لقد وجد العلماء أن نقص المياه ممكن في الثمانين سنة القادمة بسبب تغير المناخ والنمو السكاني.

يجادل مؤلفو الدراسة أنه حتى الجهود المبذولة لاستخدام المياه بكفاءة أكبر في البلديات و

القطاعات الصناعية لن تكون كافية لمنع الندرة. أظهرت النتائج أن الحد من استخدام المياه في الزراعة من المحتمل أن يلعب دوراً رئيسياً في الحد من ندرة المياه في المستقبل.

لا تعطي الدراسة تخمينًا أفضل للطلب على المياه وإمداداتها في المستقبل فحسب ، بل تتناول أيضًا ما يمكننا القيام به للحد من العجز المتوقع.

توماس براون ، دائرة الغابات الأمريكية (محطة روكي ماونتين)

استخدم الباحثون مجموعة متنوعة من العالميةنماذج المناخ للنظر في سيناريوهات المستقبل وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر على إمدادات المياه والطلب على المياه. كما أنها تأخذ في الاعتبار النمو السكاني. استخدم العلماء نموذجًا لفقدان المياه لتقدير كمية المياه التي ستكون متاحة للاستخدام في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، ونموذجًا لكيفية تزويد هذه المياه أو تخزينها في صهاريج للاستخدام في المستقبل.

هذه الدراسة تبين أن التغييريمكن أن يشكل المناخ والنمو السكاني مشاكل خطيرة في بعض مناطق الولايات المتحدة ، وخاصة في الأجزاء الوسطى والجنوبية من السهول الكبرى ، في الولايات الجنوبية الغربية والوسطى ، بما في ذلك كاليفورنيا ، وكذلك في بعض المناطق في الجنوب.

ووجد الباحثون أن الجاريةلن يكون خفض استهلاك المياه للفرد كافياً لتجنب النقص الوشيك في المياه بسبب الآثار التراكمية لنمو السكان وتغير المناخ. نظرت الدراسة في استراتيجيات تكيفية مختلفة للحد من النقص المتوقع في المياه ، مثل زيادة سعة الخزان ، وضخ المزيد من المياه من طبقات المياه الجوفية ، واستنزاف المزيد من المياه من المجاري والأنهار. زيادة حجم الخزان لا يبدو واعداً لمنع نقص المياه ، خاصة في الأجزاء التي من المتوقع أن تصبح أكثر جفافاً مع تغير المناخ.

مزيد من الانخفاض في احتياطيات المياه الجوفية يمكنمن شأنه أن يساعد في تقليل النقص في المستقبل في العديد من المجالات ، ولكن مع تكاليف اجتماعية وبيئية كبيرة. لتفادي هذه التكاليف ، يجب أن يكون تحسين كفاءة الري أولوية قصوى ، وسيكون من المهم نقل المزيد من المياه من الزراعة إلى القطاعات الأخرى ، كما يقول مؤلفو الدراسة. صحيح أن الدراسة تظهر اتجاهاً عاماً ولم تأخذ في الاعتبار كل مدينة أو منطقة أو ظروفها البيئية والاقتصادية لنقص المياه.

Scientists have found that water shortage is possible in the next 80 years due to climate change and population growth.

The study authors argue that even efforts to use water more efficiently in municipal and

industrial sectors will not be enough forpreventing shortages. The results suggest that reducing water use in agriculture is likely to play a major role in limiting water shortages in the future.

The study not only provides a better guess at future water supply and demand, but also looks at what we can do to reduce projected shortages.

Thomas Brown, US Forest Service (Rocky Mountain Station)

Researchers have used various globalclimate models to look at future scenarios and how they might affect water supply and demand. They also take population growth into account. The scientists used a water yield model to estimate the amount of water that would become available for use across the country and modeled how that water would be supplied or stored in reservoirs for future use.

This study shows that changeClimate change and population growth may present significant challenges in some regions of the United States, particularly in the central and southern Great Plains, the southwestern and central states, including California, and some areas in the South.

Researchers have found that ongoingreductions in per capita water consumption will not be sufficient to avoid looming water shortages due to the combined effects of population growth and climate change. The study authors looked at various adaptive strategies to reduce projected water shortages, such as increasing reservoir capacity, pumping more water from underground aquifers, and diverting more water from streams and rivers. Increasing the size of reservoirs does not look promising for preventing water shortages, especially in parts of the US that are expected to become drier as climate change occurs.

A further reduction in groundwater reserves couldwould help reduce future shortages in many areas, but with significant social and environmental costs. To avoid these costs, increasing the efficiency of irrigation should be a priority, and the further transfer of water from agriculture to other sectors will be important, the authors of the study believe. True, the study shows a general trend and did not consider every city, district and their environmental and economic conditions for water shortages.