في الولايات المتحدة ، ستنشئ مركزًا للبحث عن معلومات المخابرات الخارجية. سيتم إنفاق 110 ملايين دولار على التعلم والبحث

تخطط جامعة بنسلفانيا أن يكون لمركز المخابرات طاقم أساتذة خاص به وخريجون

البرامج التعليمية سوف تتلقى درجات ذلكسيتم نقل في العالم. أعرب المجتمع الفلكي عن موافقته على إنشاء المركز وأشار إلى أن هذا سيوفر الدعم الذي تمس الحاجة إليه في الانضباط الذي عانى طويلا من الإهمال.

"لا يوجد في الواقع أي نظام بيئي أكاديمييقول جاسون رايت ، عالم الفلك في بنسلفانيا ، الذي سيكون رئيسًا لمركز الاستخبارات "هذه المنطقة ككل". "لا يمكنك العمل على إيجاد ذكاء خارج كوكب الأرض إذا لم تتمكن من توظيف الطلاب والعاملين في مجال البحث".

كان الدعم المالي لأبحاث الاستخبارات خارج كوكب الأرض غير كافٍ منذ عام 1993 ، عندما منع الكونغرس الأمريكي وكالة ناسا من تمويله.

وفقا لرايت ، اختصار الفيدراليةكان للتمويل تأثير سلبي طويل المدى على الأبحاث في البحث عن معلومات المخابرات الخارجية. تمكن من العثور على خمسة أشخاص فقط في الولايات المتحدة حاصلين على درجة الدكتوراه في البحوث المتعلقة بهذا المجال.

"يتطلب الأمر نوعًا خاصًا من الشخص للقيام بهيقول رايت: "حقل العلوم غير ممول ولديه فرص عمل قليلة". وقد شارك الفلكي نفسه حتى الآن في البحث عن البحث عن ذكاء خارج كوكب الأرض كهواية ، باعتباره جانباً من عمله الرئيسي ، وهو أبحاث خارج المجموعة الشمسية.

أندرو سيمون ، مدير مركز البحوثللبحث عن ذكاء خارج كوكب الأرض في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، ترحب بجهود ولاية بنسلفانيا. يقول سيمون ، أحد طلاب الدكتوراه الخمسة المذكورين أعلاه الذين لم يفكروا مطلقًا في أنهم قد يصنعون مهنة في هذا المجال: "إن وجود بحث حول العثور على ذكاء خارج الأرض في البرنامج التعليمي يعطي علامة على الموافقة في هذا المجال ، وهو أمر مهم للغاية".

In the United States will create a search center for extraterrestrial intelligence. $ 110 million will be spent on student learning and research

The University of Pennsylvania plans that the Intelligence Center will have its own professorial staff, and graduates

educational programs will receive degrees thatwill be quoted in the world. The astronomical community expressed appreciation for the creation of the Center and noted that this would provide much-needed support for a discipline that had long suffered from neglect.

“There is really no academic ecosystem forof this area as a whole, ”states astronomer from Pennsylvania Jason Wright, who will be the head of the Intelligence Center. “You cannot work on finding extraterrestrial intelligence if you cannot hire students and research workers.”

Financial support for extraterrestrial intelligence research has been inadequate since 1993, when the US Congress banned NASA from financing it.

According to Wright, the abbreviation of the federalfunding has had a long-term negative impact on research in the search for extraterrestrial intelligence. He was able to find only five people in the US with a doctoral degree in research related to this field.

"It takes a special type of person to doan area of ​​science that is not funded and has few job opportunities, ”says Wright. The astronomer himself has so far been engaged in research on the search for extraterrestrial intelligence as a hobby, as a sideline of his main work - the study of exoplanets.

Andrew Simon, director of the research centersearching for extraterrestrial intelligence at the University of California at Berkeley, welcomes the efforts of the state of Pennsylvania. “The presence of research on finding extraterrestrial intelligence in an educational program gives a sign of approval in this area, which is very important,” says Simon, one of the five above-mentioned PhDs who never thought they could make a career in this area.