سمع علماء الأحياء كيف تموت البكتيريا على أسطوانة الجرافين

في البداية ، درس الخبراء الآليات الأساسية للجرافين ، لكنهم تساءلوا في مرحلة ما عما سيحدث ،

إذا كانت هذه مادة حساسة للغايةسوف تتلامس مع جسم بيولوجي واحد. الجرافين هو شكل من أشكال الكربون يتكون من طبقة واحدة من الذرات. إنه قوي جدًا ، وله خصائص كهربائية وميكانيكية جيدة ، ولكنه في نفس الوقت حساس جدًا للقوى الخارجية.

التعاون مع مجموعة من علماء الميكانيكا النانويةلاحظ حركة بكتيريا Escherichia coli. "عندما تلتصق بكتيريا واحدة بسطح أسطوانة الجرافين ، فإنها تولد اهتزازات عشوائية بسعة لا تتعدى بضعة نانومترات. يمكن العثور عليها. يقول العلماء "يمكننا سماع صوت بكتيريا واحدة".

هذه التقلبات ناتجة عنالعمليات البيولوجية للبكتيريا وحركة سوطها (ذيول التي تدفع البكتيريا). "تأثير الأسواط على الجرافين هو 10 مليارات مرة على الأقل أصغر من تأثير الملاكم على كيس اللكم. ومع ذلك ، يمكن تحويل هذه النغمات النانوية إلى مسارات صوتية والاستماع إليها "، يشرح العلماء.

هذا البحث له أهمية كبيرة لالكشف عن مقاومة المضادات الحيوية. كانت نتائج التجربة واضحة: إذا كانت البكتيريا مقاومة للمضاد الحيوي ، فإن التقلبات استمرت ببساطة على نفس المستوى ، حتى بعد التعرض للعقاقير. لكن تقلبات أولئك الذين لم تُلاحظ مقاومة عندهم تناقصت أولاً ثم اختفت تمامًا. بهذه الطريقة ، يمكن للعلماء "سماع" كيف "تموت" البكتيريا.

قراءة المزيد:

عالم فيزيائي بيلاروسي يعمل على الإنترنت الكمومي: هذه هي الخطوة الأولى نحو النقل الآني

انهار أحد أكبر الجروف الجليدية بسبب تدفق المياه

هل النموذج القياسي للفيزياء لم يعد مناسبًا؟ الشيء الرئيسي حول العمل الجديد للعلماء في المصادم

Biologists “overheard” how bacteria die on a graphene drum

Initially, experts studied the basic mechanics of graphene, but at some point they wondered what would happen,

if this extremely sensitive materialwill come into contact with one biological object. Graphene is a form of carbon made up of a single layer of atoms. It is very robust, with good electrical and mechanical properties, but at the same time very sensitive to external forces.

Collaborating with a group of nanomechanics, scientistsobserved the movement of Escherichia coli bacteria. “When a single bacterium sticks to the surface of a graphene drum, it generates random vibrations with an amplitude of only a few nanometers. They can be found. We could hear the sound of a single bacterium,” the scientists say.

Such fluctuations result frombiological processes of bacteria and the movement of their flagella (tails that push bacteria). “These flagella impacts on graphene are at least 10 billion times smaller than a boxer's impact on a punching bag. However, these nanoscale beats can be converted into audio tracks and listened to, ”the scientists explain.

This research is of great importance fordetection of antibiotic resistance. The results of the experiment were unequivocal: if the bacteria were resistant to the antibiotic, the fluctuations simply continued at the same level, even after exposure to the drugs. But the fluctuations of those in whom resistance was not observed first decreased and then completely disappeared. In this way, scientists could "hear" how the bacteria "die".

Read more:

Belarusian physicist working on quantum internet: this is the first step towards teleportation

One of the largest ice shelves collapsed due to water flows

Is the standard model of physics no longer relevant? The main thing about the new work of scientists at the collider