على المريخ ، اكتشفت أنهار جليدية تحت الأرض يمكنها أن تشكل محيطًا عالميًا على الكوكب

أجرى الدراسة ستيفانو نيروزي ، طالب دراسات عليا بجامعة تكساس بجامعة أوستن

الجيوفيزياء (UTIG) ، وجاك هولت من القمر ومختبر الكواكب بجامعة أريزونا (LPL). في دراستهم ، استخدم العلماء البيانات التي تم جمعها بواسطة جهاز Shallow Radar (SHARAD) المركب على متن القمر الصناعي استطلاع المريخ. ويستخدم الرادار للكشف عن هيكل الطبقات تحت سطح سطح المريخ - على عمق 2.4 كم.

لقد وجد العلماء أن حوالي 1.6 كم تحتيحتوي القطب الشمالي للمريخ على عدة طبقات من الرمال والجليد. في بعض الأماكن ، تشكل هذه الطبقات 90٪ من المياه ، وتعتبر من بقايا الألواح الجليدية القطبية القديمة. في حالة ذوبان الجليد ، هم الذين سيخلقون محيطًا عالميًا بعمق لا يقل عن 1.5 متر ، كما أوضح نيروزي ، فإن هذا الاكتشاف كان مذهلاً للغاية.

وقال "لم نتوقع العثور على الكثير من جليد الماء هنا". "ربما يجعلها ثالث أكبر خزان على سطح المريخ بعد القمم الجليدية القطبية."

أساسا ، احتياطيات الجليد تحت الأرض هي"سجلات" التغيرات المناخية الماضية. قد يكشف تحليلهم عن بعض الأشياء المهمة جدًا حول تاريخ الكوكب. يمكن أن تساعد هندسة وتكوين هذه الطبقات العلماء على تحديد ما إذا كان مناخ المريخ مناسبًا للحياة.

بالنسبة لكيفية وصول كل هذه المياه إلى هناك ،يشير مؤلفو الدراسة إلى أن الأنهار الجليدية تشكلت في الفترات الماضية من الاحترار والتبريد على المريخ. لقد عرف العلماء منذ فترة طويلة أن الظواهر الجليدية تحدث على سطح المريخ ، بسبب التغيرات في مدار وميل الكوكب (مثل الأرض كثيرًا).

لحوالي 50 ألف سنوات يميل المريخ نحو الشمس ، ثم يعود تدريجياً إلى وضع رأسي. عندما يكون المريخ أكثر عموديًا ، ترتفع حرارة المنطقة الاستوائية ، بينما تبرد المنطقة القطبية الشمالية ، مما يتسبب في تقدم القمم الجليدية. عندما يميل الكوكب نحو الشمس ، ترتفع حرارة المنطقة القطبية ، مسببة ذوبان القمم الجليدية.

في هذا الوقت كانت بقايا الغطاء الجليدي مغطاة بالرمال ، والتي كانت تحميهم تاريخيا من التعرض لأشعة الشمس والتشتت في الغلاف الجوي.

On Mars, discovered underground glaciers that can form the global ocean on the planet

The study was conducted by Stefano Nerozzi, a graduate student at the University of Texas at the University of Austin

Geophysics (UTIG), and Jack Holt from Lunar andUniversity of Arizona planetary laboratory (LPL). In their study, the scientists used data collected by the Shallow Radar (SHARAD) device installed onboard the Martian reconnaissance satellite. It uses radar to detect the structure of the underground layers of the surface of Mars - at a depth of 2.4 km.

Scientists have found that about 1.6 km underThe north pole of Mars has several layers of sand and ice. In some places, these layers are 90% water, they are considered to be remnants of ancient polar ice sheets. In the case of thawing, it is they who will create a global ocean with a depth of at least 1.5 m. As Nerozzi explained, this finding was quite amazing.

“We didn’t expect to find so much water ice here,” he said. “It probably makes it the third largest reservoir on Mars after polar ice caps.”

Essentially, underground ice reserves are“Records” of past climate changes. Their analysis may reveal some very interesting things about the history of the planet. The geometry and composition of these layers can help scientists determine if the Martian climate was ever favorable for life.

As for how all this water got there,The authors of the study suggest that glaciers formed in past periods of warming and cooling on Mars. Scientists have long known that glacial phenomena occur on Mars, caused by changes in the orbit and inclination of the planet (much like Earth).

For about 50 thousand Years Mars leans towards the Sun, and then gradually returns to a vertical position. When Mars is more vertically, the equatorial region heats up, while the north polar region cools, causing the ice caps to advance. When the planet leans toward the Sun, the polar region heats up, causing the ice caps to melt.

It was at this time that the remnants of the ice caps are covered with sand, which historically protected them from sun exposure and dispersion into the atmosphere.