الهندسة الجيولوجية الشمسية: كيفية تغيير المناخ بمساعدة المرايا في الفضاء والانفجارات البركانية الاصطناعية

في الواقع ، هناك تقدم ، لكن يبدو أنه لا يكفي: يتفق معظم العلماء الآن على ذلك

تغير المناخ حقيقي وسريع. على مدار القرن الماضي ، ارتفعت درجة حرارة سطح الأرض بحوالي 1 درجة مئوية ، ووفقًا لتوقعات الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ (IPCC) ، "التكنولوجيا الفائقة" ، بحلول عام 2100 ، ستزيد بمقدار 0.3-1.7 درجة مئوية أخرى (مع انخفاض كبير في الانبعاثات) أو 2.6-4.8 درجة مئوية (مع زيادة الانبعاثات). أسوأ الأخبار: الأرض ليست مهددة. سوف يستمر الكوكب في الوجود بغض النظر عما نفعله به. الحياة كلها معرضة للخطر ، والتي لم تتكيف بدقة مع مناخ مختلف.

لهذا السبب يتحدث بعض العلماءالحاجة إلى عمل أكثر حسما لوقف كارثة الكواكب. الهندسة الجيولوجية من بينها. يتحدث المزيد والمزيد من الباحثين عن الحاجة إلى "تعديل" درجة الحرارة على الأرض.


ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية في القطب الجنوبي يبطئ العمليةالاحتباس الحراري. نتيجة لاختفائهم ، لن تحدث زيادة حرجة في درجة حرارة الغلاف الجوي للأرض عند درجتين مئويتين في عام 2053 ، كما كان يعتقد سابقًا ، ولكن في عام 2065.

الهندسة الجيولوجية أو "هندسة الأرض" - العصريةمصطلح للتدخلات واسعة النطاق في عمل الكوكب لإبطاء أو عكس آثار تغير المناخ. من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن استخدام مصطلح "الهندسة الجيولوجية" لوصف أي مخطط واسع النطاق لحل المشكلات. على سبيل المثال ، إذا زرع ملايين الأشخاص على شجرة ، فإن هذا سيقلل من كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون - وهذا يمكن أن يطلق عليه أيضًا الهندسة الجيولوجية. إذا تحول الجميع إلى استخدام الورق المعاد تدويره في نفس الوقت ، يمكن أن يسمى هذا الهندسة الجيولوجية ، لأننا سنخفض عدد الأشجار المقطوعة. هذا يناسب أيضا البناء الضخم لتوربينات الرياح.

ولكن في كثير من الأحيان نعني مشاريع غير عادية ،الذين يحاولون استعادة توازن مناخ الأرض عن طريق التأثير البشري المباشر على نطاق واسع على الأرض أو المحيطات أو الغلاف الجوي للكوكب. أحد المجالات الرئيسية لعمل العلماء هو محاولة لتهدئة الكوكب من خلال تقليل كمية الطاقة الشمسية القادمة. في اللغة الإنجليزية ، وهذا ما يسمى إدارة الإشعاع الشمسي (SRM).

انخفاض في الإشعاع الشمسي

إذا كانت المشكلة هي أن الكوكب يحصل أيضاالكثير من الإشعاع الشمسي ، هل من الممكن حلها عن طريق سد جزء من العالم ، كما يفعل المزارعون - تغطية الدفيئات المزودة بالستائر أو التبييض؟ يعتقد العلماء نعم ، ويحاولون إنقاذنا من الأشعة "الإضافية" بطرق مختلفة تمامًا.

ويستند واحد منهم على حقيقة أن كبيرةالانفجارات البركانية لا تؤدي فقط إلى صور مذهلة جديدة في ضفاف الملفات ، ولكن أيضًا لتقليل شفافية الأجواء المحيطة. التخفيف يقلل الإشعاع الشمسي الوارد عن طريق بث ثاني أكسيد الكبريت. بمجرد أن يتفاعل في الجو ، يتفاعل مع بخار الماء ، ويشكل قطرات من حمض الكبريتيك ، والغيوم التي تنتشر منها أشعة الشمس مرة أخرى.

يمكن للناس التعامل مع تغير المناخ ،تحاول أن تفعل شيئا مصطنع مثل هذا؟ للقيام بذلك ، لا تحتاج إلى تصميم بركان - مجرد "ضخ" ثاني أكسيد الكبريت في الغلاف الجوي. وقد اقترح عالم المناخ السوفيتي ميخائيل بوديكو أحد أوائل من فعل ذلك. قام مستكشف الأرض الأمريكي وعلم المحيطات والاس بروكر بالبحث عن هذه الفكرة في الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي عندما عرض استئجار أسطول مكون من 700 طائرة من طائرات Jumbo Jets لإطلاق نفس الكمية من ثاني أكسيد الكبريت سنويًا مثل انفجار جبل بيناتوبو.

يمكن أن يكلف عشرات المليارات من الدولارات. قام كين كالديرا من قسم البيئة العالمية بمعهد كارنيجي بجامعة ستانفورد بإحصاء الأعداد واقترح إضافة كمية كافية من الكبريت إلى الغلاف الجوي "باستخدام خرطوم حريق واحد معلق من البالونات" بتكاليف متواضعة نسبيًا تبلغ 100 مليون دولار سنويًا. لكنه يشير إلى أن خطر حدوث مشاكل أخرى ، مثل تلوث الهواء الهائل أو تدمير طبقة الأوزون ، كبير.


يمكن أن تؤدي الثورات البركانية إلى وقف ارتفاع درجة حرارة سطح الأرض بسبب انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكبريت في الغلاف الجوي.

من ناحية أخرى ، هناك دراساتمن يقول أن الطريقة يمكن أن تكون آمنة. ومع ذلك ، حتى في الوقت نفسه ، من السابق لأوانه نشر المهمة ، يقول العلماء - يجب دراسة هذه التقنية بمزيد من التفصيل. وقال آلان روبوك ، أستاذ الجيوفيزياء والباحث في جامعة روتجرز في نيوجيرسي: "لا يمكننا الآن أن نقول ما إذا كان من المفيد ، إذا استمر الاحترار العالمي ، أن نقرر ما إذا كنا سنبدأ برش المادة في الستراتوسفير". "علينا الإجابة على هذا السؤال ، لكن لدينا القليل من البيانات." في الوقت نفسه ، تُجرى بالفعل دراسات عملية لهذه الطريقة - سيقوم علماء من جامعة هارفارد في النصف الأول من عام 2019 بإطلاق منطاد مسيطر عليه على بعد 20 كم فوق الجنوب الغربي للولايات المتحدة. سوف يرشون كمية صغيرة من كربونات الكالسيوم في أجزاء من 100 غرام وسيراقبون كيف يتبددون ويؤثرون على الغلاف الجوي.

كربونات الكالسيوم يختلف عن ثاني أكسيد الكبريت ،المنبعثة من البركان بيناتوبو. كما لاحظ جوزيف توليفسون ، أحد أعضاء الفريق ، فإن الاندفاع سيسرع أيضًا في نضوب طبقة الأوزون. يأمل الباحثون أن يكون لكربونات الكالسيوم تأثير أقل على الأوزون. ولكن نظرًا لأنه لا يوجد بشكل طبيعي في الستراتوسفير ، فإن تتبع كربونات الكالسيوم يصعب تتبعه دون تجربة.

المرايا في الفضاء

لنفترض أن المواد يمكن أن تكون خطيرة لجو الكوكب ، لكن يمكن للعلماء الاستغناء عنها - لماذا لا تبني مرآة تعكس أشعة الشمس؟ في الوقت نفسه ، حتى الحسابات الأولية رائعة - لتغيير درجة الحرارة على الأرض ، ستحتاج إلى مرآة بحجم جرينلاند (هناك خيارات لاستخدامها في عدة مرايا أصغر). قد يبدو هذا جنونًا ، لكن في عام 2001 تم تقديم هذا الخيار إلى حكومة الولايات المتحدة وما زالوا يعتبرونه أحد الطرق للحفاظ على درجة حرارة طبيعية على الأرض.

اقترح روجر آنجل من جامعة أريزونااستخدم حوالي تريليون من المرايا الرفيعة التي يبلغ سمكها 60 سم لإنشاء سحابة كونية اصطناعية ، يبلغ عرضها حوالي ضعف عرض الأرض. يفترض تقدير التكلفة التقريبية أن الخطة ستكون مكلفة للغاية - من مئات المليارات إلى مئات المليارات من الدولارات. من ناحية أخرى ، إذا كانت الإنسانية مهددة حقًا ، فمن غير المرجح أن يقوم أي شخص بحساب عدد الأصفار في هذا الرقم.

زرع الغيوم

الغيوم تعكس بشكل طبيعي الشمس.عاد الضوء إلى الفضاء ، فلماذا لا نحاول فقط زيادة الغطاء السحابي للأرض؟ منذ أربعينيات القرن العشرين ، بعد عدة عقود من اختراع الطائرة ، كانت هناك العديد من المحاولات لإنشاء ما يسمى بالتجارب "السحابية".

incut

هم ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن تعديلها - رش فيجو مياه البحر وزيادة عاكسة السحب. أو أن نوى التكثيف الإضافية الناتجة عن الرش ستغير توزيع حجم القطيرات في السحب ، مما يجعلها أكثر بياضا. في الوقت نفسه ، وفقًا للعلماء ، ستكون هذه الطريقة قادرة على الحفاظ على درجة حرارة طبيعية على الأرض ، حتى لو تضاعفت كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون.

سقف بارد وألواح عاكسة

تشريعات بعض الدول - على سبيل المثال ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ،يشجع طلاء مواد التسقيف باللون الأبيض أو الشاحب على عكس الإشعاع الشمسي ، لكن تقرير الجمعية الملكية لعام 2009 يقول إن هذه الطريقة ستغطي 1٪ فقط من الأرض ولن تكون فعالة. تمت إضافة العديد من المشاريع إلى القسم "غير الواقعي": يقع في مناطق واسعة - على سبيل المثال ، صحراء الصحراء ، أوراق تعكس الأشعة ، لكن تأثيرها سيكون محليًا للغاية ولن يساعد في التفاف ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية ، أو زراعة المزيد من الأشجار أو المحاصيل التي تعكس المزيد من الطاقة الشمسية ضوء.

انتقاد

كما خلصت الجمعية الملكية فيتقرير 2009: "أساليب الهندسة الجيولوجية لا تحل محل التخفيف من تغير المناخ ويجب اعتبارها فقط جزءًا من حزمة أوسع من الحلول للمشكلة" - وببساطة ، يعتقد الخبراء أن الهندسة الجيولوجية لن تتمكن على الأرجح من مساعدتنا.

هناك أولئك الذين هم أكثر راديكالية -دعا خبراء من مركز أبحاث تحليل المناخ الألماني إلى فرض حظر عالمي على الهندسة الجيولوجية الشمسية. وفقًا للعلماء ، يمكن أن يتأثر مناخ الأرض بشكل خطير بتبريد الغلاف الجوي ، كما أن الاهتمام بهذه الطريقة يشتت انتباه البشرية.

وفقا لخبراء تحليلات المناخ ، SRMيمكن أن يخفي المشاكل الأكثر أهمية التي تحتاج إلى معالجة - الحد من انبعاثات الكربون ، والانتقال من الوقود الأحفوري إلى أنواع الوقود المتجددة. يخشى الباحثون أنه حتى لو نجحت الطرق الموضحة أعلاه ، فسنستبدل مشكلة بمشكلة أخرى بشكل فعال. في رأيهم ، يشعر الكثيرون بالاطمئنان من فكرة أن الهندسة الجيولوجية "تصحح" مناخ الأرض قليلاً وستنقذ العالم من كارثة سريعة نسبيًا ، وغير مكلفة وغير مؤلمة وبصورة حازمة دحض هذه الأطروحة.

تقريبا جميع المشاركين في العملية واثقون من ذلكمن أجل فهم مدى واقعية هذه الخطط ، هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث. خلص تقرير للمجلس القومي للبحوث لعام 2015 حول مختلف تقنيات منع أشعة الشمس إلى أنها "لن تتطلب ابتكارات تكنولوجية كبرى" ولكن لا "يمكنها القضاء على الأضرار التي لحقت بالأرض بسبب تغير المناخ." على أي حال ، من الضروري خفض الانبعاثات ، والتحول إلى الطاقة الخضراء أيضًا ، وإلا فإن الوعود التي قطعتها ستظهر "غير عقلانية وغير مسؤولة" ، كما يلخصان.

Solar geoengineering: how to change the climate with the help of mirrors in space and artificial volcanic eruptions

In fact, there is progress, but it seems to be not enough: most scientists now agree that

climate change is real and fast. Over the past century, the Earth’s surface temperature has risen by almost 1 ° C and, according to the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) forecast, “High-tech”, by 2100 it will increase by another 0.3–1.7 ° C (with a significant reduction in emissions) or 2.6–4.8 ° C (with increased emissions). The worst news: the Earth is not under threat. The planet will continue to exist no matter what we do with it. All life is at risk, which has not yet been precisely adapted to a different climate.

This is why some scientists talk aboutthe need for more decisive action to stop the planetary catastrophe. Geoengineering is among them. More and more researchers are talking about the need to “edit” the temperature on Earth.


The melting of Antarctic glaciers slows down the processglobal warming. As a result of their disappearance, a critical rise in the temperature of the Earth’s atmosphere at 2 ° C will not occur in 2053, as previously thought, but in 2065.

Geoengineering or "Earth Engineering" - trendya term for large-scale interventions in the work of the planet to slow down or reverse the effects of climate change. Theoretically, the term “geoengineering” can be used to describe any large-scale problem solving scheme. For example, if millions of people plant on a tree, this will reduce the amount of carbon dioxide — this can also be called geo-engineering. If everyone switched to using recycled paper at the same time, this could be called geo-engineering, since we will reduce the number of trees cut down. This also fits the massive construction of wind turbines.

But more often we mean unusual projects,who are trying to restore the balance of the Earth’s climate by direct, large-scale anthropogenic impact on the land, oceans or the planet’s atmosphere. One of the main directions of work of scientists is an attempt to cool the planet by reducing the amount of incoming solar energy. In English, this is called Solar radiation management (SRM).

Decrease in solar radiation

If the problem is that the planet gets tooa lot of solar radiation, is it possible to solve it by blocking part of the world, as farmers do - covering greenhouses with curtains or whitewash? Scientists believe that yes, and are trying to save us from the "extra" rays in completely different ways.

One of them is based on the fact that largevolcanic eruptions lead not only to new spectacular photos in the banks of files, but also to reduce the transparency of the atmosphere around. Destruction reduces incoming solar radiation by emitting sulfur dioxide. Once in the atmosphere, it reacts with water vapor, forming drops of sulfuric acid, the clouds from which scatter the sunlight back.

Can people deal with climate change,trying to artificially do something like that? To do this, you do not need to design a volcano - just “pump” sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere. One of the first to do this was proposed by the Soviet climatologist Mikhail Budyko. The American Earth explorer and oceanographer Wallace Broker took on this idea in the 1980s when he offered to hire a fleet of 700 Jumbo Jets jets to release about the same amount of sulfur dioxide per year as the Mount Pinatubo explosion.

It can cost tens of billions of dollars. Ken Caldeira from the Carnegie Institution's Global Ecology Department at Stanford University counted the numbers and suggested adding enough sulfur to the atmosphere "using one fire hose suspended from balloons" for relatively modest costs of $ 100 million a year. But he points out that the risk of other problems, such as massive air pollution or destruction of the ozone layer, is great.


Volcanic eruptions can halt the rise in the temperature of the Earth’s surface due to emissions of sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere.

On the other hand, there are studieswho say that the method can be safe. However, even at the same time, it is too early to deploy the mission, scientists say - the technique needs to be studied in more detail. “We cannot now say whether it is worthwhile, if global warming continues, to decide whether to start spraying the substance into the stratosphere,” said Alan Robock, a professor of geophysics and a researcher at Rutgers University in New Jersey. "We have to answer this question, but we have too little data." At the same time, practical studies of this method are already being conducted - scientists from Harvard in the first half of 2019 will launch a controlled balloon 20 kilometers above the south-west of the United States. They will spray a small amount of calcium carbonate in portions of 100 grams and will observe how they dissipate and affect the atmosphere.

Calcium carbonate is different from sulfur dioxide,emitted by the volcano Pinatubo. As noted by Josef Tollefson, one of the team members, an eruption would also hasten the depletion of the ozone layer. Researchers hope that calcium carbonate will have less impact on ozone. But since it does not naturally exist in the stratosphere, the effect of calcium carbonate is more difficult to track without an experiment.

Mirrors in space

Suppose substances can be dangerous forthe atmosphere of the planet, but scientists can do without them - why not build a mirror that will reflect the sun's rays? At the same time, even preliminary calculations are fantastic - to change the temperature on Earth, you will need a mirror the size of Greenland (there are options for which they will use several smaller mirrors). It would seem to be madness, but in 2001 this option was offered to the US government and they continue to consider it as one of the ways to maintain a normal temperature on Earth.

Roger Angel from the University of Arizona suggesteduse about a trillion ultra-thin mirrors about 60 cm thick to create an artificial cosmic cloud, whose width is about twice the width of the Earth. A rough cost estimate assumes that the plan will be too expensive - from hundreds of billions to hundreds of trillions of dollars. On the other hand, if humanity is really under threat, it is unlikely that anyone will count the number of zeros in this figure.

Sowing the clouds

The clouds naturally reflect the sun.the light is back to space, so why not just try to increase Earth’s cloud cover? Since the 1940s, several decades after the invention of the aircraft, there have been many attempts to create so-called "cloud" experiments.

Sidebar

They, for example, can be modified - sprayed intoseawater atmosphere and increase the reflectivity of the clouds. Or additional condensation nuclei created by spraying will change the size distribution of the droplets in the clouds, making them whiter. At the same time, according to scientists, this method will be able to maintain a normal temperature on Earth, even if the amount of CO2 doubles.

Cold roof and reflective plates

Legislation of some countries - for example, the USA,encourages painting roofing materials in white or pale to reflect solar radiation, but the 2009 Royal Society report says that this method will cover only 1% of the Earth and will be ineffective. Several more projects were added to the “unrealistic” section: located in large areas - for example, the Sahara desert, sheets that reflect the rays, but their effect will be too localized and will not help wrap glacier melting, or plant more trees or crops that more reflect solar shine.

Criticism

As the Royal Society concluded in its2009 report: “Geo-engineering methods do not replace climate change mitigation and should be considered only as part of a wider package of solutions to the problem” - to put it simply, experts believe that geo-engineering will most likely not be able to help us.

There are those who are more radical -Experts from the German Climate Analytics Research Center called for a global ban on solar geo-engineering. According to scientists, the Earth's climate can be seriously affected by the cooling of the atmosphere, and the attention paid to this method distracts the attention of mankind.

According to experts of Climate Analytics, SRMcan mask more important problems that need to be addressed - reducing carbon emissions, moving from fossil fuels to renewable ones. Researchers worry that even if the methods described above work, we will effectively replace one problem with another. In their opinion, many are reassured by the idea that geoengineering slightly “corrects” the Earth’s climate and will save the world from a catastrophe relatively quickly, inexpensively and painlessly and resolutely refute such a thesis.

Almost all participants in the process are confident thatin order to understand how realistic these plans are, further research is needed. A 2015 National Research Council report on various sunlight blocking technologies concluded that they “will not require major technological innovations” but not “can eliminate damage to the Earth as a result of climate change.” In any case, it is necessary to reduce emissions, to switch to green energy too, otherwise their promises will look “irrational and irresponsible,” they summarize.