How to share files and documents between users on the same Mac

If you have a Mac at home, then you probably share it with your family. In order not to get confused in the data, each

can create your account.

In this case, someone may want to share some files with other users. This can be done using the Shared, Public, and Drop Box folders that are available to everyone.

In this article we will tell you how all three folders differ from each other, and teach you how to share files and documents between users.

How to share files between users of one Mac

Each macOS device has a folder Sharedwhich is available to all Mac users. This folder is the easiest and fastest way to share files between users.

To use the folder, open Finder and go to Macintosh HD > Users > Shared. If other users have already placed the files there, then you will see them. You can also insert or drag your files there.

Files in the Shared folder can be viewed by all users, but only the person who added them can edit and delete them.

To change the file, the user will have to save it to his account, and then re-place it in the folder.

Shared folder features:

  • Convenient for sharing files between users.
  • All users have access to it.
  • All users can add files to the folder.
  • Edit files can only be the one who added them.

How to add files to the Public folder

Each macOS device has another folder Publicwith which you can also share files. It is very similar to the Shared folder, but only you can put files in it. And other users can put files in their Public folders.

To find the folder, open Finder and go to Macintosh HD > Users > [username]> Public. You can insert and drag files into it, which then other users will see.

Other users will be able to open these files, but not edit or delete them. Only the owner of the folder can do this.

To find the Public folder of other users, open Finder and go to Macintosh HD > Users > [other_user_name]> Public. Foreign files can be copied to yourself.

Public folder features:

  • Convenient to share your files with other users.
  • Files can be added only by you.
  • Only you can edit and delete files.
  • All users see files.
  • All users can copy files to themselves.

How to transfer files to a specific user

The last way to share files is through Drop Box.

Imagine Drop Box is a mailbox. Just drag and drop the file into the user's Drop Box, and he will receive it. However, when the file is transferred, you can no longer access it. You will also not see other files that are in this user's Drop Box.

To find the user's Drop Box, open Finder and go to Macintosh HD > Users > [other_user_name]> Public. In this folder you will find the Drop Box user.

To log into your Drop Box, go to Macintosh HD > Users > [username]> Public > Drop Box.

Drop Box Features:

  • You can add files to another user's Drop Box.
  • You will not be able to view files after uploading them to Drop Box.
  • You cannot view the contents of another user's Drop Box.
  • Other users can add files to your Drop Box.
  • Others cannot access your Drop Box.
  • You can edit and delete files in your Drop Box.