of energy. A gram of antimatter can cause an explosion the size of a nuclear bomb. However, humans have produced very small amounts of antimatter.

The inefficiency of antimatter production is enormous.Taking into account the cost of obtaining antimatter, you can get back only a tenth of a billion (10-10) of the energy invested. If scientists could collect all the antimatter that we have ever produced at CERN and annihilate it with matter, then there would only be enough energy to turn on one light bulb for a few minutes.

All antiprotons created in a particle acceleratorThe Tevatron at Fermilab is only 15 nanograms. Those produced at CERN are about 1 nanogram. To date, DESY in Germany has produced approximately 2 nanograms of positrons.

If all the antimatter ever produced by humans were destroyed at once, the energy produced would not even be enough to boil a cup of tea.

The problem is efficiency and costproduction and storage of antimatter. The production of 1 gram of antimatter will require approximately 25 million billion kilowatt-hours of energy and more than a million billion dollars.

Read more

Ingenuity helicopter successfully takes off on Mars

The first accurate map of the world was created. What's wrong with everyone else?

NASA told how they will deliver samples of Mars to Earth

Spin is the proper angular momentum of elementary particles, which has a quantum nature and is not associated with the motion of the particle as a whole.