ستكون الطائرات أكثر صداقة للبيئة إذا كانت تطير في مهب الريح بالضبط

وجد العلماء في جامعة ريدينغ أنه في الشتاء الماضي ، على الرحلات الجوية التجارية بين نيويورك و

يمكن أن تستخدم لندن وقودًا أقل بنسبة 16٪. الأمر كله يتعلق بالاستفادة المثلى من الرياح في المرتفعات.

ستسمح الأقمار الصناعية الجديدة قريبًا بمزيد من الدقةتتبع الرحلات الجوية عبر المحيط الأطلسي. يمكن أن تسمح هذه القدرة للطائرات بأن تكون أكثر مرونة في مسارات رحلاتها لمتابعة الرياح الخلفية وتجنب العواصف القادمة. سيساعد هذا قطاع الطيران على تقليل الانبعاثات بثمن بخس وبسرعة ، دون انتظار اختراق تكنولوجي.

"الطرق الحالية عبر المحيط الأطلسييؤدي إلى احتراق أكثر نشاطًا للوقود وإطلاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون أكثر مما يحتاجون ، - تشرح كاتي ويلز ، دكتوراه من جامعة ريدينغ والمؤلفة الرئيسية للدراسة. "بينما تؤخذ الرياح جزئيًا في الاعتبار في تخطيط الطريق ، فإن اعتبارات مثل تقليل تكاليف الطيران الإجمالية أصبحت الآن ذات أولوية على تقليل استهلاك الوقود والتلوث."

التعديلات البسيطة على مسارات الطيران كثيرةأرخص ويمكن أن تستفيد على الفور ، كما يعتقد العلماء. هناك حاجة ملحة للحد من انبعاثات الطيران للتخفيف من الآثار المستقبلية لتغير المناخ.

أثناء الدراسة ، حلل العلماء حول35000 رحلة في كلا الاتجاهين بين نيويورك ولندن من 1 ديسمبر 2019 إلى 29 فبراير 2020. قارن الخبراء استهلاك الوقود لهذه الرحلات مقابل أسرع طريق ممكن أثناء الرحلة بحساب أكثر دقة لتدفق الهواء.

اتضح أن الاستفادة من الريحمن الممكن تقليل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بمقدار 6.7 مليون كجم خلال فترة الشتاء. بلغ متوسط ​​توفير الوقود لكل رحلة 1.7٪ للرحلات الغربية إلى نيويورك و 2.5٪ للرحلات من الشرق إلى لندن.

قراءة المزيد

تبدأ أعداد كبيرة من الحيتان الرمادية بالجوع والموت في المحيط الهادئ

يعود ثلث الذين تعافوا من مرض كوفيد -19 إلى المستشفى. كل ثمانية - يموت

الإجهاض والعلم: ماذا سيحدث للأطفال الذين سينجبون

إشعار فيسبوك للاتحاد الأوروبي! تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول لعرض ونشر تعليقات الفيسبوك!

Aircraft will become more environmentally friendly if they fly exactly in the wind

Scientists at the University of Reading found that last winter, on commercial flights between New York and

London could use 16% less fuel. It's all about making the best use of the gusts at altitude.

New satellites will soon allow more accuratetrack transatlantic flights. This capability could allow aircraft to be more flexible in their flight paths to follow tailwinds and avoid oncoming gusts. This will help the aviation sector reduce emissions cheaply and quickly, without waiting for a technological breakthrough.

"Existing transatlantic routeslead to more active combustion of fuels and the release of carbon dioxide than they need, - explains Katie Wells, a female Ph.D. from the University of Reading and lead author of the study. "While wind is partly taken into account in route planning, considerations such as reducing overall flight costs are now prioritized over minimizing fuel consumption and pollution."

Simple adjustments to flight paths are muchcheaper and can immediately benefit, scientists believe. There is an urgent need to reduce aviation emissions to mitigate the future impacts of climate change.

During the study, scientists analyzed about35,000 flights in both directions between New York and London from December 1, 2019 to February 29, 2020. The experts compared the fuel consumption of these flights and the fastest route that would be possible during the flight, with more accurate air flow accounting.

It turned out that taking advantage of the windit is possible to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by 6.7 million kg during the winter period. Average fuel savings per flight were 1.7% for flights west to New York and 2.5% for flights east to London.

Read more

Large numbers of gray whales start starving and dying in the Pacific

A third of those who have recovered from COVID-19 return to the hospital. Every eighth - dies

Abortion and science: what will happen to the children who will give birth