ما تخفيه المادة المظلمة ولماذا لم يتمكن العلماء من إثبات وجودها

في المسائل المتعلقة بطبيعة وخصائص المادة المظلمة ، لا يزال علماء الفلك في مرحلة مبكرة.

الدراسة ، أولا وقبل كل شيء ، لأن واقع وجودها لم يثبت بعد.

كانت نظرية وجود هذه المادةتم إطلاقه منذ أكثر من 40 عامًا كتفسير للتناقض بين كتلة جميع الكائنات المرئية في المجرة وكتلة المجرة نفسها. قرر الفلكي فيرا روبين ، الذي اكتشف الاختلاف لأول مرة ، أن هذه المادة غير المرئية شائعة للغاية ، وتتكون من جزء كبير من الكون. اليوم نحن نعرف هذه المادة كمادة مظلمة.

فيرا روبن. الصورة: معهد كارنيجي للعلوم / carnegiescience.edu

على الرغم من أن علماء الفلك لديهم ثلاثة على الأقلدليل على وجود مادة مظلمة ، ولم تنجح أي من محاولات الكشف عن الأدلة المباشرة لوجودها وتحديد خواصها.

ومع ذلك ، فإن عمل العلماء من جامعة ييل فيبقيادة بيتر فان دوكوم ، الذي نشر في مجلة نيتشر في مارس 2018 ، جعل العلماء أكثر من أي وقت مضى العلماء أقرب إلى إيجاد دليل آخر على وجود هذه المادة.

ماذا يعرف علماء الفلك عن المادة المظلمة؟

المادة المظلمة هي مادة ليست كذلكيتفاعل مع المسائل الأخرى عن طريق القوى الكهرومغناطيسية (EM) أو القوى النووية القوية. يعني عدم وجود تفاعلات كهرمغنطيسية أنه لا يمكن أن ينبعث أو يمتص أو يعكس أو ينكسر أو ينشر الضوء. هذا ، بالطبع ، يجعله موضوعًا معقدًا للمراقبة. ومع ذلك ، فإن حوالي 85 ٪ من جميع المواد في الكون هي مادة مظلمة.

حتى الآن ، ليس لدى العلماء دليل عملي على وجود المادة المظلمة بالفعل ، لكن هناك نظرية. وهنا الثلاثة الرئيسية.

منحنيات دوران المجرة

عندما يدور كائن حول الآخر ،يجب تسريع جسم ما في المدار باستمرار إلى المركز (أو بدقة أكبر ، كلاهما يتسارعان إلى مركز الكتلة المشترك بينهما). بدون هذا التسارع ، فإن الجسم المداري ببساطة يطير بعيدا.

أسرع الجسم يتحرك المداري ، ومطلوب مزيد من التسارع لإبقائه في المدار. لأنه في هذه الحالة يكون التسارع بسبب الجاذبية ، وهذا يعني أن الكتلة المركزية يجب أن تكون أكبر.

هذه المعرفة تتيح للعلماء "وزن" مختلفةأجزاء من المجرة ، بالإضافة إلى قياس سرعات الدوران ، ومقارنة الانزياحات الحمراء على جوانب الاقتراب والانحسار في المجرة. عند الترجيح ، يرى علماء الفلك تباينًا بين كتلة جميع الكائنات في المجرة وكتلتها الكلية.

الانزياح نحو الأحمر - تحول الخطوط الطيفية للعناصر الكيميائية فيأحمر (الطول الموجي الطويل) الجانب. قد تكون هذه الظاهرة تعبيرًا عن الانتثار الضعيف المنتشر ، أو تأثير دوبلر أو الانزياح نحو الأحمر الجاذبية ، أو مزيج منها. ولأول مرة ، وصف الفيزيائي الفرنسي هيبوليت فيزو تحول الخطوط الطيفية في أطياف الأجرام السماوية في عام 1848 واقترح تأثير دوبلر الناجم عن السرعة الشعاعية للنجم لتفسير هذا التحول.

عدسة الجاذبية

وفقا لنظرية النسبية العامة ، أيالوقت الذي يمر عبر حقل الجاذبية هو مشوه قليلا. إنها بمثابة عدسة الجاذبية ويمكن أن تنتج ، على سبيل المثال ، "حلقات أينشتاين" ، كما في الصورة أدناه.

تنص نظرية أينشتاين العامة للنسبيةأن ثقل الأجسام الفضائية الكبيرة مثل المجرات ينحني الفضاء من حولها وينحرف أشعة الضوء. عندما يحدث هذا ، صورة مشوهة لمجرة أخرى - مصدر الضوء.

"حلقة أينشتاين" في الصورة أعلاه هيصورة مشوهة لأحد المجرات (مظللة باللون الأزرق) ، تقع خلف المجرة (الحمراء) الأخرى في الوسط. ينتشر الضوء الأزرق في جميع الاتجاهات ، ولكنه ينحني بسبب خطورة المجرة الحمراء. هذا يعني أن الضوء ، الذي تم توجيهه في الأصل على الأرض مباشرة ، لن يصل أبداً إلى كوكبنا - على عكس الضوء الذي كان له اتجاه مختلف ، ولكن تم تشويهه بواسطة عدسة ويستمر كما لو كان من جميع الاتجاهات في وقت واحد. تشرح هذه العملية مظهر الخاتم.

في العدسات الجاذبية ضعيفة الإحصائيةإن تحليل التشوهات في الضوء الذي نتلقاه يسمح لنا "بإشعار" مجال الجاذبية بين الأرض والمجرات البعيدة. في كثير من الأحيان في هذا المجال ، هناك كتلة أكبر - على التوالي ، وأكثر أهمية - مما يمكن للعلماء أن يشرحواه.

مثال على عدسة الجاذبية ، والتي من وجهة نظر النظرية القائمة تثبت وجود المادة المظلمة ، هي صورة لمجموعة بوليت من المجرات الموجودة في كوكبة كارينا.

توضح الصورة عواقب تصادم مجرتين. يظهر اللون الأحمر في الصورة مساحات مرئية ، المادة زرقاء داكنة ، يتم تحديد وجودها بواسطة عدسة الجاذبية.

هذا التمييز يرجع إلى حقيقة أنمعظم المادة المضيئة في مجموعة من المجرات هي في وسط intracluster - في بلازما حارة كثيفة. عندما تصطدم أجزاء من البلازما مع بعضها البعض ، تتباطأ كمية كبيرة من المادة وتبقى في الوسط. لكن المادة المظلمة تتفاعل بشكل ضعيف مع المادة ، لذلك يمكن لمكوناتها من المجموعتين المرور بحرية عبر بعضها البعض - وهذا يؤدي إلى الفصل الموضح في الصورة.

بقايا الإشعاع

خلال أول مئات الآلاف من السنين بعدالانفجار الكبير كان الكون حارًا بدرجة كافية للتأين بقوة. وهذا ما جعله مؤقتًا للضوء تقريبًا - فالفوتونات تدور مثل أي جسيم آخر. ومع ذلك ، عندما كان كل شيء باردًا بدرجة كافية ، اندمجت كميات كبيرة من البروتونات والإلكترونات في الهيدروجين المحايد ، الذي أصبح شفافًا بما يكفي لمعظم الضوء المحيط. حدثت هذه العملية بسرعة إلى حد ما (من حيث الوقت الكوني) - كنتيجة لذلك ، تم إطلاق كل الضوء الموجود في الكون ، بشكل نسبي ، فجأة في الخارج ، والتقاط صورة في تلك المرحلة من تطورها. لذلك يمكنك ببساطة وصف الإشعاع بقايا.

لإصلاح هذا الضوء ، يمكن للعلماءإرسال التلسكوبات اللاسلكية في أي اتجاه - واعتمادًا على مجال المراقبة ، ستختلف درجة الحرارة قليلاً. الفرق في درجة الحرارة يرجع إلى وجود أو غياب المادة المظلمة في هذه المنطقة.

ما هو غير عادي وجدت في المجرة الأولى؟

DF2 - مجرة ​​تنتمي إلى مجموعة كبيرةبقيادة المجرة الإهليلجية الضخمة NGC 1052. جذبت المجرة انتباه العلماء من حقيقة أنها بدت مختلفة في الصور الفوتوغرافية التي التقطت بواسطة Dragonfly و Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS). في البداية ، كانت المجرة بقعة من الضوء الضعيف ، بينما في المجموعة الثانية ، مجموعة من الأجسام النقطية.

استنادا إلى هذه الملاحظات ، بقيادة العلماءتعرف بيتر فان دوكوم على عشر مجموعات كروية (مجموعات كبيرة من النجوم القديمة) داخل المجرة ووجد أنها تتحرك أبطأ ثلاث مرات من وجود كمية كبيرة من المادة المظلمة. الحقيقة هي أنه إذا كانت كتلة المجرة أكبر من كتلة الأجسام المرئية ، فإن المجموعات سوف تدور بشكل أسرع.

المجتمع العلمي تقييم المنشور بشكل نقدي- كخطأ ، أطلق الباحثون ما لاحظوه فقط لعشر مجموعات ولمدة ليلتين فقط. شعر المتشككون أن العلماء ربما أغفلوا التفاصيل الرئيسية لحركة مجموعات النجوم ، ونتيجة لذلك شوهوا تقديرهم لكتلة المجرة ومادتها الظاهرة.

وفي الثانية؟

الطريقة الوحيدة لإثبات صحةكانت الملاحظة هي البحث عن مجرة ​​ثانية ، والتي قد تحتوي على الحد الأدنى من المادة المظلمة - وفي مارس 2019 ، تم اكتشاف هذه المجرة.

نشر الباحثون مقالتين علميتينأولاً ، قاموا بإعادة قياس كتلة DF2 باستخدام كاميرا Hubble المحسنة وتلسكوب Keck Observatory الذي يبلغ طوله 10 أمتار في هاواي. هذه المرة ، لاحظ علماء الفلك ليس فقط سرعة حركة المجموعات ، ولكن أيضا سرعة دوران النجوم بداخلها. نتيجةً لذلك ، وجد العلماء أن DF2 هي مجرة ​​فائقة الشفاف ، حجمها يتوافق تقريبًا مع مجرة ​​درب التبانة. فقط النجوم فيها اتضح أنها أصغر بنحو 200 مرة.

المادة الثانية كانت مكرسة لاكتشاف هذامجرات DF2 - DF4 ، التي تقع في نفس المجموعة بجوار المجرة NGC 1052. يعتقد الباحثون ، أولاً ، أن المجرات ذات الحد الأدنى من المادة المظلمة ليست غير شائعة ، وثانياً ، أن المجرة الكبيرة يمكن أن "تسرق" الظلام المسألة من جيرانهم الأصغر.

كيف يمكن أن يكون غياب المادة المظلمة دليلاً على وجودها؟

لفهم البيان أن غياب الظلامتؤكد المادة في مجرتين وجودها في الكون وفقًا للنظرية العامة للنسبية ، الأمر يستحق التفكير في انتقاد فكرة وجود المادة المظلمة.

بعض العلماء لا يوافقون على ذلك في الكونهناك مادة مظلمة ، ويعزى الدليل النظري لوجودها إلى ما يسمى بالديناميات النيوتونية المعدلة (MOND). تقول هذه النظرية البديلة أن الجاذبية على نطاق كوني لا تعمل بالطريقة التي تنبأ بها إسحاق نيوتن أو ألبرت أينشتاين. هذا يعني أن نظرية النسبية العامة ، التي بنيت عليها نظريات حول وجود المادة المظلمة ، لا تعمل مع المجرات.

على سبيل المثال ، الفيزيائي النظري اريك فيرليند مننشرت جامعة أمستردام في عام 2016 مقالة علمية اعتبرت فيها الجاذبية منتجًا ثانويًا للتفاعلات الكمومية ، واقترحت أن الجاذبية الإضافية المنسوبة إلى المادة المظلمة هي تأثير الطاقة المظلمة - طاقة الخلفية المنسوجة في نسيج الزمكان في الفضاء.

بمعنى آخر ، يعتقد فيرليند أن المادة المظلمة ليست مهمة ، ولكن فقط التفاعل بين المادة العادية والطاقة المظلمة.

اكتشاف علماء من جامعة ييليوضح أنه يمكن فصل المادة المظلمة عن المادة العادية ، شريطة أن تتصرف كل من المجرات المكتشفة وفقًا لنظرية الجاذبية القياسية. أي أنه يمكن شرح العمليات التي تحدث فيها باستخدام المعادلات التي اكتشفها نيوتن وكيبلر.

ما هي الأسئلة

اكتشاف علماء الفلك إذا نجحنؤكد أخيرا في سياق الملاحظات المستقبلية ، يتحدى النظرية الحالية حول تشكيل المجرات. على وجه الخصوص ، نحن نتحدث عن الافتراض بأن NGC 1052 الأكبر يمكن أن "يسرق" المادة المظلمة من DF2 و DF4. إذا كان هذا ممكنًا بالفعل في ظل شرط الحفاظ على الانتظام الذي يتم ملاحظته في كل من المجرات المرصودة ، فسيتعين على الفلكيين إعادة النظر بالكامل في آلية تكوينهم ووجودهم.

"نأمل في معرفة مدى شيوعهاهذه المجرات وعما إذا كانت موجودة في مناطق أخرى من الكون. نريد أن نجد المزيد من الأدلة التي من شأنها أن تساعدنا على فهم مدى توافق خصائصها أو عدم توافقها مع نظرياتنا الحالية. وقال Dokkum في محادثة مع علم الفلك ، نأمل أن هذا سوف يسمح لنا باتخاذ خطوة أخرى في فهم واحدة من أعظم الألغاز في عالمنا - طبيعة المادة المظلمة.

What dark matter hides and why scientists still could not prove its existence

In matters relating to the nature and properties of dark matter, astronomers are still at an early stage.

study, first of all, because the reality of its existence has not yet been proven.

The theory of the existence of this substance wasIt was launched over 40 years ago as an explanation of the discrepancy between the mass of all visible objects in the galaxy and the mass of the galaxy itself. Astronomer Vera Rubin, who first discovered the discrepancy, determined that this invisible substance is extremely common, and it consists of a large part of the universe. Today we know this substance as dark matter.

Vera Rubin. Photo: Carnegie Institution for Science / carnegiescience.edu

Although astronomers have at least threeevidence that dark matter exists, none of the attempts to detect direct evidence of its existence and to determine its properties was not successful.

However, the work of scientists from Yale University inled by Peter van Dokkum, published in the journal Nature in March 2018, scientists more than ever brought scientists closer to finding yet another proof of the existence of this substance.

What do astronomers know about dark matter?

Dark matter is a substance that is notinteracts with other matters by means of electromagnetic (EM) or strong nuclear forces. The absence of electromagnetic interactions means that it cannot emit, absorb, reflect, refract or diffuse light. This, of course, makes it a rather complicated subject for observation. However, about 85% of all matter in the universe is dark matter.

So far, scientists have no practical evidence that dark matter really exists, but there is theoretical. Here are the three main ones.

Galactic rotation curves

When one object rotates around another,an object in orbit must be constantly accelerated to the central (or, more precisely, they both accelerate to their combined center of mass). Without this acceleration, the orbital body will simply fly away.

The faster the orbital body moves, themore acceleration is required to keep it in orbit. Since in this case the acceleration is due to gravity, this means that the central mass must be larger.

This knowledge allows scientists to "weigh" differentparts of the galaxy, as well as measure rotational speeds, comparing redshifts on the approaching and receding sides of the galaxy. When weighting, astronomers see a discrepancy between the mass of all objects in the galaxy and its total mass.

Redshift - shift of the spectral lines of chemical elements inred (long wavelength) side. This phenomenon may be an expression of weak diffuse scattering, the Doppler effect or gravitational redshift, or a combination of them. For the first time, the shift of the spectral lines in the spectra of celestial bodies was described by the French physicist Hippolyte Fizeau in 1848 and suggested the Doppler effect caused by the radial velocity of a star to explain the shift.

Gravity lensing

According to the general theory of relativity, anythe time it passes through the gravitational field is slightly distorted. It acts as a gravitational lens and can produce, for example, “Einstein rings”, as in the image below.

Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity statesthat the gravity of such large space objects as galaxies bends the space around it and deflects the rays of light. When this occurs, a distorted image of another galaxy - the source of light.

The “Einstein Ring” in the image above isdistorted image of one galaxy (it is highlighted in blue), located behind the other (red) galaxy in the center. Light from blue propagates in all directions, but is bent by the gravity of a red galaxy. This means that light, which, for example, was originally directed directly to the Earth, will never reach our planet - unlike light, which had a different direction, but was distorted by a lens and proceeds as if from all directions at once. This process explains the appearance of the ring.

In weak gravitational lenses statisticalanalysis of the distortions in the light that we receive allows us to “notice” the gravitational field between the Earth and distant galaxies. Often in this field there is more mass - respectively, and more matter - than scientists can explain.

An example of gravitational lensing, which from the point of view of the existing theory proves the presence of dark matter, is a photograph of the Bullet cluster of galaxies located in the constellation of Carina.

The picture shows the consequences of the collision of two galaxies. Red in the image shows areas of visible matter, blue - dark matter, the presence of which is determined by gravitational lensing.

This distinction is due to the fact thatMost of the luminous matter in a cluster of galaxies is in an intracluster medium — in a hot, dense plasma. When parts of the plasma collide with each other, a significant amount of the substance slows down and remains in the center. But dark matter weakly interacts with matter, so its components from the two clusters can freely pass through each other - this leads to the separation shown in the photo.

Relic radiation

During the first few hundred thousand years afterThe Big Bang The universe was hot enough to ionize strongly. This temporarily rendered it almost opaque to light - photons rotated like any other particle. However, when everything was cool enough, significant amounts of protons and electrons merged into neutral hydrogen, which became transparent enough for most of the surrounding light. This process happened quite quickly (from the point of view of cosmological time) - as a result, all the light contained in the Universe, relatively speaking, was suddenly released outside, taking a picture at that stage of its evolution. So you can simply describe the relic radiation.

To fix this light, scientists cansend radio telescopes in any direction - and depending on the field of observation, the temperature will vary slightly. The difference in temperature is due to the presence or absence of dark matter in this area.

What is unusual found in the first galaxy?

DF2 - a galaxy that belongs to a large groupled by the massive elliptical galaxy NGC 1052. The galaxy attracted the attention of scientists by the fact that it looked different in the photographs taken by the Dragonfly and Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS). On the first, the galaxy was a spot of weak light, while on the second, a group of point objects.

Based on these observations, scientists led byPeter van Dokkum identified ten globular clusters (large groups of old stars) inside the galaxy and found that they move three times slower than in the presence of a large amount of dark matter. The fact is that if the mass of the galaxy were greater than the mass of visible objects, the clusters would rotate faster.

The scientific community rated the publication critically- as an error the researchers called what they observed only for ten clusters and only for two nights. Skeptics felt that scientists might have overlooked key details of the motion of star clusters, and this as a result distorted their estimate of the mass of the galaxy and its apparent matter.

And in the second?

The only way to prove the correctness of theirObservation was the search for a second galaxy, which would contain the minimum amount of dark matter - and in March 2019 such a galaxy was discovered.

The researchers published two scientific articles - infirst, they re-measured the mass of the DF2 using the improved Hubble Camera and the Keck Observatory's ten-meter telescope in Hawaii. This time, astronomers observed not only the speed of movement of clusters, but also the speed of rotation of the stars inside them. As a result, scientists have found that DF2 is a transparent ultradiffuse galaxy, the size of which roughly corresponds to the Milky Way. Only stars in it turned out to be about 200 times smaller.

The second article was devoted to the discovery of suchDF2 galaxies - DF4, which is located in the same cluster next to the galaxy NGC 1052. The researchers believe that, firstly, galaxies with a minimal amount of dark matter are not uncommon, and, secondly, that a large galaxy could “steal” the dark matter from their smaller neighbors.

How can the absence of dark matter be evidence of its existence?

To understand the statement that the absence of a darkmatter in two galaxies confirms its presence in the Universe in accordance with the General Theory of Relativity, it is worth considering criticizing the idea of ​​the presence of dark matter.

Some scientists do not agree that in the universethere is dark matter, and theoretical evidence of its presence is attributed to the so-called modified Newtonian dynamics (MOND). This alternative theory says that gravity on a cosmic scale does not work the way Isaac Newton or Albert Einstein predicted. This means that the General Theory of Relativity, on which theories about the existence of dark matter are built, does not work in the case of galaxies.

For example, theoretical physicist Eric Verlinde fromThe University of Amsterdam in 2016 published a scientific article in which it considered gravity as a by-product of quantum interactions and suggested that the additional gravity attributed to dark matter is the effect of dark energy - the background energy interwoven into the Universe space-time fabric.

In other words, Verlinde believes that dark matter is not matter, but only the interaction between ordinary matter and dark energy.

Discovery of scientists from Yale Universitydemonstrates that dark matter can be separated from ordinary matter, provided that both of the detected galaxies behave in accordance with the standard theory of gravity. That is, the processes occurring in them can be explained using the equations discovered by Newton and Kepler.

What are the questions

The discovery of astronomers if it succeedsfinally confirm in the course of future observations, challenges the existing theory about the formation of galaxies. In particular, we are talking about the assumption that the larger NGC 1052 could “steal” the dark matter from DF2 and DF4. If this is really possible under the condition of maintaining the orderliness that is observed in both of the observed galaxies, then astronomers will have to completely reconsider the mechanism of their formation and existence.

"We hope to find out how commonthese galaxies and whether they exist in other areas of the universe. We want to find more evidence that will help us understand how their properties are consistent or not consistent with our current theories. We hope that this will allow us to take another step in understanding one of the greatest mysteries in our universe - the nature of dark matter, ”said Dokkum in a conversation with Astronomy.