فينود Baktavachalam ، كورسيرا - على التعليم عبر الإنترنت في روسيا ، دافع الطالب بمساعدة التعلم الآلي والقوالب النمطية الجنسانية

كورسيرا - منصة دولية للتعليم عبر الإنترنت مع أكثر من 37 مليون مستخدم مسجل.

إنها تقدم حوالي 2900 دورة ، 300التخصصات ، وهناك دورات منفصلة والتخصصات ، وعلى أعلى مستوى - الحصول على شهادات (الحصول على التعليم العالي وفقا للمعايير الأوروبية). يتم إنشاء المحتوى التعليمي للدورات من قبل 160 جامعة ومؤسسات تعليمية أخرى ، بالإضافة إلى 30 شريكًا صناعيًا.

"يركز الروس أكثر من غيرهم على تطبيق ما درسوه في عملهم"

- لقد أجريت مؤخرًا دراسة حول مهارات الطلاب الروس لأول مرة. ما هي خصوصية الطلاب الروس عبر الإنترنت؟

- لدينا أكثر من 940 ألف. يعد المستخدمون المسجلون من روسيا ثاني أكبر سوق في أوروبا بعد المملكة المتحدة وأكبر سوق لا يتحدث الإنجليزية. ينمو بسرعة كبيرة - 40 ٪ كل عام. المشاركة أيضًا عالية جدًا - اشترك مستخدمون من روسيا في 3.5 مليون دورة تدريبية ، أي حوالي أربع دورات لكل شخص ، كما في الولايات المتحدة أو في المملكة المتحدة.

- ماذا عن الجنس والعمر؟

- متوسط ​​العمر هو نفسه تقريبا علىالمستوى العالمي. لكن المستخدمين الروس أكثر توازنا من حيث الجنس - 47 ٪ من النساء ، 53 ٪ من الرجال ، في العالم 42 ٪ مقابل 58 ٪. هذا يتفق عمومًا مع ما نراه في الولايات المتحدة وإنجلترا ، ويشير إلى أن الجميع مهتم في روسيا بالتعليم العالي الجودة ولديه دوافع كبيرة للدراسة. يهتم معظم الروس بتحليل البيانات والأعمال وعلوم الكمبيوتر. إنهم يريدون بناء مهنة - عبر حوالي 67٪ عن هذا الهدف. إنهم يسعون للتطوير في المنصب الحالي أو الترقية ، والتحول إلى شيء جديد واكتساب مهارات جديدة. هذا أعلى من المستوى العام البالغ 60٪ ، أي أن الروس يركزون أكثر من غيرهم على تطبيق ما درسوه في عملهم.

الصورة: أنتون كارلينر / "Hightech"

- وهم يحققون هذه الأهداف؟

- نعم ، نحن نتتبع النتائج على المدى الطويلتدريب جميع المستخدمين على منصتنا لمدة ستة أشهر بعد أن يكمل الشخص الدورة. نسأل ما إذا كان الهدف يتحقق. في 85٪ من الحالات ، أشار مستخدمون من روسيا أشاروا إلى تقرير وظيفي أنهم حققوا هذا الهدف ، بينما تمت ترقية 35٪ منهم أو العثور على وظيفة جديدة أو بدء أعمالهم الخاصة. هذا ارتباط قوي للغاية بين مجموعة الأهداف والهدف المحقق.

يبحث سبيربنك وياندكس عن موظفين يستخدمون المحتوى

- يبدو لي أن الشركات الروسية لا تأخذ شهادات الإنترنت على محمل الجد.

- يعتمد على الشركة. نعم ، نحن نرى ذلك في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أيضًا: هناك أيضًا فجوة كبيرة بين الشركات التقدمية والباقي. في روسيا ، تقوم الشركات الرائدة في مجال التكنولوجيا - سبيربنك (جامعة الشركات) وياندكس - بإنشاء محتوى على كورسيرا ، والاستثمار في التدريبات عبر الإنترنت لموظفيها ، والبحث عن موظفين جدد من بين الذين حضروا الدورات ، وحصلوا على شهادات. لا ترى هذه الشركات المبتكرة الفرق بين التعليم عبر الإنترنت والتعليم غير المباشر ، فهي تحتاج فقط إلى أشخاص لديهم المهارات المطلوبة ، ولديهم دافع كبير لتعلم أشياء جديدة ، حيث أن التكنولوجيا تتغير باستمرار.

هذا يمكن أن يسمح للشركات الكبيرة فقطلأن لديهم موارد ، يمكنهم تكريس المزيد من الوقت لتعليم الموظفين. لا تزال الشركات الصغيرة تعتبر التعليم عبر الإنترنت محفوفًا بالمخاطر ، فمن الأسهل بالنسبة لهم توظيف أشخاص يحملون شهادة جامعية ، لأنه من الواضح كيفية اختيار المرشحين رفيعي المستوى. ولكن المزيد والمزيد من الشركات تدرك أن توظيف أشخاص ذوي مهارات محددة ليس بالأمر السهل ، والتعليم عبر الإنترنت هو وسيلة رخيصة لإعادة تدريب الموظفين الحاليين.

- وأي الشركات تستغل هذه الفرصة؟

- لدى Google شهادة أساسية لـجميع وظائف تكنولوجيا المعلومات - معدات الكمبيوتر ، ومتخصصي الشبكات وغيرها إنهم لا ينشئون المحتوى فحسب ، بل يبنون أيضًا شراكات للتأجير بحيث يمكن للأشخاص الذين يحملون هذه الشهادة التقدم للحصول على وظيفة في Google و Walmart وغيرها من الشركات.

- هل تقوم ببعض التخصيص لتجربة المستخدم حسب البلد؟

- الفرق بين الدول صغير ، كثيريختلف المستخدمون أكثر على المستوى الفردي - لديهم مجموعة مختلفة من المهارات وخبرات الحياة المختلفة والأهداف المختلفة. ونحن منخرطون فقط في تخصيص تجربة المستخدم على المستوى الفردي ، وتطبيق التعلم الآلي. ولكن فيما يتعلق ببناء الشراكات ، فإن السوق الروسي مختلف تمامًا عن السوق الأمريكية.

- وما الفرق بين شركاء عملك في روسيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية؟

- من وجهة نظري والجامعات الروسية وشركاء الصناعة أكثر استعدادًا للعمل معًا ، فهم أكثر إبداعًا ، ويريدون تجربة أشياء جديدة أكثر. نحن نتعاون مع HSE و MIPT و Yandex و Sberbank. معًا ، يقومون بإنشاء محتوى أكاديمي ودورات عملية في الصناعة. قامت HSE و Yandex ، على سبيل المثال ، بصنع برنامج تعليمي نظري للتعلم الآلي عالي المستوى ، وضمن البرنامج دورة حول كيفية الفوز في مسابقة للتعلم الآلي: الحيل والخدع من الفائزين في هذه المسابقات ، أي ، تجربة مباشرة في معالجة المتخصصين في المعرفة النظرية . هذا وضع فريد من نوعه ، لا سيما بالنسبة لروسيا ، في بلدان أخرى ليس لدينا أمثلة على هذه الشراكة. توسع الشركات الروسية آفاقها في مجال التوظيف على المهارات الأساسية - يبحث سبيربنك وياندكس نفسه عن أشخاص يستخدمون المحتوى.

التعلم عبر الإنترنت سيأتي مع زملائه الطلاب

- وداخل الدورة التدريبية ، كيف تستخدم التعلم الآلي لإبقاء الطلاب متحمسين؟

- هناك حالتان حيث نستخدمالتخصيص. الأول هو البحث عن دورات جديدة ، وينبغي أن تكون ذات صلة قدر الإمكان للمستخدم. البيانات الكبيرة تأتي لانقاذ. نقوم بإنشاء سلسلة من الخوارزميات لربط المهارات بالمحتوى الذي يساعدهم على اكتسابها ، مع الفرص الوظيفية التي تتطلب مثل هذه المهارات ، ومع المستخدمين ذوي هذه المهارات. من خلال التحليل ، يجد الشخص أنسب الدورات له

الصورة: أنتون كارلينر / "Hightech"

النقطة الثانية هي الدعم داخل الدورة التدريبية عندماواجه المستخدم أشياء صعبة. هذا هو المكان الذي يتم فيه تشغيل "المعلم الذكي" ، والذي يرسل رسائل مخصصة. على سبيل المثال ، عندما فشلت في اختبار وفقدنا الدافع ، نكتب: "لا تقلق ، 70٪ من الأشخاص لم ينجحوا في هذه المهمة في المحاولة الأولى ، فيما يلي روابط لمواد ساعدت المستخدمين الآخرين في هذا الموقف." في بداية الدورة التدريبية ، يمكننا أن نكتب: "68٪ ممن أكملوا هذه الدورة تلقوا ترقية أو وظيفة جديدة". كل أسبوع ندفع المستخدم قليلاً ، وبفضل هذا ينهي الدورة التدريبية. بالتدريج ، يمكننا معرفة أنواع الرسائل التي تناسبك واستخدامها بشكل أفضل.

- لسبب ما ، تلقيت دورات في التعلم الآلي ، رغم أنني مهتم بعلم النفس ، وقبل عدة سنوات اشتركت بالفعل في دورة في علم النفس.

- نعم ، هذه مشكلة. لدينا حوالي 3 آلاف. دورات في مواضيع مختلفة. عشرات الملايين من المستخدمين. إذا قمت بضرب كل هذا ، فستحصل على مليارات من التوصيات. التخصيص معقد للغاية. بدأنا بالتوصية بما تم اختياره من قبل أشخاص آخرين انضموا إلى نفس الدورة التدريبية. لقد نجحت ، ولكن ليس مع مستخدمين جدد ، ولكن أي شخص لم يفعل أي شيء على النظام الأساسي لفترة طويلة هو نظام جديد. نستخدم البيانات للأشهر الستة الأخيرة ، لأن تفضيلات الأشخاص تتغير بشكل كبير بمرور الوقت. لذلك قررنا أن نسأل الناس مباشرة: ما هي أهدافك؟ بعد ذلك سنتعرف على تجربتك في هذه الصناعة ، وأخيراً سنقدم توصية.

كورس دورة تدريبية حول تحليل البيانات الضخمة بقلم فينود باكافاشالام

بناء استراتيجية عمل في شركة بناءً على تحليل البيانات الضخمة:

  • الاقتصاد القياسي (الاقتصاد القياسي).
  • دورة مكثفة في السببية: استنتاج التأثيرات السببية من بيانات الرصد
  • الاقتصاد القياسي
  • الاستدلال السببي

تعلم نظرية تعلم الآلة لإنشاء منتجات تعتمد عليها:

  • تعلم الآلة
  • التخصص المتقدم في تعلم الآلة
  • تخصص التعلم العميق
  • تخصص تعلم الآلة

- ما هي الاتجاهات الرئيسية في التعليم عبر الإنترنت التي تراها؟

- أولا - سوف ينمو مستوى التخصيص. لقد جمعنا الكثير من البيانات حول المستخدمين: ما يقومون بتدريسه وكيف ، في أي وقت من اليوم ، سواء كانوا يستمعون لمدة عشر ساعات متتالية أو 15 دقيقة يوميًا. التجربة عبر الإنترنت تشبه إلى حد بعيد التدريب في الفصول الدراسية. إنها مجرد مجموعة من مقاطع الفيديو: يمكنك الجلوس ومشاهدتها ، واحدة تلو الأخرى. في المستقبل ، سيكون التنقل عبر الدورة التدريبية أكثر حرية: أولاً ، سوف تجتاز الاختبار ، حتى نفهم أي جزء من الدورة التدريبية يتم إرسالك إليه ، ثم إذا كان هناك شيء صعب للغاية ، فسوف يتم نقلك خطوة إلى الوراء ، ثم سيُعرض لك اختبار لمعرفة المادة. إذا كان ذلك سهلاً للغاية ، فيمكنك تخطي جزء من البرنامج التعليمي.

الاتجاه الثاني هو تحجيم التكنولوجيا الرخيصة. ميزة التعلم في الفصل الدراسي بالتعاون مع زملائه الطلاب. إذا قمنا بنقل هذا إلى التدريب عبر الإنترنت ، فسيتغير كل شيء كثيرًا. ما زلنا لا نعرف كيفية توصيل ملايين الأشخاص بشكل متزامن. حتى الآن ، يعمل مع عدد صغير جدًا من الأشخاص - من خلال المنتديات ، وعقد مؤتمرات ويب مدمجة في الدورات التدريبية.

- ماذا عن الواقع المعزز والظاهري؟

- هذه التقنيات هي ذات الصلة للغاية لالتدريب الصناعي. ولكن يمكنني أن أتخيل كيف سنتفاعل فعليًا مع الزملاء بشأن حل مشكلات العمل. إذا نجحنا في استنساخ بيئة العمل بدقة لتدريس المهارات العملية ، فسنكون قادرين على التنافس مع الجامعات. هذه مسألة مستقبل بعيد. نناقش غالبًا في المؤتمرات أن التعلم عبر الإنترنت لا يمكن أن يوفر مهارات الاتصال: كيفية العمل في فريق أو تنظيم وقت العمل. هذه هي الطريقة الصحيحة لمثل هذه المهارات VR - على سبيل المثال ، لمحاكاة تجربة التفاعل مع المستهلكين.

السنة الأولى من الكلية تنفق على الانترنت

- ماذا سوف تذهب على الانترنت قريبا؟

- التوجيهات الفنية - تحليل البيانات ، فيبادئ ذي بدء. لديه العديد من الطلبات أن الجامعات ببساطة لا يمكن أن تلبيها. عبر الإنترنت ، يمكنك الحصول على الملاحظات ودراسة الحالات والعديد من المزايا الأخرى.

- ماذا عن التخصصات التقليدية أكثر؟

- في مجالات أخرى هناك أيضا المحتملة. ربما ليس في المستقبل القريب ، لأن الجامعات مهتمة جدًا بالحفاظ على التعليم خارج الإنترنت. ولكن يمكنك بسهولة ترجمة السنة الأولى من الدراسة في أي كلية عبر الإنترنت - كل هذه المقدمات في علم الأحياء والكيمياء. بعض المؤسسات تقوم بذلك بالفعل. لذلك سيتم تقسيم التعليم. بعد دراسة نظرية الطلاب عبر الإنترنت في الفصل الدراسي ، سوف يغوصون في التخصص. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، إنها وسيلة لخفض تكلفة التعليم ، والتي تنمو باستمرار.

- ما هي العيوب الأخرى للتعليم عبر الإنترنت؟

- يقول الكثيرون أن الجامعة أكثرتعلمت من بعضها البعض ، والعمل في مجموعات من المحاضرات. إذا استطعنا توصيلها بالإنترنت ، فهي أداة قوية. الثاني ناقص هو عدم وجود الشبكات. في الجامعة ، تتواصل مع أشخاص لديهم وجهات نظر مماثلة ، وهم بدورهم يعرفون شخصًا يساعدك في الحصول على وظيفة. عبر الإنترنت ، بالطبع ، يمكنك العثور على شركة ترغب في توظيفك لمهاراتك. ولكن معظم الشركات تريد الناس مع التوصيات.

قصة الكبار

- ماذا تعمل الآن؟ ما هي التغييرات الرئيسية التي تتوقعها كورسيرا في المستقبل القريب؟

- نحن نعمل على تحليل مقارن للمهارات. باستخدام هذا الخيار ، يمكنك تقييم مستوى التدريب بفعالية كبيرة وإنشاء ملف تعريف شخصي للمستخدم واقتراح مرشحين للشركات الموجودة بالفعل على النظام الأساسي. على سبيل المثال ، تحتاج بعض الشركات إلى مسوق رقمي. نرسل لها ملف تعريف المسوق الرقمي المثالي. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يريدون أن يصبحوا مسوقًا رقميًا ، فإننا نقدم تشخيصات للمهارات ، ونقارن ملفهم الشخصي مع الخيار المثالي ، ونلاحظ نقاط القوة والضعف ، ونقدم دورات مناسبة والترتيب الذي يجب اتباعهم به. بمجرد أن يصل الشخص إلى المستوى المطلوب ، نرسل رسالة: الآن أنت مؤهل بما يكفي للعمل في مثل هذه الشركات وهذه الشركات ، وأنت أفضل من بعض موظفي هذه الشركات الذين يستخدمون Coursera أيضًا.

الصورة: أنتون كارلينر / "Hightech"

- هل تخطط للقيام بدورات تدريبية للأطفال والمراهقين؟

- تخصصنا هو البالغين. 50٪ من الوظائف في العالم مهددة بالأتمتة ، لذلك هناك حاجة كبيرة لإعادة تدريب الأشخاص في المراحل المتوسطة والمتأخرة من حياتهم المهنية. لقد بنينا بالفعل نظامًا بيئيًا ، وهذه هي خبرتنا.

- لديك دراسة مثيرة للاهتمام حول تأثير شيخوخة السكان على النمو الاقتصادي. شاركه مع النتائج؟

- نعم ، في الأدب الاقتصادي هناك نوعانالفرضية. في البداية يبدو أنه: بسبب الشيخوخة ، يتباطأ النمو ، لأن الأشخاص في سن العمل يصبحون أصغر. ولكن هناك دراسات أخرى تقول: إذا كان هناك عدد أقل من العمالة ، فسيكون من الصعب على الشركات إيجاد عمال ، وعليهم التكيف ، واستبدال الناس بالتكنولوجيات ، وذلك بفضل عدم تباطؤ الاقتصاد. حاولت تحليل هاتين الفرضيتين وتوصلت إلى استنتاج مفاده أن الشركات لا تدرس بشكل فعال الاتجاهات الديموغرافية ، ولا تستثمر في المستقبل البعيد ، في رأيهم ،. بعض التكيف ، ولكن كيف؟ هل يستبدلون العمل أم يستخدمون التكنولوجيا ببساطة لجعل الموظفين أكثر كفاءة؟ هناك كلاهما. تقوم أجهزة الكمبيوتر بأتمتة خط التجميع ، ويفقد هواة الجمع وظائفهم ، ولكن هناك حاجة للفنيين الذين سينشئون روبوتات ويحافظون عليها. فقط بحاجة إلى مجموعة مهارات جديدة.

- وما هي أغرب الدورات في كورسيرا؟

- لدينا كل شيء. على سبيل المثال ، مسار الأخبار المزيفة: لماذا يوجد الكثير منهم ، وكيفية معرفة الأكاذيب من الأخبار الجيدة.

- والأكثر شعبية؟

- كل ما يتعلق بالأعمال ، وعلوم الكمبيوتر وتحليل البيانات. الآن الدورات الأكثر شعبية حول التعلم الآلي ، والذكاء الاصطناعي وخاصة حول التعلم العميق. أدوات تحليل البيانات المحددة مطلوبة: التقنيات السحابية ، توفر المنصات دورات تدريبية ، وكيفية استخدام بنيتها الأساسية. غالباً ما تقوم الشركات بتدريب موظفيها من خلال هذه الدورات. كما أن هناك دورات شائعة حول تقنيات المصادر المفتوحة ، مثل Google TensorFlow. دورات شعبية على البيتكوين.

- لا يزال؟

- نعم ، مضحك ، هناك علاقة مباشرة بيندورة البيتكوين والاهتمام بدورات البيتكوين. بشكل عام ، فإن blockchain لا يزال الاتجاه عالية جدا. ترغب العديد من الشركات في توظيف مطوري blockchain ، لكن الجامعات لا تقوم بتدريسه بعد. لدينا شركاء صناعيون ابتكروا منتجات تعليمية ناجحة للغاية.

- كيف تبني أسئلة أخلاقية؟

- نحن نريد بناء منصة التيستعمل الجامعات التي تدرس الأخلاقيات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الشركات التي تجني الأموال من التكنولوجيا ، على هذه القضايا - ما يجب القيام به بالذكاء الاصطناعي وما إلى ذلك. بشكل عام ، نناقش باستمرار قضايا الأخلاقيات في الشركة. على سبيل المثال ، في البداية كان لدينا فصل حسب الجنس في التوصيات ، ونعم (يا لها من مفاجأة!) - تختار النساء التخصصات الهندسية في كثير من الأحيان. لكننا لا نريد إدامة كل الصور النمطية مثل التعليم غير المتصل بالإنترنت ، لذلك أوقفنا هذا الخيار. البوصلة الأخلاقية مهمة جدا.

Vinod Baktavachalam, Coursera - on online education in Russia, student motivation with the help of machine learning and gender stereotypes

Courserais an international online education platform with more than 37 million registered users.

It offers about 2,900 courses, 300specializations, there are separate courses and specializations, the highest level is degrees (higher education according to European standards). Educational content for courses is created by 160 universities and other educational institutions, as well as 30 industrial partners.

“Russians are more focused than others on the application of what they studied in their work”

- You recently conducted a study on the skills of Russian students for the first time. What is the specificity of Russian online students?

- We have more than 940 thousand. registered users from Russia, this is the second largest market in Europe after the UK and the largest non-English-speaking market. It grows very fast - 40% each year. Involvement is also very high - users from Russia have subscribed to 3.5 million courses, that is, about four courses per person, as many as in the United States or in the United Kingdom.

- What about gender and age?

- The average age is about the same as onglobal level. But Russian users are more balanced in gender terms - 47% of women, 53% of men, in the world 42% against 58%. This is generally consistent with what we see in the United States and England, and suggests that in Russia everyone is interested in high-quality education and is very motivated to study. Most Russians are interested in data analysis, business and computer science. They want to build a career - about 67% voiced such a goal. They seek to develop in the current position or get promoted, switch to something new and acquire new skills. This is above the general level of 60%, that is, Russians are more focused than others on the application of what they studied in their work.

Photo: Anton Karliner / Haytek

- And they achieve these goals?

— Yes, we track long-term resultstraining all users on our platform within six months after the person completed the course. We ask if the goal has been achieved. In 85% of cases, users from Russia who indicated a career report achieving this goal, 35% received a promotion, found a new job or opened their own business. This is a very strong correlation between the goal set and the goal achieved.

Sberbank and Yandex are looking for employees using content

- It seems to me that Russian companies do not take online certificates seriously.

- Depends on the company.Yes, we see this in the USA too: there is also a big gap between progressive companies and everyone else. In Russia, leading technology companies - Sberbank (Corporate University) and Yandex - create content on Coursera, invest in online training for their employees, and are looking for new employees among those who have taken courses and received certificates. Such innovative companies do not see the difference between online and offline education, they simply need people with the required skills, with high motivation to learn new things, since technologies are constantly changing.

Only large companies can afford thisbecause they have the resources, they can devote more time to the employee's education. Small companies still consider online training risky; it is much easier for them to hire people with a university degree, because it is clearer how to select high-level candidates. But more and more companies are realizing that hiring people with specific skills is not easy, and online education is a cheap way to retrain existing employees.

- And which companies use this opportunity?

— Google has a basic level certificate forall IT positions - computer technicians, network specialists and others. Not only have they created content, but they are also building hiring partnerships so that people with this certification can apply for jobs at Google, Walmart, and other companies.

- Do you do some customization of user experience depending on the country?

— The difference between countries is small, muchUsers differ more strongly at the individual level—they have different skill sets, different life experiences, and different goals. And we are in the process of personalizing the user experience on an individual level, using machine learning. But in terms of building partnerships, the Russian market is very different from the American market.

- And what is the difference between your business partners in Russia and in the USA?

- From my point of view, Russian universities andindustry partners are much more willing to work together, they are more innovative, they want to try new things more. We cooperate with HSE, MIPT, Yandex, Sberbank. Together they create both academic content and practical industry courses. HSE and Yandex, for example, made a theoretical educational program of high level in machine learning, and within the program a course on how to win a machine learning competition: tricks and tricks from the winners of such competitions, that is, direct experience in the processing of theoretical knowledge specialists . This is a unique situation, peculiar only to Russia, in other countries we have no examples of such partnership. Russian companies are expanding their horizons in terms of hiring for key skills - the same Sberbank and Yandex are looking for people using content.

Online training will come with fellow students

- And inside the course, how do you use machine learning to keep students motivated?

— There are two situations where we usepersonalization. The first is to search for new courses; they should be as relevant to the user as possible. This is where big data comes to the rescue. We're building a series of algorithms to connect skills with content that helps them acquire them, with career opportunities that require those skills, and with users with those skills. Thanks to analysis, a person finds the courses that best suit him.

Photo: Anton Karliner / Haytek

The second point is support inside the course whenUser has encountered difficult stuff. This is where the “smart tutor” turns on, which sends customized messages. For example, when you failed the test and lost motivation, we write: “Do not worry, 70% of people did not pass this task on the first attempt, here are links to materials that helped other users in this situation.” At the beginning of the course, we can write: “68% of those who completed this course received a promotion or a new job.” Every week we slightly push the user, and thanks to this he ends the course. Gradually, we can figure out which types of messages work well for you, and use them further.

- For some reason, I was offered courses on machine learning, although I am interested in psychology, and I had already signed up for a course in psychology several years ago.

- Yes, this is a problem. We have about 3 thousand.courses on a variety of topics. Tens of millions of users. If you multiply all this together, you get billions of recommendations. Personalization is very difficult. We started by recommending the selections of other people who had joined the same course. It worked successfully, but not with new users, and any person who has not done anything on the platform for a long time is new to the system. We use data from the last six months because people's preferences change greatly over time. So we decided to just ask people directly: what are your goals? Then we learn about your experience in this industry, and finally we make a recommendation.

Best Coursera on Big Data Analysis by Vinod Baktavachalam

Building a business strategy in a company based on big data analysis:

  • Econometrics.
  • A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data
  • Econometrics
  • Causal Inference

Learning machine learning theory to create products based on it:

  • Machine learning
  • Advanced Machine Learning Specialization
  • Deep learning specialization
  • Machine learning specialization

— What main trends in online education do you see?

- First - the level of personalization will grow. We have collected a lot of data about users: what they learn and how, at what time of the day, whether they listen for ten hours in a row or 15 minutes every day. Online experience is very similar to classroom training. This is just a set of videos: you sit and watch them, one after another. In the future, navigation through the course will be more free: first, you will pass the test, so that we understand which part of the course you are sent to, then if something is too difficult, you will be taken a step back, then will be offered a test of knowledge of the material. If this is too easy, you can skip part of the educational program.

The second trend is cheap technology scaling. The advantage of learning in the classroom in collaboration with fellow students. If we transfer this to online training, everything will change a lot. We still do not know how to synchronously connect millions of people. So far, it works for a very small number of people — through forums, web conferences integrated into courses.

- What about augmented and virtual reality?

- These technologies are very relevant forindustrial training. But I can imagine how we will virtually interact with colleagues on solving business problems. If we succeed in reproducing the working environment very precisely for practical skills training, we will be able to compete with universities. This is a question for the distant future. We often discuss at conferences that online learning cannot provide communication skills: how to work in a team or organize working time. That's just the right way for such skills VR - for example, to simulate the experience of interaction with consumers.

First year of college spend online

- What will go online soon?

- Technical directions - data analysis, infirst of all. He has so many requests that universities simply cannot satisfy them. Online you can get feedback, study cases and many other advantages.

- What about more traditional specialties?

— There is potential in other areas too.Perhaps not in the near future, because universities are very interested in preserving offline education. But you can safely transfer the first year of study at any college online - all these introductions to biology and chemistry. Some institutions are already doing this. Thus education will be broken into parts. After studying the theory online, students in classrooms will be immersed in the specialty. In addition, this is a way to reduce the cost of education, which is constantly rising.

- What are the other disadvantages of online education?

- Many say that the university is morelearned from each other, working in groups than in lectures. If we can move it online, it’s a powerful tool. The second disadvantage is the lack of networking. At university, you communicate with people with similar views, they, in turn, know someone who will help you get a job. Online, of course, you can find a company that wants to hire you for your skills. But most companies want people with recommendations.

Adult story

- What are you working on now? What major changes will Coursera expect in the near future?

— We are working on a comparative analysis of skills.Using this option, you can very effectively assess the level of training, build a personal user profile, and offer candidates to companies that are already on the platform. For example, some company needs a digital marketer. We send her a profile of the ideal digital marketer. And for those who want to become a digital marketer, we offer a skill diagnostic, compare their profile with the ideal option, note strengths and weaknesses, and suggest suitable courses and the order in which they should be completed. Once a person reaches the required level, we send a message: You are now qualified enough to work for such and such companies, and you are even better than some of the employees at these companies who also use Coursera.

Photo: Anton Karliner / Haytek

— Are you planning to create courses for children and teenagers?

— Our specialty is adults.With 50% of the world's jobs at risk of automation, there is a great need to retrain mid- and late-career workers. We have already built an ecosystem, and this is our expertise.

- You have an interesting study on the effect of population aging on economic growth. Share it with the results?

- Yes, in the economic literature there are twohypotheses. At first it seems: due to aging, growth slows down, because people of working age become smaller. But there are other studies that say: if there is less labor, then it is more difficult for companies to find workers, and they have to adapt, replace people with technologies, thanks to which the economy does not slow down. I tried to analyze these two hypotheses and came to the conclusion that companies are not effectively studying demographic trends, do not invest in the distant, in their opinion, future. Some adapt, but how? Are they replacing labor or just using technology to make employees more efficient? There is both. Computers automate the assembly line, collectors lose their jobs, but there is a need for technicians who will create and maintain robots. Just need a new skill set.

- And what are the strangest courses on Coursera?

- We have all. For example, the fake news course: why there are so many of them, how to tell lies from good news.

- And the most popular?

- Everything related to business, computer science anddata analysis. Now the most popular courses are about machine learning, artificial intelligence and especially about deep learning. Specific data analysis tools are in demand: cloud technologies, platforms offer courses, how to use their infrastructure. Companies often train their employees through such courses. Also popular are courses on open source technologies, for example, TensorFlow from Google. Popular courses on bitcoin.

- Still?

- Yes, funny, there is a direct correlation betweenbitcoin course and interest in bitcoin courses. In general, the blockchain is still a very high trend. Many companies want to hire blockchain-developers, but universities do not teach it yet. We have industry partners who have created very successful training products.

- How do you build ethical questions?

- We want to build a platform on whichuniversities studying ethics, together with companies that make money with technology, will work on these issues - what to do with artificial intelligence and so on. In general, we constantly discuss issues of ethics in the company. For example, initially we had a separation by gender in the recommendations, and yes (what a surprise!) - women choose engineering specialties less often. But we do not want to perpetuate all the same stereotypes as offline education, so we turned off this option. The moral compass is very important.