لقد وجد العلماء دودة في أعماق البحار استقرت على الأرض لمدة 270 مليون عام قبل الديناصورات

كان يعتقد أن قاع البحر في أعماق المحيطات في العصر الكمبري لم يكن مهيئًا للحياة ، لأنه

أنه لم يكن هناك ما يكفي من الأوكسجين للحفاظ عليهاالعمليات البيولوجية. لكن الدراسة أظهرت وجود أنفاق متحجرة للديدان تعود إلى العصر الكمبري - أي قبل 270 مليون سنة من تطور الديناصورات. يوحي هذا الاكتشاف ، الذي أعده الأستاذ بجامعة ساسكاتشوان براين برات ، بأن عالم الحيوان كان موجودًا قبل ذلك بكثير.

أنفاق الديدان هي موطنها ، حيث همالطعام المضغ ، بما في ذلك ابتلاع التربة وهضمها ، وبالتالي المضي قدمًا وتشكيل نفق. اعتقد براين برات أنه إذا كان سكان أعماق المحيطات موجودين في العصر الكمبري ، فإنهم قد يكونون صغارًا جدًا ، وبالتالي غير مرئي للعين البشرية. لذلك ، قطع العالم الحفريات من قاع البحر في تلك الفترة وبدأ دراستها.

جاءت هذه الحفريات من منطقة نائيةجبال ماكنزي في الأقاليم الشمالية الغربية في كندا ، والتي عثر عليها برات قبل 35 عامًا. ثم قام العالم في شكل رقمي بتحسين صور أسطح الصخور حتى يتمكن من دراستها عن كثب. عندها فقط ظهر "طريق سريع" خفي من الثقوب في الصخر ، مكون من عدة أحجام وأنواع مختلفة من الدودة التي تعود إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ.

وكان بعضها فقط ملليمتر في الحجم ، والبعض الآخر عن حجم الاصبع. من المحتمل أن تكون الأصغر حجماً قد صنعت بواسطة داء الشعيرات البسيط - ديدان الشعر الخشن ، ولكن أحد الأشكال الكبيرة كان مفترسًا ، هاجم المفصليات غير المشكوك فيها والديدان السطحية.

لأول مرة رأينا أدلة على وجود كبيرمجموعات من الديدان التي تعيش في الرواسب ، والتي كانت تعتبر غير مثمرة. في الوحل على الجرف القاري قبل 500 مليون عام ، كانت هناك أنفاق غامضة للديدان - الجحور - والمزيد من الحيوانات التي تعالج أو تثير قاع البحر أكثر مما كان يعتقد أي شخص.

براين برات ، أستاذ بجامعة ساسكاتشوان بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

هذا الاكتشاف يمكن أن يدفع لإعادة التفكيرمستوى الأوكسجين في المحيطات القديمة والجرف القاري. خلال العصر الكمبري ، كان هناك "انفجار" في الحياة (ما يسمى "انفجار الهيكل العظمي" أو "الانفجار الكمبري") على الأرض في المحيطات وتنمية الكائنات الحية متعددة الخلايا ، بما في ذلك الديدان التي تعود إلى ما قبل التاريخ ، الرخويات ، القواقع وسلفان السرطان وسرطان البحر. في السابق ، كان يسكن البحار ميكروبات وحيدة الخلية بسيطة الطحالب.

لقد افترضنا دائمًا أن المخلوقات في القائمةBurgess (Burgess Shale Fauna - الحيوانات الأحفورية الموجودة في Burgess Middle Cambrian shale ، واحدة من أغنى الأماكن في عالم الاكتشافات الأثرية وأفضل فترة العصر الكمبري) الحفاظ على الحياة. يظهر اكتشاف برات مع المؤلف المشارك جوليان كيميج من جامعة كانساس أن هناك كمية كافية من الأكسجين للحفاظ على أنواع مختلفة من الديدان في قاع البحر.

Scientists have found a deep-sea worm that inhabited the earth 270 million years before dinosaurs

It was believed that the seabed in the deep ocean in the Cambrian period was not suitable for life, because

that there was not enough oxygen to maintainbiological processes. But the study shows the existence of fossilized tunnels of worms, dating from the Cambrian period - 270 million years before the evolution of dinosaurs. This discovery, made by University of Saskatchewan professor Brian Pratt, suggests that the animal world existed much earlier than it is thought.

The tunnels of worms are their habitat, where theychewed food, including swallowing the soil and digesting it, thus moving forward and forming a tunnel. Brian Pratt thought that if the inhabitants in the deep ocean existed in the Cambrian period, then they could be very small, and therefore invisible to the human eye. Therefore, the scientist cut fossils from the seabed of that period and began to study them.

These fossils came from a region in remoteThe Mackenzie Mountains in the Northwest Territories in Canada, which Pratt found 35 years ago. Then the scientist in a digital form improved the images of the surfaces of the rocks so that he could study them more closely. Only then a hidden “superhighway” of holes appeared in the rock, made of several different sizes and types of prehistoric worm.

Some were only a millimeter in size, andothers are about the size of a finger. The smaller ones were probably made of simple polychaetes — bristle worms, but one of the larger forms was a predator that attacked unsuspecting arthropods and living on the surface of worms.

For the first time we saw evidence of a largeclusters of worms living in the sediment, which was considered fruitless. In the mud on the continental shelf 500 million years ago there were mysterious worm tunnels — burrows — and more animals processing or bioturbating the seabed than anyone thought.

Brian Pratt, Professor, University of Saskatchewan USA

This discovery could push for rethinkinglevel of oxygenation in ancient oceans and continental shelves. During the Cambrian period, there was an "explosion" of life (the so-called "skeletal explosion" or "Cambrian explosion") on Earth in the oceans and the development of multicellular organisms, including prehistoric worms, mollusks, snails and ancestors of crabs and lobsters. Previously, the seas were inhabited by simple unicellular microbes and algae.

It has always been assumed that the creatures in the slateBurgess (Burgess Shale Fauna - the fossil fauna found in Burgess Middle Cambrian shale, one of the richest places in the world of paleontological finds and the best of the Cambrian period) sustain life. Pratt's discovery with co-author Julien Kimmig of the University of Kansas shows that there was enough oxygen to maintain various types of worms on the seabed.