الحمض النووي البشري: لماذا خلق علم الوراثة أول جينوم توليفه في العالم؟

منذ تسع سنوات ، أعلن علماء أمريكيون بقيادة عالم الوراثة كريج فينتر أنهم ابتكروا الأول

العالم كائن حي مع توليفها بالكاملالجينوم هو بكتيريا Mycoplasma mycoides ، وهو العامل المسبب لأمراض الرئة في الماشية والماعز المنزلي. ثم أعلن فنتر عن البداية الوشيكة لعصر جديد ستفيد فيه الكائنات البشرية البشرية - على سبيل المثال ، تساعد في إنتاج وقود حيوي أكثر كفاءة وتمتص ثاني أكسيد الكربون بشكل أفضل من الجو.

ومع ذلك ، بعد بضع سنوات ، أدرك العلماء ذلكلم يتم تغيير الجينوم البكتيري بشكل جذري. على الرغم من ذلك ، فإن عمل العلماء يمثل بداية لاتجاه جديد في علم الوراثة ، والذي يشارك في إنشاء الكائنات الحية مع الحمض النووي تحريرها بالكامل.

E. coli E. coli

علماء منمشروع GP-write - لقد تمكنوا بالفعل من إنشاء نسخ اصطناعية من 2 من 16 كروموسومات تشكل الجينوم لسلالة خميرة الخباز. لكن الحمض النووي لـ Mycoplasma mycoides لا يحتوي إلا على 1.08 مليون زوج قاعدي ، وكروموسومات الخميرة أقل من مليون.كولاي ، والذي به علم الوراثة من مختبر البيولوجيا الجزيئية التابع لمجلس البحوث الطبية بإنجلترا في كامبريدج ، لديه 4 ملايين قاعدة.

الباحثون بقيادة الطبيب جاسون الذقنحطم هذه 4 ملايين قواعد من الإشريكية القولونية إلى 37 شظايا وتوليفها. تشبه العينة الناتجة نظيراتها الطبيعية ، ولكنها تظل قائمة بسبب مجموعة أصغر من الأدوات الوراثية.

ما هو الحمض النووي ولماذا توليفه

بادئ ذي بدء ، من الضروري فهم ماهية الحمض النووي. هذا هو حمض الديوكسي ريبونوكلييك ، وهو المادة الوراثية للإنسان وجميع الكائنات الحية.

تقريبا كل خلية في جسم الإنسان لديها واحدة ونفس الحمض النووي. معظم حمض الديوكسي ريبونوكلييك موجود في نواة الخلية (يُسمى الحمض النووي النووي) ، ولكنه موجود بكمية صغيرة في الميتوكوندريا.

يتم تخزين المعلومات في الحمض النووي كرمز يتكونمن القواعد الكيميائية الأربعة: الأدينين (A) ، الجوانين (G) ، السيتوزين (C) ، والثيمين (T). يتكون الجينوم البشري من حوالي 3 مليارات قاعدة ، وأكثر من 99 ٪ من هذه القواعد هي نفسها لجميع الناس. يحدد ترتيبها وتسلسلها كيفية بناء الجسم وصيانته - تمامًا مثلما يتم بناء الحروف الأبجدية بترتيب معين ، حيث تشكل الكلمات والجمل.

قواعد الحمض النووي تتزاوج مع بعضها البعض -على سبيل المثال ، A مع T و C مع G لتشكيل وحدات تسمى أزواج القاعدة. ترتبط كل قاعدة أيضًا بجزيء السكر وجزيء الفوسفات. معا القاعدة ، والسكر والفوسفات وتسمى النيوكليوتيدات.

توجد النيوكليوتيدات في شكل شقين طويلين يشكّلان اللولب المزدوج - في هذا الشكل ، نحن معتادون على تخيل الحمض النووي.

DNA

يذكرنا هيكل اللولب المزدوج إلى حد ما بالسلم: تشكل الأزواج القاعدية خطوات ، وتشكل جزيئات السكر والفوسفات أجزاء جانبية رأسية.

الحمض النووي مطوية في خلية تحتوي على تعليماتضروري لعملها. على سبيل المثال ، عندما تحتاج الخلية إلى مزيد من البروتين لتنمو ، فإنها تقرأ الحمض النووي الذي يشفر البروتين المطلوب. تسمى هذه المركبات الكودونات وتتم كتابتها بثلاثة أحرف - على سبيل المثال ، TCG و TCA.

تقريبا جميع أشكال الحياة ، من قناديل البحر إلى البشر ،استخدام 64 الرموز. لكن الكثير منهم يقومون بنفس الوظيفة أو يكررون وظائفهم. يشتمل إجمالي 61 كودًا على 20 من الأحماض الأمينية التي تحدث بشكل طبيعي والتي يمكن ربطها معًا ، مثل الخرز على السلسلة ، لإنشاء أي بروتين في الطبيعة. ثلاثة رموز أخرى هي نوع من المانع - يخبرون الخلية عندما يكون البروتين جاهزًا ، ويجب أن يتوقف عن توليده.

تستخدم الكودونات لتحديد الأحماض الأمينية ،جزء من البروتينات التي ينتجونها. يعرف TCA ، على سبيل المثال ، سيرين ، وهو ما يعني "استخراج هذا الحمض الأميني من مرق الخلية وإرفاقه بالبروتين الذي تنتجه الخلية". AAG يعرف ليسين. TAA يعني إيقاف إضافة الأحماض الأمينية إلى البروتين المتنامي. ولكن AGT يعني أيضًا سيرين ، مثل AGC و TCT و TCC و TCG. إذا كانت الطبيعة فعالة ، فستستخدم 20 كودًا لـ 20 من الأحماض الأمينية ، بالإضافة إلى واحد من أجل "التوقف".

حاول الباحثون إنشاء مثل هذا الكائن الحي الأمثل.

ماذا فعلت بالضبط علم الوراثة

درس مجموعة من العلماء من كامبريدج الجامعةالشفرة الوراثية ل E. القولونية سلالة وتحليل وظائف جميع الرموز. بعد ذلك ، استبدل باحثو كودون سيرين الـ TCG بـ AGC ، وكل TCA (سيرين أيضًا) بـ AGT وكل TAG (كودون توقف) بـ TAA.

في المجموع ، ساهموا في الحمض النووي لل E. coli 18 214 edits - كان الجينوم الناتج أكبر كتلة DNA التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة الانصهار الصناعي. على الورق ، يبدو تسجيل الجينوم المحرر وكأن الباحثين قرروا استبدال كلمة شائعة جدًا في نسخة رقمية من رواية الحرب والسلام.

ومع ذلك ، كان العمل الأكثر صعوبة لجمعنسخة كيميائية من الجينوم المعاد كتابته وتبادلها مع الكائنات الحية الأصلية. استغرق هذا العمل العلماء حوالي عامين: عندما استبدلت كل قطعة تركيبية الكود الأصلي ، لاحظ الباحثون ما إذا كانت البكتيريا ستعمل أم تموت.

"هناك العديد من الطرق الممكنة لتحويل الشفرةالجينوم ، لكن الكثير منهم يمثل مشكلة: الخلية تموت. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تنتج الترميزات المترادفة المفترضة كميات مختلفة من البروتين ، وأحيانًا بروتينات ذات خصائص غير متوقعة تقتل الخلية. "

جيسون شين ، المؤلف الرئيسي

اكتشف الباحثون مخطط إعادة ترميزالذي سمح باستبدال الكود الأصلي برمز اصطناعي والحفاظ على الإشريكية القولونية على قيد الحياة ، على الرغم من استخدام 59 رمزًا بدلاً من 61 لتوليد الأحماض الأمينية واثنين من الكودونات بدلاً من 3 ، لوقف هذه العملية.

وهكذا ، كان العلماء قادرين على تقليل العددالكودونات من 64 إلى 61. هذا رقم قياسي جديد - حتى الآن تمكن علماء الوراثة من تكوين بكتيريا Escherichia coli ، التي يمكن أن تعيش مع 63 رمز فقط بدلاً من 64.

ماذا سوف يؤدي إلى

الغرض الرئيسي من إنشاء جينوم معدّل -القدرة على إعطاء الكودونات القدرة على توليد واحد من مئات الأحماض الأمينية ، بالإضافة إلى 20 ، التي وضعتها الطبيعة. هذا سيجعل من الممكن توليف إنزيمات جديدة وبروتينات أخرى.

"لقد أعطتنا الطبيعة مجموعة محدودة من الإنزيمات ،الذين تعلمنا استخدامهم لأداء مهام معقدة ، بدءاً من إنتاج الجبن وعصير الفاكهة ، إلى تصنيع الوقود الحيوي واكتشاف العلامات في الاختبارات البيولوجية. وقال ستات إليس ، خبير في البيولوجيا التركيبية في جامعة إمبريال كوليدج في لندن: "يمكننا أن نفعل كل هذا بمجموعة من 20 من الأحماض الأمينية - تخيل ما هي الفرص التي يمكن أن نحصل عليها من استخدام 22 من الأحماض الأمينية".

من بين هذه الفرص هو خلق جديدالغذاء ، وظهور فرص جديدة للصناعة ، والأهم من ذلك ، إنشاء البكتيريا المقاومة للفيروسات. سيسمح ذلك للصيادلة بتكوين أدوية تتعامل بشكل أكثر فاعلية مع الفيروسات والبكتيريا.

هل اكتشف العلماء هذه الفرص؟ لا. لكن ذلك جعل من الممكن المضي قدمًا في محاولة لإنشاء جينوم اصطناعي بالكامل لكائن حي بوظائف مختلفة عن الوظائف الأصلية.

"لقد رفعوا مجال الجينوميات الاصطناعيةواختتمت أليس في مقابلة مع صحيفة الجارديان The Guardian أن المستوى الجديد ، ليس فقط بنجاح أكبر مجموعة من الجينوم الاصطناعي التي تم إنشاؤها على الإطلاق ، ولكن أيضًا في إجراء أكبر التغييرات عليها.

Human DNA: Why did genetics create the first synthesized genome in the world?

Nine years ago, American scientists led by geneticist Craig Venter announced that they created the first

the world a living organism with a fully synthesizedthe genome is the bacterium Mycoplasma mycoides, which is the causative agent of lung diseases in cattle and domestic goats. Venter then announced the imminent start of a new era in which organisms would benefit mankind — for example, help produce more efficient biofuels and better suck carbon dioxide from the atmosphere.

However, a few years later, scientists recognized thatthe bacterial genome was not really radically altered. Despite this, the work of scientists marked the beginning of a new direction in genetics, which is engaged in the creation of organisms with fully edited DNA.

E. coli E. coli

Scientists from thethe GP-write project - they have already managed to create artificial copies of 2 of the 16 chromosomes that make up the genome of one baker's yeast strain. But the DNA of Mycoplasma mycoides includes only 1.08 million base pairs, and the yeast chromosomes are less than 1 million. E. coli, with which genetics from the Laboratory of Molecular Biology of the Medical Research Council of England in Cambridge worked, contains 4 million bases.

Researchers led by doctor jason chinsmashed these 4 million bases of Escherichia coli into 37 fragments and synthesized them. The resulting sample is similar to its natural counterparts, but survives due to a smaller set of genetic tools.

What is DNA and why to synthesize it

First of all, it is necessary to understand what DNA is. This is deoxyribonucleic acid, which is the hereditary material of man and all living organisms.

Almost every cell in the human body has one andthe same DNA. Most of the deoxyribonucleic acid is in the cell nucleus (it is called nuclear DNA), but it is present in a small amount in the mitochondria.

Information in DNA is stored as a code consistingOf the four chemical bases: adenine (A), guanine (G), cytosine (C) and thymine (T). The human genome consists of about 3 billion bases, and more than 99% of these bases are the same for all people. Their order and sequence determines how the body is built and maintained - just as the letters of the alphabet are built in a certain order, forming words and sentences.

DNA bases mate with each other -for example, A with T and C with G to form units called base pairs. Each base is also attached to a sugar molecule and a phosphate molecule. Together the base, sugar and phosphate are called a nucleotide.

Nucleotides are located in the form of two long strands that form a double helix - in this form we are used to imagining DNA.

DNA

The structure of the double helix is ​​somewhat reminiscent of a ladder: base pairs form steps, and sugar and phosphate molecules form vertical side portions.

DNA folded into a cell contains instructionsnecessary for its functioning. For example, when a cell needs more protein to grow, it reads the DNA that encodes the desired protein. Such compounds are called codons and are written in three letters — for example, TCG and TCA.

Almost all forms of life, from jellyfish to humans,use 64 codons. But many of them do the same job or repeat their functions. A total of 61 codons form 20 naturally occurring amino acids that can be linked together, like beads on a string, to create any protein in nature. Three more codons are a kind of inhibitor - they tell the cell when the protein is ready, and it needs to stop generating it.

Codons are used to identify amino acids,part of the proteins they produce. TCA, for example, defines serine, which means "extract this amino acid from cell broth and attach it to the protein that the cell produces." AAG defines lysine. TAA means stopping the addition of amino acids to a growing protein. But AGT also means serine, like AGC, TCT, TCC and TCG. If nature were effective, it would use 20 codons for 20 amino acids, plus one for “stopping”.

The researchers tried to create such an optimized organism.

What exactly did genetics do

A group of scientists from Cambridge studied the wholegenetic code of E. coli strain and analyzed the functions of all codons. After that, the researchers of the serine codon replaced the TCG with AGC, each TCA (also serine) with AGT and each TAG (stop codon) with TAA.

In total, they contributed to the DNA of E. coli 18 214 edits - the resulting genome was the largest DNA block ever created by artificial fusion. On paper, the recording of the edited genome looks like the researchers decided to replace one very common word in a digital copy of the novel War and Peace.

However, the most difficult work was to collectchemical copy of the rewritten genome and exchange it for the original inside living organisms. This work took scientists about two years: when each synthetic fragment replaced the original code, the researchers observed whether the bacteria would function or die.

"There are many possible ways to transcodegenome, but many of them are problematic: the cell dies. For example, supposedly synonymous codons can produce different amounts of protein, and sometimes proteins with unexpected characteristics that kill a cell. "

Jason Chin, lead author

Researchers have discovered a recoding schemewhich allowed replacing the original code with an artificial one and keeping E. coli alive, despite using 59 codons instead of 61 for generating amino acids and two, rather than 3 codons, to stop this process.

Thus, scientists were able to reduce the numbercodons from 64 to 61. This is a new record - until now geneticists managed to create the bacterium Escherichia coli, which could survive with only 63 codons instead of 64.

Where it leads

The main purpose of creating an edited genome -the ability to give codons the ability to generate one of the hundreds of amino acids, in addition to 20, laid down by nature. This will make it possible to synthesize new enzymes and other proteins.

"Nature has given us a limited set of enzymes,whose properties we have learned to use for performing complex tasks, ranging from the production of cheese and fruit juice, to the manufacture of biofuels and the detection of markers in biological tests. We can do all this with a set of 20 amino acids - imagine what opportunities we can get from using 22 or more amino acids, ”said Stat Ellis, an expert in synthetic biology at Imperial College London.

Among these opportunities is the creation of newfood, the emergence of new opportunities for industry, and, most importantly, the creation of bacteria resistant to viruses. This will allow pharmacists to create drugs that will more effectively deal with viruses and bacteria.

Did the discovery of scientists these opportunities? Not. But it made it possible to go far ahead in an attempt to create a fully synthetic genome of a living organism with functions different from the original ones.

"They raised the field of synthetic genomics onthe new level, not only successfully collecting the largest synthetic genome ever created, but also making the greatest changes to it, ”Alice concluded in an interview with The Guardian.