اكتشف علماء الفلك ما يمنع ولادة نجوم جديدة في المجرات ويقتلهم

يدرس علماء الفلك الكون القريب باستخدام مصفوفة أتاكاما الكبيرة المليمترية

نطاق (ALMA) قد أكمل للتو أكبردراسة "وقود" تشكل النجوم في عناقيد المجرات. لكن الأهم من ذلك ، أن هذا العمل يحل لغزًا قديمًا في الفيزياء الفلكية: ما الذي يقتل المجرات بالضبط ويمنع النجوم الجديدة من أن تولد فيها؟ اتضح أنهم يفقدون الغاز ، وهو أمر ضروري لهذه العملية ، عندما يندفعون عبر البلازما الساخنة الغنية ببيئة المجرات.

درس العلماء في عملهم كتلة العذراء -عنقود يحتوي على 1300 إلى 2000 مجرة. أولى علماء الفلك اهتمامًا خاصًا ببيئة الكتلة ، لا سيما وجود أول أكسيد الكربون فيها في إطار مشروع VERTICO.

"نحن نعلم أن المجرات تموت بسببهاقال توبي براون ، زميل أبحاث في المجلس القومي للبحوث في كندا والمؤلف الرئيسي للمقال: "البيئة ، ونريد أن نعرف السبب". "يساعدنا VERTICO على فهم ماهية العمليات الفيزيائية التي تؤثر على الغاز الجزيئي وكيف تحدد حياة وموت المجرة."

في هذه الصورة المركبة ، موجات الراديويتم تكبير ملاحظات ALMA للأقراص الغازية الجزيئية لمجرات VERTICO بعامل 20. يتم تركيبها على صورة بالأشعة السينية للبلازما الساخنة في برج العذراء. الائتمان: ALMA (ESO / NAOJ / NRAO) / S. Dagnello (NRAO) / Böhringer et al.

المجرات هي مجموعات كبيرة من النجوم ، ومجموعاتهمتعتمد الولادة والتطور والموت على مكان وجودهم في الكون وكيفية تفاعلهم مع البيئة. تمثل مجموعات المجرات بعضًا من أكثر البيئات تطرفًا في الكون ، مما يجعلها ذات أهمية خاصة للعلماء الذين يدرسون تطور الأنظمة النجمية.

كجزء من مشروع VERTICO ، لاحظ العلماء 51المجرة في كتلة العذراء بدقة عالية. لقد وجدوا بيئة قاسية وغير مضيافة لدرجة أنها يمكن أن تمنع مجرات بأكملها من تكوين النجوم في هذه العملية. "مجموعة برج العذراء هي المنطقة الأكثر تطرفاً في الكون المحلي ، مليئة بالبلازما بمليون درجة. تتحرك المجرات بسرعة كبيرة ، وتتفاعل بعنف مع بعضها البعض ومع البيئة ، وتشكل مقبرة حقيقية في الكتلة ، "يشرح مؤلف الدراسة. يختفي الغاز من المجرات أثناء تحركها عبر البلازما الساخنة. الأهم من ذلك كله ، يبدو أن شخصًا ما كانسها بمكنسة كبيرة.

قراءة المزيد

تم العثور على "ثقب أسود" ضخم في وسط المحيط الهادئ. الشبكة تتساءل ما هي

اكتشف الغواصون كنوز "جزيرة الذهب" الأسطورية. القطع الأثرية تكلف ملايين الدولارات

حل الذكاء الاصطناعي مشكلة بيولوجية ظل العلماء يكافحون لمدة 50 عامًا

Astronomers have found out what prevents the birth of new stars in galaxies and kills them

Astronomers studying the nearby universe using the Atacama Large Millimeter Array

range (ALMA), have just completed the largeststudy of star-forming "fuel" in galaxy clusters. But more importantly, this work solves a long-standing mystery in astrophysics: what exactly is killing galaxies and preventing new stars from being born in them? It turns out that they lose gas, which is necessary for this process, when they rush through the hot plasma, which is rich in the environment of galaxies.

In their work, scientists studied the Virgo cluster -a cluster containing from 1,300 to 2,000 galaxies. Astronomers have paid special attention to the environment of the cluster, namely the presence of carbon monoxide in it in the framework of the VERTICO project.

“We know that galaxies are dying because of theirenvironment, and we want to know why, ”said Toby Brown, Research Fellow at the National Research Council of Canada and lead author of the article. "VERTICO helps us understand what physical processes affect molecular gas and how they determine the life and death of a galaxy."

In this composite image, the radio wavesALMA's observations of the molecular gas disks of VERTICO galaxies are magnified 20 times. They are superimposed on an X-ray image of a hot plasma in the Virgo cluster. Credit: ALMA (ESO / NAOJ / NRAO) / S. Dagnello (NRAO) / Böhringer et al.

Galaxies are large clusters of stars, and theirbirth, evolution and death depend on where they are in the universe and how they interact with the environment. Clusters of galaxies represent some of the most extreme environments in the universe, making them especially interesting for scientists studying the evolution of stellar systems.

Within the VERTICO project, scientists observed 51galaxy in the Virgo cluster in high resolution. They found an environment so extreme and inhospitable that it could prevent entire galaxies from forming stars in the process. “The Virgo Cluster is the most extreme region of the local Universe, filled with plasma with a temperature of a million degrees. Galaxies move with great speed, interacting violently with each other and the environment, forming a real cemetery in the cluster, ”explains the author of the study. - Gas disappears from galaxies as they move through hot plasma. Most of all, it looks like someone sweeps it out with a huge space broom. "

Read more

A huge "black hole" was found in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The network is wondering what it is

Divers have found the treasures of the legendary "Island of Gold". Artifacts cost millions of dollars

AI solved a biological problem that scientists have been battling for 50 years