المواد الغذائية البلاستيكية: لماذا تفقد الحبوب والخضروات والفواكه بسرعة الفيتامينات والعناصر النزرة

إيجابيات وسلبيات ثاني أكسيد الكربون

ثاني أكسيد الكربون يساعد على النمو. تضاعفت الزيادة في محتوى COчет بمقدار أربعة أضعاف إلى 0.12٪

مجموع الهواء - يعزز التمثيل الضوئي فيمرتين ويضيف محصول من أربعة. رفع ما يصل إلى 0.3 ٪ - عشر مرات - يتيح لك جمع من الحقول مرة واحدة ونصف أكثر. زيادة تشبع الهواء مع ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى العائد 1 ٪ لا يزيد. ومع وجود محتوى CO₂ أعلى من 1.5-2٪ ، يبدأ المحصول في الانخفاض بشكل حاد. في هذه الحالة ، يتوقف التمثيل الضوئي ، لأن نسبة ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء هي بالفعل بحيث لا تسمح له عمومًا بمغادرة السيتوبلازم في الخلايا. تمتص أوراق النباتات في الضوء بمساعدة الكلوروفيل ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، ومعها الماء ، تعالجه إلى مادة عضوية. ولكن في حالة وجود فائض من محطات ثاني أكسيد الكربون ليست قادرة على التعامل مع الفائض. تفرز الجذور نفسها كمية كبيرة من السكريات و CO₂. السكريات التي تغذي بكتيريا جذور الفضاء. وزفير ثاني أكسيد الكربون يصل إلى 40 ٪ من مجموع التربة.

أظهرت نتائج سنوات عديدة من التجارب: مع وجود فائض من ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، تبدأ أوراق الأشجار في امتصاصه أكثر. لكن في الوقت نفسه ، لا تستخدمها الأشجار في تنميتها ، ولكنها ببساطة "تقودها من خلال نفسها" ، وتسليط الضوء عليها مرة أخرى من خلال الجذور. عندما يزيد محتوى ثاني أكسيد الكربون في التربة عن 1.5٪ ، تبدأ الجذور في الاختناق. كما اتضح ، فهي الأكسجين الزائد أكثر أهمية بكثير.

التركيب الضوئي - هي عملية تستخدمها النباتات والطحالب وبعض البكتيريا للحصول على طاقة أشعة الشمس وتحويلها إلى مواد عضوية ضرورية لنشاطها الحيوي.

هناك نوعان من عمليات التمثيل الضوئي: الأكسجين الضوئي و التمثيل الضوئي غير المؤكسد. التمثيل الضوئي غير المؤكسد عملية تحدث في البكتيريا. عندما يكون الأكسجين لا ينتج. يعد التمثيل الضوئي للأكسجين أكثر شيوعًا ويلاحظ في النباتات والطحالب والبكتيريا الزرقاء. أثناء عملية التمثيل الضوئي للأكسجين ، تقوم الطاقة الضوئية بنقل الإلكترونات من الماء (H₂O) إلى ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO₂) ، والذي يكون مصحوبًا بتكوين الكربوهيدرات. في هذه الحالة ، يتم "استعادة" نقل ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، أو يحصل على الإلكترونات ، والماء "يتأكسد" ، أو يفقد الإلكترونات. نتيجة لعملية التمثيل الضوئي ، تتشكل السكريات والأكسجين.

تتم عملية التمثيل الضوئي على مرحلتين. الأول يسمى النور ، والثاني - الظلام. تسمح لك المرحلة الضوئية من عملية التمثيل الضوئي بتحويل الطاقة الضوئية مباشرة إلى طاقة كيميائية بسبب أشعة الشمس. بعد حوالي 15 ثانية من امتصاص النبات لثاني أكسيد الكربون ، يحدث تفاعل تخليقي داكن وتظهر أول منتجات عملية التمثيل الضوئي - السكر: الثلاثي ، البنتوز ، hexoses و heptoses. من بعض hexoses ، تتشكل السكروز والنشا. بالإضافة إلى الكربوهيدرات ، يمكن أيضًا تطوير الدهون والبروتينات عن طريق الارتباط بجزيء النيتروجين.

تتدفق المرحلة الضوئية على أغشية ثايلاكويد البلاستيدات الخضراء ، وهي المرحلة المظلمة في سدى البلاستيدات الخضراء.

لكن العمليات التي لا رجعة فيها تسبببدأت بالفعل مستويات مرتفعة من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء. أظهرت دراسة نشرت في مجلة Nature في عام 2014 أن الأرز المزروع بنسبة عالية من ثاني أكسيد الكربون يحتوي على عدد أقل من العناصر الغذائية الهامة. إن العواقب الصحية المحتملة كبيرة ، بالنظر إلى أن مليارات الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم لا يحصلون على ما يكفي من البروتين والفيتامينات والمواد المغذية الأخرى من نظامهم الغذائي اليومي.

الدكتور Zisk ، فسيولوجي النبات في الوزارةأنشأت الزراعة الأمريكية وزملاؤه حقولًا تجريبية للأرز في الصين واليابان بتركيز عالٍ من ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، وهو ما توقعه العلماء في 100 عام. ركز الباحثون على الأرز ، لأن ملياري شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم لديهم مصدر رئيسي للغذاء. تحتوي أصناف الأرز الـ 18 التي تم زراعتها وحصدها ، مع استثناءات نادرة ، على نسبة أقل بكثير من البروتين والحديد والزنك مقارنة بالأرز الذي يتم زراعته اليوم. في جميع الأصناف ، كان هناك انخفاض حاد في مستوى الفيتامينات B1 و B2 و B5 و B9 ، ولكنها تحتوي على المزيد من فيتامين E.

وتشمل عملية التمثيل الضوئي في النباتاتسلسلة من المراحل وردود الفعل التي تعتمد على الطاقة الشمسية والمياه وثاني أكسيد الكربون. يُعد CO₂ مصدرًا للكربون ، حيث يدخل في عملية التمثيل الضوئي في سلسلة من التفاعلات تسمى خطوات تثبيت الكربون (تُعرف أيضًا باسم تفاعلات الطور المظلم). تتبع هذه التفاعلات مراحل تحويل الطاقة (أو تفاعلات الضوء) ، التي تحول الطاقة الشمسية إلى طاقة كيميائية في شكل جزيئات ATP و NADP ، مما يوفر الطاقة لبدء مراحل تثبيت الكربون.

ثاني أكسيد الكربون يدخل في معظم النباتات.من خلال المسام (الثغور) على سطح الأوراق أو السيقان. في عملية التمثيل الضوئي للطحالب والبكتيريا الزرقاء ، يتم امتصاص CO₂ من الماء المحيط. بمجرد دخول الخلية الضوئية ، يكون "ثاني أكسيد الكربون" ثابتًا باستخدام الجزيء العضوي باستخدام إنزيم. في العديد من أنواع النباتات ، يتم تحفيز هذا التفاعل الأولي من خلال الإنزيم Rubisco ، وهو الإنزيم الأكثر وفرة في العالم.

في سلسلة من ردود الفعل تسمى دورة كالفين ،يتم تحويل الجزيء الذي يحتوي على الكربون الناتج عن تفاعل التثبيت الأول هذا إلى مركبات مختلفة باستخدام الطاقة من ATP و NADP. تشمل منتجات دورة كالفين السكر البسيط ، الذي يتم تحويله لاحقًا إلى الكربوهيدرات - وهو الجلوكوز والسكروز والنشا. أنها بمثابة مصادر هامة للطاقة للمصنع. تقوم الدورة أيضًا بتجديد جزيئات كاشف المصدر ، والذي سيتم ربط ثاني أكسيد الكربون به في المرحلة التالية من الدورة.

تم تركيب الأنابيب في المجال التجريبي.التي تنبعث منها ثاني أكسيد الكربون في مناطق صغيرة في الهواء الطلق (بدلاً من مجرد اختبار المحاصيل في البيوت الزجاجية المغلقة) لمحاكاة الظروف في العالم الحقيقي في المستقبل. في النباتات التي تخضع لدورة كالفين ، بما في ذلك الأرز والقمح ، فإن زيادة تركيز ثاني أكسيد الكربون يمكن أن يحفز إنتاج المزيد من الكربوهيدرات التي تؤثر على المحتوى الغذائي. لكن العلماء ما زالوا يحاولون فهم السبب في أن بعض المركبات ، مثل فيتامين ب ، تعتمد على التغيرات في الهواء الجوي ، في حين أن البعض الآخر لا ، أو لماذا بعض أصناف الأرز لديها انخفاض كبير في مستويات فيتامين ب أكثر من غيرها.

incut

بعد سلسلة من الدراسات في هذا المجال ، والعلماءسوف تشارك في إنشاء أنواع المحاصيل المعدلة وراثيا التي سوف تحتفظ بمعظم قيمتها الغذائية في مواجهة زيادة تركيزات ثاني أكسيد الكربون. لكن يمكن أن يكون الأمر صعباً للغاية ، بالنظر إلى أن جميع أصناف الأرز المختبرة أظهرت انخفاضًا كبيرًا في مستويات فيتامين ب ، كما يلاحظ الدكتور زيسك.

حل آخر ممكن هو الحد من صنع الإنسانانبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون. في الوقت الحالي ، يبلغ متوسط ​​مستوى ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الجو حوالي 410 جزء في المليون (حوالي 0.04 ٪) ، مقارنة بـ 350 جزءًا في المليون في الثمانينيات. هذه الصورة هي أساسا بسبب حرق الوقود الأحفوري.

انخفاض متوسط ​​في بروتين الحبوب مع زيادةمقارنة بـ CO₂ المحيطة بـ 18 خطًا من حقول الأرز المزروعة ذات خلفية وراثية متباينة نمت في الصين واليابان باستخدام تقنية FACE.متوسط ​​الانخفاض في تركيز العناصر النزرة فيالحبوب والحديد (الحديد) والزنك (الزنك) مع زيادة CO₂ لمدة 18 خطوط الأرز المزروع من أصل وراثي المتناقضة ، نمت في الصين واليابان باستخدام تكنولوجيا FACE.

الخضروات عديمة الفائدة

الفواكه والخضروات نمت منذ عقود ، من قبلكانت تأكيدات العلماء أكثر ثراءً بالفيتامينات والمعادن من الأصناف التي نتناولها حاليًا. السبب الرئيسي لهذا الاتجاه المقلق في نظامنا الغذائي هو استنزاف التربة: لقد أدت الطرق الحديثة العدوانية لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الفوائد في الزراعة إلى انخفاض كارثي في ​​كمية المواد الغذائية في التربة. لسوء الحظ ، يصبح كل جيل تالٍ من الجزر سريعة النمو والمقاومة للآفات أقل فائدة من الجيل السابق.

دونالد ديفيس وفريقه من تكساسدرست الجامعات بيانات التغذية من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية في عامي 1950 و 1999 عن 43 خضروات وفاكهة مختلفة ، ووجدت فيها "انخفاض حقيقي" في البروتين والكالسيوم والفوسفور والحديد والريبوفلافين (فيتامين B2) وفيتامين C على مدار نصف القرن الماضي. يعزو ديفيس هذا الانخفاض في محتوى المغذيات إلى حقيقة أن الزراعة الحديثة تهدف إلى تحسين خصائص الجودة (الحجم ، معدل النمو ، مقاومة الآفات) للمحصول الناتج.

جمعية المستهلك العضويةمقارنة العديد من الدراسات بنتائج مماثلة: أظهر تحليل لبيانات المغذيات من معهد كوشا من 1975 إلى 1997 أن متوسط ​​مستوى الكالسيوم في 12 من الخضروات الطازجة انخفض بنسبة 27 ٪ ، ومستوى الحديد بنسبة 37 ٪ ، ومستوى فيتامين A بنسبة 21 ٪ ، ومستوى فيتامين C - 30 ٪. أظهرت بيانات المغذيات من 1930 إلى 1980 ، التي نشرت في مجلة British Food Journal ، أنه في 20 خضروات انخفض متوسط ​​محتوى الكالسيوم خلال هذا الوقت بنسبة 19 ٪ ، والحديد بنسبة 22 ٪ والبوتاسيوم بنسبة 14 ٪. اتضح أن الأشخاص المعاصرين يحتاجون إلى تناول ثماني برتقال يوميًا للحصول على نفس كمية الفيتامينات A و C ، والتي سيحصل عليها أجدادنا من فاكهة واحدة فقط.

النحل المهددة بالانقراض

العلماء يشعرون بالقلق أيضا من انخفاض فيالملقحات. حوالي 74 ٪ من جميع الدهون المنتجة عالميا موجودة في الزيوت النباتية التي تعتمد على التلقيح الحشرات. هذه النباتات أيضا بمثابة المصادر الرئيسية للفيتامينات قابلة للذوبان في الدهون. من الفيتامينات القابلة للذوبان في الماء ، يتم الحصول على 98 ٪ من فيتامين C من النباتات الملقحة والفواكه الحمضية وغيرها من الفواكه والخضروات. على الرغم من أن الإسقربوط الناجم عن نقص C نادرًا ما يُرى الآن ، إلا أن دوره المهم ، إلى جانب E وبيتا كاروتين ، لا يتضاءل بأي شكل من الأشكال في الواقع المعاصر. الفيتامينات B القابلة للذوبان في الماء غنية بالحبوب النشوية التي تتكاثر بشكل مستقل عن نقص الملقحات. ومع ذلك ، تضيع معظم هذه العناصر الغذائية عندما تتم معالجة الحبوب الكاملة ، على سبيل المثال ، في الأرز الأبيض أو الدقيق الأبيض. بينما قامت الولايات المتحدة بتصحيح هذا النقص من خلال إرسال دقيق الحبوب الكاملة والأرز البني وغيرها من المنتجات غير المكررة إلى الرفوف ، فإن ثلثي سكان العالم لا تتاح لهم فرصة تناول الحبوب المدعمة.

منذ أوائل 2000s ، وقد أبلغ النحالين ضخمةموت نحل العسل. النحل البالغ ، كقاعدة عامة ، اختفى بدون أثر ، ولم يعد إلى خلايا النحل. جذبت هذه الحالات انتباه الجمهور ، وتراوحت شائعات عن أسباب مختلفة لهذه الظاهرة من تغير المناخ إلى إشارات مشعة من الهواتف المحمولة والمحاصيل المعدلة وراثيا.

اكتشف فريق بحثي كبير: على الرغم من اكتشاف فيروس نحل إسرائيلي مشلول في النحل ، فإنه لا يمكن أن يسبب هذا الانقراض الكارثي. عدد النحل يتناقص بسرعة في السنوات الأخيرة. تم إضافة بعضها إلى القائمة المهددة بالانقراض في عام 2017 (سبعة أنواع من نحل هاواي) وعام 2018 (Bumblebee Bombus affinis).

في كل عام ، يتناقص عدد نحل التلقيح ، وبعض الأنواع على وشك الانقراض.

الاستخدام المكثف للمبيدات المعروفةكما neonicotinoids (فئة جديدة نسبيا من المبيدات الحشرية التي تؤثر على الجهاز العصبي المركزي للحشرات ، مما يؤدي إلى الشلل والموت) ، لعبت دورا هاما في الحد من السكان النحل. عندما يتعرض النحل للنيونوتينات ، يكون له تأثير قوي على الجهاز العصبي (شيء مثل إصدار الزهايمر للحشرات) ويعاني من اضطراب شديد.

جنبا إلى جنب مع المبيدات الحشرية والطفيليات المعروفة باسمالعث Varrao هي أيضا مسؤولة عن الموت الجماعي للنحل. Varrao يمكن أن تتكاثر فقط في مستعمرة النحل. تؤثر هذه الطفيليات التي تمتص الدم على حد سواء في البالغين والشباب. يمكن أن يسبب المرض الناجم عن هذه العث فقدان النحل للأرجل أو الأجنحة ، ويموت ببطء ومؤلمة.

الحبوب الكاملة الحبوب - الطبيعية الهامةمصدر الفيتامينات ب ، وخاصة حمض الفوليك. تزداد الحاجة إلى حمض الفوليك أثناء الحمل لمنع عيوب الأنبوب العصبي للجنين. تم العثور على أكثر من 70 ٪ من فيتامين (أ) و 98 ٪ من كل من الكاروتينات والكريبتوكسانثين (بروفيتامين A) والليكوبين في الثقافات التي يتم تلقيحها بواسطة الحشرات. من غير المعروف إلى أي مدى يمكن أن تتكاثر هذه النباتات ، بما في ذلك الخضروات والفواكه الحمراء والبرتقالية والصفراء دون تلقيح ، ولكن أظهرت التجارب زيادة مباشرة في المحصول بنسبة 43 ٪ بسبب التلقيح الطبيعي. يعتبر فيتامين (أ) أحد العناصر الأساسية للجسم ، ويسبب نقصه ما يصل إلى 500 ألف حالة من حالات العمى الذي لا رجعة فيه في جميع أنحاء العالم كل عام. الوجبات الغذائية الغنية بالكاروتينات مفيدة للأشخاص المعرضين للسرطان. في الاختبارات المعملية ، أظهر اللايكوبين قدرته على التأثير على تباطؤ نمو الورم. معظم فيتامين (هـ) موجود أيضًا في النباتات التي تتطلب التلقيح.

استنزاف التربة ، تلوث الهواء وإن انقراض النحل هو فقط عواقب الموقف الأمي للإنسانية على كوكب كبير ، لكنه هش للغاية وضعيف. ترتبط ارتباطا وثيقا بين الناس والنباتات والحيوانات والأرض والهواء ، ويمكن أن تتحول كل خطوة غير مسؤولة من شخص إلى مأساة حقيقية للعالم بأسره. من المحتمل أن يكون العلماء قادرين على استعادة القيمة الغذائية للفواكه والخضروات والحبوب ، لكن هذا ليس هو الاتجاه الوحيد لتطور كوكبنا. من الضروري تخفيض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتخفيف العبء على التربة والعناية بالعالم الحيواني ، ومنع انقراض الأنواع الكاملة.

Plastic food: why cereals, vegetables and fruits rapidly lose vitamins and trace elements

Pros and cons of carbon dioxide

Carbon dioxide helps grow. The increase in the content of COчет quadrupled to 0.12% of

total air - enhances photosynthesis intwice and adds a crop of four. Lifting up to 0.3% - ten times - allows you to collect from the fields one and a half times more. Further saturation of air with carbon dioxide to 1% yield does not increase. And with a CO₂ content above 1.5-2%, the crop begins to fall sharply. In this case, photosynthesis stops, because the proportion of CO₂ in the air is already such that it generally does not allow it to leave the cytoplasm of cells. The leaves of plants in the light with the help of chlorophyll absorb carbon dioxide and, together with water, process it into organic matter. But in case of an excess of carbon dioxide plants are not able to cope with the surplus. The roots themselves secrete a huge amount of both sugars and CO₂. Sugars they feed their rhizosphere bacteria. And carbon dioxide exhaled up to 40% of all soil.

The results of many years of experiments showed: with an excess of carbon dioxide, the leaves of the trees begin to absorb it more. But at the same time, the trees do not use it for their own development, but simply “drive it through themselves,” again highlighting it through the roots. When the content of CO2 in the soil is more than 1.5%, the roots begin to choke. As it turned out, they are much more important excess oxygen.

Photosynthesis - It is a process used by plants, algae and some bacteria to obtain the energy of sunlight and turn it into organic substances necessary for their vital activity.

There are two types of photosynthetic processes: oxygen photosynthesis and anoxygenic photosynthesis. Anoxygenic photosynthesis is a process that occurs in bacteria. When it is oxygen is not produced. Oxygen photosynthesis is most common and is observed in plants, algae and cyanobacteria. During oxygen photosynthesis, light energy transfers electrons from water (H₂O) to carbon dioxide (CO₂), which is accompanied by the formation of carbohydrates. In this case, the transfer of CO₂ is “restored”, or gets electrons, and the water is “oxidized”, or loses electrons. As a result of photosynthesis, sugars and oxygen are formed.

Photosynthesis proceeds in two phases. The first is called the light, the second - dark. The light phase of photosynthesis allows you to directly convert light energy into chemical energy due to sunlight. About 15 seconds after the plant absorbs carbon dioxide, a dark synthesis reaction occurs and the first products of photosynthesis appear - sugar: trios, pentoses, hexoses and heptoses. Of certain hexoses, sucrose and starch are formed. In addition to carbohydrates, lipids and proteins can also be developed by binding to the nitrogen molecule.

The light phase flows on the chloroplast thylakoid membranes, the dark phase in the chloroplast stroma.

But the irreversible processes that causeelevated levels of carbon dioxide in the air have already begun. A study published in the journal Nature in 2014 shows that rice grown with a high content of carbon dioxide contains fewer important nutrients. The potential health consequences are great, given that worldwide, billions of people are not getting enough protein, vitamins and other nutrients from their daily diet.

Dr. Zisk, plant physiologist at the MinistryUS agriculture, and his colleagues created experimental rice fields in China and Japan with a high concentration of carbon dioxide, which scientists expected in 100 years. Researchers have focused on rice, because 2 billion people worldwide have a major food source. The 18 rice varieties that were grown and harvested, with rare exceptions, contained significantly less protein, iron, and zinc than rice grown today. In all varieties there was a sharp decrease in the level of vitamins B1, B2, B5 and B9, but they contained more vitamin E.

The process of photosynthesis in plants includesa series of stages and reactions that depend on solar energy, water, and carbon dioxide. CO₂ serves as a source of carbon, it enters into the process of photosynthesis in a series of reactions called carbon fixation steps (also known as dark phase reactions). These reactions follow the stages of energy conversion (or light reactions), which convert solar energy into chemical energy in the form of ATP and NADP molecules, providing energy for starting carbon fixation stages.

Carbon dioxide gets into most plants.through the pores (stomata) on the surface of leaves or stems. In photosynthesizing algae and cyanobacteria, CO₂ is absorbed from the surrounding water. Once in the photosynthetic cell, CO₂ is “fixed” with the organic molecule using an enzyme. In many plant species, this initial reaction is catalyzed by the enzyme Rubisco, the most abundant enzyme in the world.

In a series of reactions called the Calvin cycle,The carbon-containing molecule resulting from this first fixation reaction is converted to various compounds using energy from ATP and NADP. Products of the Calvin cycle include simple sugar, which is subsequently converted into carbohydrates - this is glucose, sucrose and starch. They serve as important sources of energy for the plant. The cycle also regenerates the molecules of the source reagent, with which more carbon dioxide will be associated in the next stage of the cycle.

Pipes were installed on the experimental field.which emitted carbon dioxide into small open-air areas (rather than simply testing crops in closed greenhouses) to simulate future real-world conditions. In plants that are subject to the so-called Calvin cycle, including rice and wheat, increasing the concentration of carbon dioxide can stimulate the production of more carbohydrates that affect the nutrient content. But scientists are still trying to understand why some compounds, such as vitamin B, are dependent on changes in atmospheric air, while others do not, or why some rice varieties have a more dramatic decrease in vitamin B levels than others.

Sidebar

After a series of studies in this area, scientistswill be engaged in the creation of genetically modified crop varieties that will retain most of their nutritional value in the face of increasing concentrations of carbon dioxide. But it can be incredibly difficult, considering that all the rice varieties tested showed a significant decrease in vitamin B levels, Dr. Zisk notes.

Another possible solution is to reduce man-madecarbon dioxide emissions. At present, the level of CO2 in the atmosphere averages about 410 ppm (approximately 0.04%), compared with 350 parts per million in the 1980s. This picture is mainly due to the burning of fossil fuels.

The average decrease in grain protein with increasedcompared to the surrounding CO₂ for 18 cultivated paddy lines of contrasting genetic background grown in China and Japan using FACE technology.The average decrease in the concentration of trace elements ingrain, iron (Fe) and zinc (Zn) with increased CO₂ for 18 cultivated rice lines of contrasting genetic origin, grown in China and Japan using FACE technology.

Useless vegetables

Fruits and vegetables grown decades ago, byScientists' assurances were richer in vitamins and minerals than the varieties we currently eat. The main cause of this alarming trend in our diet was soil depletion: modern aggressive methods of achieving maximum benefits in agriculture have led to a catastrophic decrease in the amount of nutrients in the soil. Unfortunately, each subsequent generation of fast-growing, beautiful, pest-resistant carrots becomes even less useful than the previous one.

Donald Davis and his team from TexasUniversities studied nutrition data from the US Department of Agriculture for the years 1950 and 1999 for 43 different vegetables and fruits, and found in them a “real decrease” in protein, calcium, phosphorus, iron, riboflavin (vitamin B2) and vitamin C over the past half century. Davis attributes this reduction in nutrient content to the fact that modern agriculture is aimed at improving the quality characteristics (size, growth rate, resistance to pests) of the resulting crop.

Organic Consumer Associationcompared several studies with similar results: an analysis of nutrient data from the Kusha Institute from 1975 to 1997 showed that the average level of calcium in 12 fresh vegetables decreased by 27%, the level of iron - by 37%, the level of vitamin A - by 21 %, and the level of vitamin C - 30%. Nutrient data from 1930 to 1980, published in the British Food Journal, showed that in 20 vegetables the average calcium content during this time decreased by 19%, iron by 22% and potassium by 14%. It turns out that modern people need to eat eight oranges a day to get the same amount of vitamins A and C, which our grandparents would get from just one fruit.

Endangered bees

Scientists are also alarmed by the decline inpollinators. About 74% of all globally produced fats are present in plant oils that are dependent on insect pollination. These plants also serve as the main sources of fat-soluble vitamins. From water-soluble vitamins, 98% of vitamin C is obtained from pollinated plants, citrus fruits and other fruits and vegetables. Although scurvy due to C deficiency is now rarely seen, its important role, along with E and beta-carotene, is not diminished in any way in modern realities. Water-soluble vitamins B are rich in starchy cereals, which multiply independently of pollinator deficiencies. However, most of these nutrients are lost when whole grains are processed, for example, into white rice or white flour. While the United States corrected this deficiency by sending wholegrain flour, brown rice and other unrefined products to the shelves, 2/3 of the world's population does not have the opportunity to eat enriched grains.

Since the early 2000s, beekeepers have reported massivedeath of honey bees. Adult bees, as a rule, disappeared without a trace, not returning to the hives. These cases attracted public attention, and rumors of various causes of the phenomenon ranged from climate change to radioactive signals from mobile phones and genetically modified crops.

A large research team found out: although an Israeli paralytic bee virus was detected in the bees, it could not cause such a catastrophic extinction. The number of bees is rapidly declining in recent years. Some of them were added to the endangered list in 2017 (seven species of Hawaiian bees) and in 2018 (the Bumblebee Bombus affinis).

Each year, the number of pollinating bees decreases, and some species are on the verge of extinction.

Intensive use of pesticides knownas neonicotinoids (a relatively new class of insecticides that affect the central nervous system of insects, leading to paralysis and death), played an important role in reducing the population of bees. When bees are exposed to neonicotinoids, they have a strong effect on the nervous system (something like the Alzheimer's version for insects) and suffer from severe disorientation.

Along with pesticides, parasites known asVarrao mites are also responsible for the mass death of bees. Varrao can breed only in the bee colony. These blood-sucking parasites equally affect both adults and young bees. The disease caused by these mites can cause the bees to lose legs or wings, slowly and painfully dying.

Whole grain cereals - an important naturalsource of B vitamins, especially folic acid. The need for folic acid increases during pregnancy to prevent fetal neural tube defects. More than 70% of vitamin A and 98% of each of the carotenoids, cryptoxanthin (provitamin A) and lycopene are found in cultures that are pollinated by insects. It is not known to what extent these plants, including red, orange and yellow vegetables and fruits can reproduce without pollination, but experiments have shown a direct increase in yield by 43% due to natural pollination. Vitamin A is one of the most essential elements for the body, and its deficiency causes up to 500 thousand cases of irreversible blindness in children worldwide every year. Diets high in carotenoids are good for people who are prone to cancer; in laboratory tests, lycopene showed its ability to influence the slowing of tumor growth. Most of the vitamin E is also present in plants that require pollination.

Soil depletion, air pollution andthe extinction of bees is only the consequences of the illiterate attitude of humanity to a large, but so fragile and vulnerable planet. People, plants, animals, land and air are inextricably linked, and every irresponsible step of a person can turn into a real tragedy for the whole world. Scientists will probably be able to restore the nutritional value of fruits, vegetables and cereals, but this is not the only direction of development of our planet. It is necessary to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, relieve the load on the soil and take care of the animal world, preventing the extinction of whole species.