ما هو الاندماج النووي وهل سينقذ الكوكب من أزمة المناخ

ما هو الاندماج النووي؟

الاندماج النووي (في هذه الحالة نحن نتحدث عن الاندماج الحراري النووي) هو رد فعل

اندماج النوى الذرية الخفيفة في نوى أثقل ،تحدث في درجات حرارة عالية جدًا ويصاحبها إطلاق كميات هائلة من الطاقة. مثل هذا التفاعل هو عكس انشطار الذرات: في الحالة الأخيرة ، يتم إطلاق الطاقة بسبب انقسام النوى الثقيلة إلى نوى أخف.

وفقًا للفيزياء الفلكية الحديثةمن المفاهيم ، المصدر الرئيسي لطاقة الشمس والنجوم الأخرى هو الاندماج النووي الحراري الذي يحدث في أعماقها. في ظل الظروف الأرضية ، يتم تنفيذه بانفجار قنبلة هيدروجينية. الاندماج النووي الحراري مصحوب بإطلاق هائل للطاقة لكل وحدة كتلة من المواد المتفاعلة (حوالي 10 ملايين مرة أكثر من التفاعلات الكيميائية). لذلك ، من المهم إتقان هذه العملية ، وعلى أساسها ، إنشاء مصدر طاقة رخيص وصديق للبيئة. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من حقيقة أن الفرق العلمية والتقنية الكبيرة في العديد من البلدان المتقدمة منخرطة في أبحاث حول الاندماج النووي الحراري الخاضع للرقابة (CTF) ، لا تزال هناك العديد من المشكلات المعقدة التي يتعين حلها قبل أن يصبح الإنتاج الصناعي للطاقة النووية الحرارية حقيقة واقعة.

محطات الطاقة النووية الحديثة باستخدام العمليةالانشطار ، يفي جزئيا فقط باحتياجات الكهرباء في العالم. تعمل العناصر المشعة الطبيعية اليورانيوم والثوريوم كوقود لها ، وفرة واحتياطيات الطبيعة محدودة للغاية ؛ لذلك تواجه العديد من الدول مشكلة استيرادها. المكون الرئيسي للوقود النووي الحراري هو نظير الهيدروجين الديوتيريوم ، الموجود في مياه البحر. احتياطياتها متاحة بشكل عام وكبيرة جدًا (يغطي المحيط العالمي حوالي 71 ٪ من مساحة سطح الأرض ، ويمثل الديوتيريوم حوالي 0.016 ٪ من إجمالي عدد ذرات الهيدروجين التي تشكل الماء).

بالإضافة إلى توافر الوقود ، تتمتع مصادر الطاقة النووية الحرارية بالمزايا الهامة التالية على محطات الطاقة النووية:

  • يحتوي مفاعل CTS على مواد مشعة أقل بكثير من مفاعل الانشطار النووي ، وبالتالي فإن عواقب الإطلاق العرضي للمنتجات المشعة أقل خطورة ؛
  • تولد التفاعلات النووية الحرارية نفايات مشعة طويلة العمر ؛
  • يسمح TCB بالتوليد المباشر للكهرباء.

يعتمد التنفيذ الناجح لتفاعل الاندماج على خصائص النوى الذرية المستخدمة وإمكانية الحصول على بلازما كثيفة ذات درجة حرارة عالية ، وهو أمر ضروري لبدء التفاعل.

كيف يتم إطلاق الطاقة أثناء الاندماج؟

إطلاق الطاقة أثناء الاندماج النووي بسببقوى جذب شديدة للغاية تعمل داخل القلب ؛ تعمل هذه القوى على تماسك البروتونات والنيوترونات التي تشكل النواة. إنها شديدة جدًا وتتحلل بسرعة كبيرة مع المسافة. بالإضافة إلى هذه القوى ، فإن البروتونات موجبة الشحنة تخلق قوى طاردة للكهرباء الساكنة. إن نصف قطر عمل القوى الكهروستاتيكية أكبر بكثير من القوى النووية ، لذلك تبدأ في السيادة عند إزالة النوى من بعضها البعض.

في ظل الظروف العادية ، الطاقة الحركية للنواةذرات الضوء أصغر من أن تتغلب على التنافر الكهروستاتيكي ، يمكنها الاقتراب والدخول في تفاعل نووي. ومع ذلك ، يمكن التغلب على التنافر بالقوة "الغاشمة" ، على سبيل المثال ، عن طريق اصطدام النوى بسرعة نسبية عالية.

لماذا يقوم العلماء بالاندماج النووي؟

الباحثون يطورون نووي حراريمفاعل قادر على توليد طاقة أكثر مما يستهلك ، أظهر في سلسلة من الأعمال الحديثة أن تصميماته يجب أن تعمل ، واستعادة التفاؤل بأن هذا المصدر النظيف غير المحدود للطاقة سيساعد في التخفيف من أزمة المناخ

مجموعة من الباحثين من ولاية ماساتشوستسأعلن معهد التكنولوجيا (MIT) ومعاهد أخرى أن مفاعل الاندماج المدمج SPARC سيعمل في الواقع. على الأقل من الناحية النظرية ، كما يزعمون في سلسلة من الدراسات المنشورة مؤخرًا.

ويشير الفريق إلى أنه خلال مراحل التخطيط لالم يتم العثور على عقبات أو مفاجآت غير متوقعة. جاء ذلك في سبع مقالات كتبها 47 باحثًا من 12 مؤسسة علمية مختلفة.

على الرغم من أن المفاعل الجديد لا يزال في مرحلة مبكرةفي مرحلة التطوير ، يأمل العلماء أن تتمكن بحلول نهاية العقد من البدء في إنتاج الكهرباء. قال مارتن غرينوالد ، أحد كبار العلماء في المشروع ، لصحيفة الغارديان إن الدافع الرئيسي لجدول زمني طموح هو تلبية احتياجات الطاقة في بيئة دافئة. وقال: "يبدو الاندماج كأحد الحلول الممكنة للخروج من كارثة المناخ الوشيكة".

ما هي مشكلة الاندماج وكيف يمكن أن يساعد الكوكب؟

الاندماج النووي ، وهي عملية فيزيائيةيحدث تزويد الشمس بالطاقة عندما تتصادم الذرات معًا في درجات حرارة وضغوط عالية للغاية ، مما يؤدي إلى إطلاق كميات هائلة من الطاقة عن طريق الاندماج مع الذرات الثقيلة.

منذ اكتشافه لأول مرة في الماضيفي القرن الماضي ، سعى العلماء إلى استخدام الاندماج الحراري النووي ، وهو شكل كثيف للغاية من الطاقة ، ووقوده - نظائر الهيدروجين - وفير ومتجدد. علاوة على ذلك ، لا ينتج الاندماج غازات الاحتباس الحراري أو الكربون ، وعلى عكس مفاعلات الانشطار النووي ، لا ينطوي على مخاطر الانصهار.

ومع ذلك ، فإن استخدام هذا الشكل من الطاقة النوويةثبت أنه صعب للغاية لأنه يتطلب تسخين "حساء من الجسيمات دون الذرية" - البلازما ، لمئات الملايين من الدرجات - ساخنًا جدًا لأي حاوية. للتغلب على هذا ، صمم العلماء حجرة على شكل كعكة دائرية ذات مجال مغناطيسي قوي يمر عبرها ، تسمى توكاماك ، والتي تثبت البلازما في مكانها.

ما الذي يتم تطويره بالفعل؟

علماء معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجياوبدأت شركة كومنولث فيوجن سيستمز التابعة لها في تصميم مفاعل جديد ، أكثر إحكاما من سابقاتها ، في أوائل عام 2018 ، على أن يبدأ البناء في النصف الأول من العام المقبل. إذا سار جدولهم الزمني وفقًا للخطة ، يمكن لمفاعل يسمى Sparc أن ينتج الكهرباء للشبكة بحلول عام 2030 ، وفقًا للباحثين ومسؤولي الشركة. سيكون هذا أسرع بكثير من مبادرات طاقة الاندماج الرئيسية الحالية.

تصميمات المفاعل الحالية كبيرة جدًاوالطرق لتوليد الكهرباء بالفعل للمستهلكين. باستخدام مغناطيسات فائقة القوة ومتطورة ، يأمل فريق MIT و Commonwealth Fusion في إنشاء مفاعل توكاماك مدمج وفعال وقابل للتطوير. قال غرينوالد: "ما فعلناه حقًا هو الجمع بين العلم الحالي والمواد الجديدة لفتح إمكانيات جديدة هائلة".

بعد إثبات أن جهاز Sparcيمكن نظريًا إنتاج طاقة أكثر مما هو مطلوب للتشغيل ، في الأوراق البحثية المنشورة في سبتمبر ، فإن الخطوة التالية هي بناء مفاعل ثم محطة تجريبية لتوليد الكهرباء على الشبكة.

كل مزايا وعيوب الاندماج النووي

لطالما وعد العلماء ورجال الأعمال بذلكأصبح الاندماج النووي الحراري قاب قوسين أو أدنى ، لكنه واجه مشاكل لا يمكن التغلب عليها. وقد تسبب هذا في إحجام عن الاستثمار فيه ، خاصة وأن مصادر الطاقة المتجددة والطاقة الشمسية وغيرها من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة ، على الرغم من أنها أقل قوة من الاندماج ، أصبحت أكثر كفاءة وفعالية من حيث التكلفة.

لكن الوضع يتغير.في خطة بايدن التي تبلغ تكلفتها 2 تريليون دولار ، وصف التكنولوجيا النووية المتقدمة بأنها جزء من استراتيجية إزالة الكربون. دعم الديمقراطيون الطاقة النووية لأول مرة منذ عام 1972. كما تأتي استثمارات كبيرة من مصادر خاصة ، بما في ذلك بعض شركات النفط والغاز الكبيرة ، التي ترى الاندماج موطئ قدم أفضل على المدى الطويل من الرياح والشمس.

وفقًا لبوب مومغارد ، المدير التنفيذيمدير كومنولث فيوجن ، الهدف ليس استخدام الاندماج لاستبدال الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح ، ولكن لاستكمالهما. قال "هناك أشياء سيكون من الصعب القيام بها فقط مع مصادر الطاقة المتجددة ، على نطاق صناعي ، على سبيل المثال ، بقوة المدن الكبيرة أو التصنيع" "هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن يكون التوليف فيه مفيدًا."

مجتمع البلازما ككل متحمس لتقدم Sparc ، على الرغم من أن البعض يشكك في الجدول الزمني الطموح بالنظر إلى العقبات التقنية والتنظيمية.

دانيال جيسبي ، 25 عامًا من البحث العلميزميل في مختبر برينستون لفيزياء البلازما ، متشكك فيما إذا كان مفاعل الاندماج مثل SPARC يمكن أن يصبح مصدر طاقة بديل محتمل. وقال إن التريتيوم ، وهو أحد نظائر الهيدروجين التي ستستخدمها سبارك كوقود ، لا يوجد في الطبيعة ويجب إنتاجه.

فريق ماساتشوستس التكنولوجييفترض المعهد أن هذه المادة سيتم تجديدها باستمرار عن طريق تفاعل التوليف نفسه. لكن جيسبي يعتقد أن هذا سيتطلب كمية هائلة من الكهرباء ، مما يجعل المفاعل باهظ التكلفة. ويخلص إلى أنه "عندما تعتقد أننا نحصل على الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح مجانًا ، سيكون من الحماقة الاعتماد على تفاعل الاندماج".

قراءة المزيد

البحث: لن يتمكن البشر من التحكم في آلات الذكاء الاصطناعي فائقة الذكاء

الإجهاض والعلم: ماذا سيحدث للأطفال الذين سينجبون

شاهد أجمل صور هابل. ما الذي شاهده التلسكوب خلال 30 عامًا؟

What is nuclear fusion and will it save the planet from the climate crisis

What is nuclear fusion?

Nuclear fusion (in this case, we are talking about thermonuclear fusion) is a reaction

fusion of light atomic nuclei into heavier ones,occurring at ultra-high temperatures and accompanied by the release of huge amounts of energy. This reaction is the opposite of fission of atoms: in the latter, energy is released due to the splitting of heavy nuclei into lighter ones.

According to modern astrophysicalnotions, the main source of energy of the Sun and other stars is thermonuclear fusion occurring in their depths. Under terrestrial conditions, it is carried out with the explosion of a hydrogen bomb. Thermonuclear fusion is accompanied by a colossal energy release per unit mass of reacting substances (about 10 million times more than in chemical reactions). Therefore, it is of great interest to master this process and, on its basis, create a cheap and environmentally friendly source of energy. However, despite the fact that large scientific and technical teams in many developed countries are engaged in research on controlled thermonuclear fusion (CTF), there are still many complex problems to be solved before the industrial production of thermonuclear energy becomes a reality.

Modern nuclear power plants using the processfission, only partially meet the world's electricity needs. Natural radioactive elements uranium and thorium serve as fuel for them, the abundance and reserves of which in nature are very limited; therefore, many countries face the problem of importing them. The main component of fusion fuel is the hydrogen isotope deuterium, which is found in seawater. Its reserves are generally available and very large (the World Ocean covers ~ 71% of the Earth's surface area, and deuterium accounts for about 0.016% of the total number of hydrogen atoms that make up water).

In addition to the availability of fuel, thermonuclear energy sources have the following important advantages over nuclear power plants:

  • the CTS reactor contains much less radioactive materials than a nuclear fission reactor, and therefore the consequences of an accidental release of radioactive products are less dangerous;
  • thermonuclear reactions generate less long-lived radioactive waste;
  • TCB allows direct generation of electricity.

The successful implementation of the fusion reaction depends on the properties of the atomic nuclei used and the possibility of obtaining a dense high-temperature plasma, which is necessary to initiate the reaction.

How is energy released during fusion?

Energy release during nuclear fusion is due toextremely intense forces of attraction acting inside the core; these forces hold together the protons and neutrons that make up the nucleus. They are very intense and decay extremely quickly with distance. In addition to these forces, positively charged protons create electrostatic repulsive forces. The radius of action of electrostatic forces is much greater than that of nuclear forces, so they begin to prevail when the nuclei are removed from each other.

Under normal conditions, the kinetic energy of nucleilight atoms are too small to overcome the electrostatic repulsion, they could approach and enter into a nuclear reaction. However, the repulsion can be overcome by "brute" force, for example, by colliding nuclei with high relative velocity.

Why are scientists doing nuclear fusion?

Researchers developing thermonucleara reactor that can generate more power than it consumes has shown in a series of recent work that their designs must work, restoring optimism that this clean, limitless source of energy will help alleviate the climate crisis.

A group of researchers from MassachusettsInstitute of Technology (MIT) and other institutes declares that the compact fusion reactor SPARC will work in reality. At least in theory, as they claim in a series of recently published studies.

The team points out that during the planning stages nono unexpected obstacles or surprises were found. This is stated in seven articles written by 47 researchers from 12 different scientific institutions.

Although the new reactor is still at an early stagedevelopment stage, scientists hope that by the end of the decade it will be able to start producing electricity. Martin Greenwald, one of the project's senior scientists, told The Guardian that a key motivation for an ambitious timeline is meeting energy needs in a warming environment. “Fusion seems like one of the possible solutions to get out of the impending climate disaster,” he said.

What is the problem with fusion and how can it help the planet?

Nuclear fusion, a physical process thatpowering our sun occurs when atoms collide together at extremely high temperatures and pressures, causing them to release huge amounts of energy by fusing with heavier atoms.

Since it was first discovered in the pastcentury, scientists have sought to use thermonuclear fusion, an extremely dense form of energy, the fuel of which - isotopes of hydrogen - is abundant and replenished. Moreover, fusion does not produce greenhouse gases or carbon and, unlike nuclear fission reactors, carries no risk of melting.

However, the use of this form of nuclear energyproved extremely difficult because it required heating a "soup of subatomic particles" - plasma, to hundreds of millions of degrees - too hot for any container to handle. To get around this, scientists have designed a donut-shaped chamber with a strong magnetic field passing through it, called a tokamak, that holds the plasma in place.

What is already being developed?

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Scientistsand subsidiary Commonwealth Fusion Systems started designing a new reactor, more compact than its predecessors, in early 2018, with construction to begin in the first half of next year. If their schedule goes according to plan, a reactor called Sparc could produce electricity for the grid by 2030, according to researchers and company officials. This will be much faster than the existing major fusion energy initiatives.

Existing reactor designs are too largeand roads to actually generate electricity for consumers. Using state-of-the-art ultra-strong magnets, the MIT and Commonwealth Fusion team hopes to create a compact, efficient and scalable tokamak reactor. “What we really did was combine existing science with new material to open up huge new possibilities,” Greenwald said.

After demonstrating that the Sparc devicecould theoretically produce more energy than is required for operation, in research papers published in September, the next step is to build a reactor and then a pilot plant that will generate electricity on the grid.

All the pros and cons of nuclear fusion

Scientists and entrepreneurs have long promised thatthermonuclear fusion is just around the corner, but faced insurmountable problems. This has caused reluctance to invest in it, especially as wind, solar and other renewable energy sources, although less powerful than fusion, have become more efficient and cost effective.

But the situation is changing.In Biden's $ 2 trillion plan, he called advanced nuclear technology part of a decarbonization strategy. Democrats have supported nuclear power for the first time since 1972. Significant investment is also coming from private sources, including some large oil and gas companies, who see fusion as a better long-term foothold than wind and sun.

According to Bob Mumgaard, executiveDirector of Commonwealth Fusion, the goal is not to use fusion to replace solar and wind power, but to complement them. “There are things that will be difficult to do only with renewable energy sources, on an industrial scale, for example, with the power of large cities or manufacturing,” he said. "This is where fusion comes in handy."

The plasma community as a whole is enthusiastic about Sparc's progress, although some have questioned the ambitious timeline given technical and regulatory hurdles.

Daniel Jessby, 25 years of scientific researchan associate at the Princeton Laboratory of Plasma Physics, is skeptical whether a fusion reactor like the SPARC could ever become a possible alternative energy source. Tritium, one of the isotopes of hydrogen that Sparc will use as a fuel, does not occur in nature and must be produced, he said.

Massachusetts Technological TeamInstitute assumes that this substance will be continuously regenerated by the synthesis reaction itself. But Jessby believes that this will require a huge amount of electricity, making the reactor prohibitively expensive. “When you think that we get solar and wind energy for free, it would be foolish to rely on a fusion reaction,” he concludes.

Read more

Research: humans will not be able to control superintelligent AI machines

Abortion and science: what will happen to the children who will give birth

Check out the most beautiful pictures of Hubble. What has the telescope seen in 30 years?