يمكن أن يصيب فيروس كورونا البنغول البشر

على الرغم من أنه يُعتقد أن SARS-CoV-2 قد تطور من فيروس الخفافيش التاجي ، إلا أن مساره التطوري الدقيق لا يزال

لا يزال لغزا.يعد الكشف عن قصتها أمرًا صعبًا ، حيث من المحتمل أن يكون هناك العديد من فيروسات فيروسات الخفافيش غير المكتشفة. نظرًا للاختلافات بين فيروس الخفافيش التاجي و SARS-CoV-2 ، يُعتقد أنه يمكن أن ينتقل إلى البشر من خلال نوع واحد آخر على الأقل.

في دراسته المنشورة في مجلة Natureفي مجال الاتصالات ، قارن العلماء بين تراكيب البروتينات الشوكية الموجودة في SARS-CoV-2 ، وأكثرها تشابهًا حاليًا مع فيروس RaTG13 الخفافيش ، وفيروس كورونا معزول من البنغول الملايو الذي استولت عليه السلطات بعد تهريبها إلى الصين. اتضح أن فيروس البنغولين قادر على الارتباط بمستقبلات كل من البنغول والبشر. هذا على النقيض من فيروس كورونا الخفافيش ، الذي لا يمكن أن يرتبط بشكل فعال بمستقبلات الإنسان أو البنغول.

عن طريق التحقق مما إذا كان بروتين سبايك لفيروس معينترتبط بمستقبلات الخلايا من الأنواع المختلفة ، يمكننا أن نرى ما إذا كان الفيروس يمكن أن يصيب هذه الأنواع من الناحية النظرية. لقد أظهرنا نقطتين رئيسيتين. أولاً ، من غير المحتمل أن يصيب فيروس الخفافيش الديناصورات. وثانيًا ، يمكن أن يصيب فيروس البنغولين البشر.

أنتوني وروبل ، المؤلف الرئيسي المشارك للمقال

استخدم الفريق الفحص المجهري للالكترون المبرد لتفاصيل بنية البروتين الشائك لبانجولين الفيروسي ، المسؤول عن ربط الخلايا وإصابتها.

قراءة المزيد

انظر إلى صورة 8 تريليون بكسل للمريخ

يتم بناء محرك صاروخي نووي للرحلات الجوية إلى المريخ. كيف هي خطيرة؟

الإجهاض والعلم: ماذا سيحدث للأطفال الذين سينجبون

Pangolin coronavirus can infect humans

Although SARS-CoV-2 is believed to have evolved from the bat coronavirus, its exact evolutionary path is still

remains a mystery.Uncovering its story is challenging, as there are likely many undiscovered bat coronaviruses. Due to the differences between the bat coronavirus and SARS-CoV-2, it is believed that it could have been transmitted to humans through at least one other species.

In his study published in NatureCommunications, the scientists compared the structures of the spike proteins found in SARS-CoV-2, the most similar currently identified RaTG13 bat coronavirus, and a coronavirus isolated from Malay pangolins that were seized by authorities after they were smuggled into China. It turned out that the pangolin virus is able to bind to receptors of both pangolin and humans. This is in contrast to the bats coronavirus, which cannot effectively bind to human or pangolin receptors.

By checking if the spike protein of a given virusbind to cell receptors of different species, we can see if a virus can infect this species in theory. We have shown two key points. First, this bat virus is unlikely to infect the dinosaurs. And secondly, the pangolin virus can potentially infect humans.

Anthony Wrobel, co-lead author of the article

The team used cryoelectron microscopy to detail the structure of the spike protein of the coronavirus pangolin, which is responsible for binding and infecting cells.

Read more

Look at an 8 trillion pixel image of Mars

A nuclear rocket engine is being built for flights to Mars. How is it dangerous?

Abortion and science: what will happen to the children who will give birth